We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

Words fail me in trying to convey the absolute bliss I experienced at Monastero Santa Rosa. This is truly one of the most special destinations in the world. All five senses are enchanted, as if by magic, in this almost spiritual place. Truly transcendent.

Room Tip: All rooms have a sea view. Some have baths, some just showers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
112
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here for a week in September 2013, so have taken a little while to post this review. This is not for want of any enthusiasm for this wonderful, world class hotel.

The superlatives recorded in most other reviews are all completely justified. There are many outstanding features of this Hotel:

1) Service is impeccable throughout. All the staff are welcoming, knowledgeable and efficient; but special mention to Andrea in the Cocktail Bar, and Daniele and Pasquale in the wonderful restaurant, who made us feel at home from day one.

2) Beautiful food in the restaurant, which is served by fresh ingredients from its own gardens and local producers of fish and meat. Many of the menu items have a strong regional flavour, which is a very pleasant change from the bland internationalism of larger hotels. Our original intention was to eat dinner away from the Hotel occasionally, but in the event we could not tear ourselves away from the wonderful, varied menus.

3) The Spa. In the past I have often been underwhelmed by hotel spas, but this one is in a league of its own. Absolutely luxurious facilities in a stunning architectural setting. Everyone should try this once in their life.

4) The views. I suppose if you are committing to a life in a convent you might as well pick one where there is always a good reason to get up every morning. I can't remember anywhere else I have stayed with a more stunning setting. Simply beautiful!


On a more practical level, the Hotel is located a few miles out of Amalfi. A regular courtesy bus runs to the town, from where you can link to bus and boat trips to all the other major destinations on this coastline. If you wish to travel further afield, the Hotel is happy to organise transport for you by private car.

If you are a little more adventurous, the Hotel is a starting point for a number of lovely hikes in the surrounding countryside. Ask as reception for a map of the trails. A word of warning. The terrain is very steep, so you need to be in reasonable condition to complete the round trip! We enjoyed the walk to the spectacular Furore Gorge.

In our view, everything about this hotel is perfect. It is not cheap, but we thought that it delivered incredibly good value for money, taking in to account the very high quality of everything it delivers to its guests.

Room Tip: Unless you particularly want a suite and/or private terrace, the sea view superior rooms would suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent 3 nights at this fabulous hotel as part of our honeymoon in Italy. It was an unforgettable experience and would recommend the Monastero to anyone looking for an Amalfi treat. The hotel itself is beautifully designed with the most spectacular waterfront view. The rooms are small but that is part of the experience of staying in a converted monastery. The gardens are beautiful (a perfect spot for aperitivos!) and the infinity pool is a gorgeous setting to take a dip. There are lots of sun beds and day beds available. The staff were excellent too.

The hotel provides a regular shuttle bus to Amalfi which is about a ten minute drive. We ate at the hotel one night and it was a good meal but rather expensive (as you'd expect from a hotel of this standard). The breakfasts are great and if you order breakfast in bed they bring it in the most amazing oven contraption.

All in all….wonderful. Would love to return.

Room Tip: We stayed in small room with terrace. Gorgeous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during our honeymoon in September 2013. In short it was the most spectacular hotel I have ever stayed at in my life. The photos you see online are incredible and it is even more impressive in real life. There is no question that it is expensive, but if you are considering the splurge, I would say absolutely go for it. The pool facilities beyond incredible, the spa facilities are absolutely world class, and the restaurant is as good as any Michelin starred place. I would recommend this hotel for couples mainly, as it is quiet & romantic.

If you have the opportunity, stay here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This hotel really was perfect. There is nothing that the staff wouldn't do to help us, the location was absolutely amazing and the food was delicious. If you're considering this hotel, stay there! You couldn't find anywhere better, even on the Amalfi Coast!

Questo hotel era perfetto! Il personale era disponibile, amichevole e attento. Le viste erano magnifiche e il cibo era delizioso. Se state pensando dell 'hotel, vai pure! Non c'è niente di meglio!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This hotel is superb in every way. Stunning location and views; outstanding property in fabulous condition - newly refurbished; brilliant spa, pool and facilities; breathtaking views over the Amalfi Coast and faultless service.

The restaurant is knocking on the door of a star. Breakfast is good if not great (this is Italy) the wine list is eyewateringly expensive and studded with legendary names.

Comfortably one of the best hotels I've visited.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at Monastero Santa Rosa after a few days in Rome, and what a spectacular treat it was. Upon entering the premise, we were greeted by the smiling and impeccably dressed Flavio, Monