We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful terraced room over the Med” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Conca Azzurra

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Conca Azzurra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Smeraldo 35, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wonderful terraced room over the Med”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Gorgeous terrace overhanging the Med, with wonderful view of Praiano by day and night. Our terrace (totally private) had a delightful full-sized memory foam bed on it. On a couple of nights we fell asleep on that terrace under the stars. Conca dei Marini is in between some of the more targeted destinations, i.e., Amalfi, Positano, etc., however it's placement directly adjacent to one of the primary bus stops between the major A.C. villages makes it extremely convenient. Room was clean and nice size by Italian standards, and a great value compared to staying in one of the main villages. Restaurant's food is ok for dinner, however the staff and atmosphere made for a less than enjoyable dining experience. We recommend Bonta di Capo nearby, who's owner will come and pick you up if you don't have a car. See our review of that dining venue. Staff was pleasant and generally accommodating, though the night desk guy (Pietro) was not the most helpful. When we asked him to help us call out a take out from Bonta di Capo, he was not terribly cooperative, because we weren't dining at the in-house restaurant. Bed comfort was ok, though generally we found the mattresses to of pretty low quality in Italy. Bottom line, we would stay here again if visiting Amalfi Coast due to the combination of value, and the view from the bedroom terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

340 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    254
    64
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
41
232
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The pros:
1. Fabulous views
2. Decent breakfast (although hot food could use replenishing more often)
3. Lovely staff
4. A shuttle bus that will take you to Amalfi for EUR5 per person.
5. Rooms with balconies have gorgeous views and are large enough to sit and enjoy a sun bake.
6. A lovely gift on check out.
7. Decent restaurant at the hotel.
8. Nice to be out of the hustle of Amalfi proper, but easy enough to get to.
9. Free wifi.
10. Nice big rooms, for Italy.

The con's:
1. Hard mattress
2. Very loud (at least the rooms on level -2.)
3. Local buses to get to Amalfi are only EUR 2.50 but not terribly reliable and usually really crowded. Can be tricky to get down there without paying for the shuttle.
4. Some rooms have no english tv channels at all. not even CNN.
5. Lido was closed, despite high temperatures.

I would recommend this to the more expensive places in Amalfi proper. Especially if you want a relaxing chill out version of the Amalfi coast.

Positano is an easy ferry from Amalfi. Ravello is two buses away, but definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: pay extra for a superior room with a balcony. Request a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concaazzurra, Direttore at Hotel La Conca Azzurra, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
Dear Guest,

many thanks for choosing our hotel during your last stay here in Amalfi Coast and we also want to thank you for your time spent reviewing with such a nice words your last days in Italy

We are all very glad to know that your days spent here at our renowned hotel were satisfying and gratifying.

Come back to our beautiful city in the next future and we ensure you that you will live another memorable.
Best regards
Sal Criscuolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013 via mobile

We arrived here after 3 nights in Positano and it was wonderful to get away from the noise and feeling of being ripped off.
This is a lovely hideaway run by lovely people with brilliant staff.
Nothing is too much trouble and the feeling of quiet and tranquility is perfect. The views are really to die for and the food is superb without being absorbitant like the restaurants in Positano.
It is about 2 miles outside Amalfi but a regular bus runs from outside the door.
Take my advice avoid the ridiculous prices and bad food available in Positano and head to Amalfi and La Conca Azzura.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concaazzurra, Direttore at Hotel La Conca Azzurra, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

many thanks for choosing theHotel during your last stay here in our Hotel La Conca Azzurra.
We are glad to know that everything have completely satisfied you and It is always a great pleasure to read such a kind review concerning the exclusive qualities of our G Hotel.
Looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future, we give you our kindest regards.
Sal Criscuolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windham, Maine
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We recently stopped here for a one night stay on our trip down the Amalfi coast. This place is amazing. The view, The rooms, the staff are all wonderful. We loved our stay here. While having a drink on the terrace after dinner the owner Salvatore came over and asked us how our stay was and if there was anything we needed. Our room was on the same floor as the restaurant in the future I'd pick a different floor. The only thing keeping me from giving it 5 stars is the cigarette smoke. People aren't suppose to smoke in their balconies but they do and it made it less enjoyable for us because we had to shut the giant doors onto the balcony. Love this place would stay again gladly.

Room Tip: Any floor but the restaurant floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concaazzurra, Direttore at Hotel La Conca Azzurra, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,
many thanks for choosing the Hotel ”during your last stay here in Amalfi Coast and we also want to thank you for your time spent reviewing with such a nice words your last days in Italy
We are all very glad to know that your days spent here at our renowned Hotel were satisfying and gratifying.
Come back to our beautiful coast in the next future and we ensure you that you will live another memorable experience.
Sal Criscuolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Just spent 4 nights at this wonderful hotel for our honeymoon. Thank you Carmen for the upgraded room with the balcony and incredible views. Great location because it is away from the busy areas of the larger towns but easy access to the SITA bus right outside the front door. Very nice breakfast as well. The only negative was that they pushed too strongly on you eating dinner at their location and were not very helpful when we wanted to try a new place. Also don't think they should charge a "cover fee" for eating at the restaurant when you are staying there. Overall a great experience though. Would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concaazzurra, Direttore at Hotel La Conca Azzurra, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for choosing ” during your last stay here.

Your kind review is a real source of pride for all our staff that in the excellence of the service and in the attention of details wants to invest every single day.

After these pleasant days spent in our beautiful hotel, we hope you will come back to Conca dei Marini in the near future and for this time we suggest you to experience in addition the unique gastronomic proposal of our restaurant “Calajanata ” in which Chef prepares every day the best dishes of local and national cuisine.
Best regards
Sal Criscuolo

You could spend a lovely lunch or a delightful dinner in an atmosphere unparalleled in contact with masterpieces of Italian art.

We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future and many thanks for your time spent reviewing your last stay in Bologna.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We spent our honeymoon here a few years ago and never wrote a review! It was an wonderful place to stay and a great location between all the local cities. The service was outstanding and the breakfasts were wonderful. Can not wait to go visit again!!!

Room Tip: The ocean view room was amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

A small family run hotel overlooking the water at Conca Dei Marini near Grotto Esmerelda.
Very personal attention from Salvatore the manager who briefly chats to his guests each evening and the reception staff Carmen and Flaviana plus the restaurant staff.
We loved it due to the fact it is away from the tourist crowds of Positano and Amalfi, a small hotel with good food and a great swimming lido down a winding track from the hotel. It's not far and once there as long as the sea is not too rough you can enjoy a great swim.
After passing by the other larger hotels in the area we knew we had made the right choice. If you can book a grand relax suite - though all rooms look out to the sea.
Highly recommended

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Conca Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Conca Azzurra

Address: Via Smeraldo 35, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#2 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#2 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Conca Azzurra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful house above the sea is the site of one of most characteristic hotels of the Amalfi coast, with a superb restaurant, a private swimming area and car park. Situated in a splendid panoramic position, the hotel is very close to Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Conca Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Conca Azzurra Hotel
Hotel La Conca Azzurra Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Conca Azzurra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.