We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An average hotel with the potential to be excellent.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Conca Azzurra

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Conca Azzurra to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Conca Azzurra
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Smeraldo 35, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An average hotel with the potential to be excellent.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

We stayed here for two nights recently as part of an Italy wide tour.
On arrival we were greeted with stunning views and a lovely room. There is a small balcony, with enough space for two seats and a table from which to enjoy the vista of the Amalfi Coast.
The staff and waiters at the hotel were all wonderfully friendly and were very willing to accommodate our needs and anything we asked for. The room was cool, with air conditioning, a tiled floor and a spacious bathroom.
There were aspects of the hotel that could have been much better - the restaurant was definitely over-priced and the food nothing special, possibly with it being a slightly captive audience as Conca dei Marini is a very small village (although within striking distance of Amalfi if you don't mind catching the bus, or are driving). The service charge of 6 Euro for anything being brought to the room was also unnecessarily excessive, especially as the rooms are already quite pricey.
There is a nice little swimming area where you can also sunbathe - it is a 5 minute walk down some steps to an enclosed area of the cliffs.
I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to explore the Amalfi - it is a good hotel with the capacity to be outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    63
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
40
222
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We are happy the hotel met our expectations- turned out to be
picturesque, elegant, romantic and quiet. The view takes the breath away, especially
if you are a resident of a megapolis and you need relaxation and harmony.Staying at La Conca Azzurra we combined the quieteness and beaty of the location of the hotel
with the possibility to do sightseeing trips ( Ravello, Capri, Vesuvius ) from the charming near-by town of Amalfi. Really tye best holiday our family ever had.

Marina, Vladiislav( parents ) Lidia ( 11 years old )

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

The views from the hotel are magnificent but for the price it was a disappointment. The balcony of the room we stayed in had a terrible dark grey cement floor which was quite depressing and that was their junior suite. There is no beach or pool, just a jacuzzi cooled down for dipping in and a few beds to lie on. There are millions of steps to get down to the sea where you can have a free boat take you to a beach but then you have to climb back up in the heat. We had opted for half board at 20 euros per person per night not including wine and it was not good. Better to try the al la carte menu I think. The breakfast was ok but you had to pay 8 euros extra for an omelette. There is a bar to have a pre-dinner drink but it was really hot with no air con, or fans but the rooms have air con. The wait staff were not that pleasant and we felt rushed and had to choose our 3 courses all at once. We felt like second class citizens for choosing the half board menu and yet the hotel was charging us 260 euros a night. Definitely will not return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

We returned to the Conca after an excellent stay last year. This is the first time we have returned to the same hotel!
We were not disappointed. The food, staff, room and surroundings were excellent. The staff are friendly, courteous and always helpful. The hotel was a delight in the June sunshine. The surroundings and views are stunning!
Word of caution, don't hire a car, the Amalfi coast road is best left to the excellent Sita bus drivers, fares very reasonable, €2.40, also parking is a nightmare!
To get there fly to Naples and then get the shuttle, Curreri Viaggi to Sorento (€10.00 ticket purchased on the coach) and then on to Conca by Sita.
A stay at the Conca is a well worth holiday experience.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Two couples stayed for 4 nights. Excellant food, in stunning setting on terrace. Staff very helpful. Room had a great terrace, with views to Capri. Don't drive once there, just take the local bus...........the roads and drivers are something else! We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for room 4!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here and couldn't fault the staff as they couldn't do enough for us. Our room was clean and tidy and had lovely views over the water as well as being comfortable. The restaurant was great and we had lovely breakfasts and evening meals daily. The restaurant staff were great fun and looked after us well. The hotel is situated a fair disatnce from the nearest town so an evening stroll to a bar for a drink is not possible but this didn't matter too much as we had full days, a large evening meal and were then ready to retire for the night! If you are looking for a hotel where you can walk into town then this is not the one for you but if you are happy to drive everywhere and an evening stroll is not required then it will be fine. My only criticism is that we were expecting an area to sit and sunbathe and relax but at our timeof travel this was not available to us as it was yet to be prepared. Other than that though it was a nice pleasant enough hotel to stay in and very good value for money in a lovely location if you don't mind driving the long and windy roads.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

Visiting from Australia, we found La Conca Azzurra to be everything described on the website. The room was large, comfortable and clean, and the views just divine. The welcome was warm, the front office staff helpful and knowledgable, the food wonderful, and the staff in the dining room always engaging and helpful, and the location between Amalfi and Positano great for getting to know this part of Italy. We would be back tomorrow if we could! The hotel is easily accessible by public transport.

Room Tip: Believe the website and book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Conca Azzurra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Conca Azzurra

Address: Via Smeraldo 35, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#2 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#2 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Conca Azzurra 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This beautiful house above the sea is the site of one of most characteristic hotels of the Amalfi coast, with a superb restaurant, a private swimming area and car park. Situated in a splendid panoramic position, the hotel is very close to Amalfi, Positano, and Ravello. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Otel so you can book your Hotel La Conca Azzurra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Conca Azzurra Hotel
Hotel La Conca Azzurra Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Conca Azzurra, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.