We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Le Terraze” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Terrazze

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Terrazze to your Saves list
Hotel Le Terrazze
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Smeraldo 11, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Charming Le Terraze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Thank you for all your help Marcello during our short stay early July this year. The hotel is absolutely charming and the view from our room was breathtaking and the room was decorated so well.

The restaurants that you recommended for evening dinner were all so very good and each one very different, the added bonus was to be transported there and back.

I am English and stayed 4 nights with you with my Italian niece who lives near Como

Room Tip: Choose a sea facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    59
    5
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
97
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I must first apologize to Marcello for my late review of his fabulous hotel. We stayed there in May 2012. He was the supreme host helping and assisting my wife and me with any request we had. The location is great and the views of the Med are spectacular. Marcello arranged for my wife's birthday dinner at a local restaurant, Chicco's, and it was one of the finest meals and service we have had in all of Italy. They treated her with very special care. Marcello also arranged transportation to and from an another local restaurant that was very good and reasonably priced. We enjoyed the food, service. and view so much, we ate there several times. We had a large room, with a large terrace that overlooked the Med. Relaxing, non touristy, special service describe our stay. We loved it and fondly remember our 6 day stay. Parking is available at the hotel for those brave enough of heart to drive the Amalfi Coast, but for those of us less adventurous, the bus stops 50 meters from the hotel. Rooms are very nicely appointed and have safes in the room.

Thank you Marcello for your excellent hospitality!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Conca Dei Marini is a great place to be to experience the Amalfi Coast. Whilst no part of the coast is really free from the impact of tourism, Conca has a very authentic feel and is much less of a tourist trap than say Positano, and boasts exceptional views, fantastic food and friendly locals. It is a small fishing village, which extends up the hillside and includes many excellent restaurants and picturesque little churches.

The Hotel Le Terrazze is an excellent place to stay, and will provide you with everything you need to get the best out of your holiday. As the name suggests, there is a large communal terrace which looks out over the Amalfi Coast. This can be seen in the photos. To the left you can see towards the town of Amalfi, to the right towards Positano, etc. Weather permitting, this is a great place to enjoy a drink, and if you ask at the reception the hotel will provide you with pretty much whatever you are after. The prices are very reasonable compared with the rest of the coast. 4 euros for a large 66cl Peroni, and 2 euros for a Coke.

The hotel has access to a small and intimate beach, which boasts 3 great restaurants. You simply walk down the steps from the hotel, and within a few minutes can be enjoying an evening meal on the beach, watching local fishing boats bob about and enjoying some good food. The Restaurants are: La Tonnarella, Ristorante Risorgimento, and L'Ippocampo. Ristorante Risorgimento is recommended if you enjoy tasty seafood dishes, and the house wine is inexpensive, local and very good indeed. We were staying on the 4th floor, and next to our room was a door out on to the steps to the beach.

Due to the geography of the area (narrow, winding coastal roads) there are not that many concentrations of restaurants, bars, etc. besides the beach area. However, The hotel works with nearby restaurants to provide a free taxi service to many of the great places to eat in the area. The Hotel provides you with a map of the area which includes a list of local restaurants, and if you tell reception where you want to go, a car will usually arrive for you within around 5 minutes and take you to your chosen restaurant. They will also bring you back at the end of your meal, and you do not pay for this service at all. Even if you don't know which restaurant you want to go to, the reception will suggest somewhere and ring them for you. On our first night, we wanted to visit a good pizzeria, and were recommend Pesce D'Oro, which is mid way between Conca and Amalfi (Amalfi is around 10-15 mins away by bus). The food was excellent and we decided to go back on our last night. Also recommended is Bonta Del Capo (up the hill a little), which does an excellent Ricotta e Pera dessert, and is again reachable by transport from the hotel within minutes.

The Sita buses are likely to be your main mode of transport for getting around the Amalfi Coast. If you have your own car, the hotel has a private car park, but if not, there is a Sita bus stop across the road from the hotel. The bus stops can be a little confusing, as there is usually only one sign (no bus shelter, usually just a sign sticking out of a roadside wall) for both directions of travel. If you know which direction you are going in, remember that Italians drive on the right, and stand on the side of the road where the driver's door will be when the bus reaches the stop. Most bus stops do not have a timetable, so you will probably rely heavily on the hotel staff for advice on how to get around. Luckily they are extremely knowledgeable about the bus transport in the area, and will be able to help wherever you intend to visit. There are up to date Sita bus timetables in reception at all times. We found these invaluable during our stay. You can also buy the Sita bus tickets from the hotel reception at any time (they cannot be bought on the bus). If you tell the staff where you want to go, they will advise you of the bus times, and which ticket is best for you. The location of the hotel is very good for using the Sita buses, also. It is only one stop (on the timetable) away from Amalfi (10-15 mins). This means that any buses going away from Amalfi (towards Praiano, Positano, Sorrento, etc.) are not likely to be as full by the time they get to Hotel Le Terazze, so you might actually get a seat. If you are getting on a Sita bus at Positano for example, you are very unlikely to get a seat, and they really cram people onto them. We found that travelling to Positano or Sorrento, we managed to get seats because the stop was early on in the route.

The rooms are very clean and tidy, and feature balconies which look out on to the sea. You can choose from a side sea view or a front sea view. We chose the side sea view, as it was cheaper, but on arriving the owner told us that he had upgraded us to the front sea view. Each balcony has a couple of deck chairs for lounging/sunning if that is your sort of thing. There are electronic safes provided for valuables. The bathrooms are nice and clean, with a shower and bidet. Each room has a tv with about 5 channels. The hotel also has a free wifi service if you need to use the internet while in any of the communal areas. If you ask at reception they will give you the password.

Breakfast is a self service buffet, which was very good. When you sit down the staff will ask you what you would like to drink (they can provide pretty much whatever - Cappucino, a pot of coffee, tea, etc). You can then just help yourself to the buffet. The food changes slightly each day, but usually consists of bread rolls, croissants, pastries, fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals, biscuits, tomatoes, cheese, ham/cold meats, eggs, etc. There is usually a large cake of some sort, too.

Overall, this is an excellent hotel, with extremely helpful staff, and Conca Dei Marini is a great place to stay in the Amalfi Coast. If you are planning to visit the ruins of Pompeii and Herculaneum, or Vesuvious, it may be best to stay a couple of nights in Naples first, then move down towards Conca Dei Marini to explore the Coast. The reason for this is that reaching the ruins from Conca takes around 2 1/4 hours (1 1/2 hours Conca to Sorrento on the Sita bus, the 45 mins Sorrento to Pompeii Scavi on the train). However, for exploring the Amalfoi Coast itself (Amalfi, Ravello, Positano, etc) Conca Dei Marini is a great place to be and Hotel Le Terrazze is a fantastic choice.

Room Tip: The 4th floor has access to the steps leading down to the beach. The rooms on the higher floors may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Cereal, brown bread, fruit, yoghurts... as well as the usual pastries - such a relief to find a wonderful breakfast spread in Italy! Views are superlative, Marcello the owner very keen to help, and lovely walk down to sea.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My friend and I stayed for two weeks in Hotel Terrazze and it was unquestionably a good decision to select this hotel away from the mainstream locations.
Firstly, Conca dei Marino is about 4 kilometres from Amalfi and about 12 kilometres to Positano. You will learn to master the bus system which is out of control...there are far too many people packing the buses and at times the driver will not stop to pick you up...but we worked out when to travel and lived with the inconveniences...because the hotel and the location are worth it.
The hotel is situated down the slope from the street and there is some parking at the level where you enter the hotel. The reception is another level below and this is accessed via stairs or lift. There are large rooms on the fourth level below the reception but we were perfectly comfortable in the smaller more basic room on the level immediately below the reception. the fact that this is probably the only place away from the reception that received the free wifi had a bearing on this choice. All or at least the majority of rooms have spectacular views...simply stunning. The reception has a large terrace for communal use and this area is tragically wasted with a few basic tables and chairs...nothing which encourages anyone to lounge and enjoy a drink in comfort. At the same level is the breakfast area and this is quite adequate for an extended continental breakfast. There was fruit, cereal etc available every day and the service here was very good. Other commentaries noted the demeanour of the proprietor or the young lady who shared the reception role. Personally we found the proprietor Marcello always helpful and polite...he is multilingual too. He was very communicative in the booking process, he made travel bookings, organised taxis and booked restaurants for us. Speaking of restaurants, Le Bonta del Capo is a gem...the family are just family and made us feel part of them, the food was excellent (try the fresh lobster pasta) and very reasonably priced...we happily ate here most nights...and they pick you up and deliver you back to the hotel. There are other choices of restaurants including the three in the little fishing below the hotel...about 200 steps below. The mussels there were the best I have experienced...although these restaurants belonging to the fishing families seem to only be open at the whim of the owners...but they were good when they did open. Our transport was Sorrento Cars (Ugo) cars and he is very reliable and very reasonably priced. The actual fishing village of Conca dei Marini is a pick up point for points to Capris. In conclusion, this is a fantastic choice for a reasonably priced and exceptionally good value holiday....I would not hesitate to return to this lovely location or Hotel Le Terrazze.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

A fabulous hotel with breathtaking views of the sea. Lovely, friendly and helpful staff who speak excellent English. They are happy to give to information on places to visit, eat and will help you book excursions. Very clean rooms with good facilities. Safe deposit box in the room which was useful. Room cleaned daily. Flat screen TV with BBc world news. Great access down a little path to a lovely intimate beach with 3 restaurants. Breakfast was lovely, lots of choice and very fresh. Served 7.30 to 10.30 am. Would recommend!

Room Tip: Ask for a front or side sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I whole-heartedly agree with SAjulio that this is about as good as it gets on the Amalfi Coast. Not a huge resort, it is rather a charming small-ish hotel, with four floors of about 5-10 rooms each, all of them of good size, with balcony, and some with sea view (those with sea view are a bit smaller than those without, so everyone wins), parking is available (and free!), the staff is amazing and very knowledgable and eager to help with everything you need, there's bus nearby, a great beach with good restaurants (though there is a 209-step series of stairs leading down there, so you'll have earned your dessert), the beach offers good swimming and snorkeling, and rentals of sunbeds and umbrellas. Breakfast buffet is about the best I've had in Italy. This is "only" a three-star hotel, but in many respects, it outperforms both four and five star hotels I've stayed in around the world.

Room Tip: The side rooms have a side view of the sea, but are larger and cooler in the summer. The ones with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Terrazze? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Terrazze

Address: Via Smeraldo 11, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#4 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Le Terrazze 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Le Terrazze is perfectly located in an extraordinary position, built right on the sea with an enchanting view of the Amalfi Coast. The coast is one of the marvellous points of interest in Italy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Le Terrazze reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terrazze Hotel
Hotel Le Terrazze Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Terrazze, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.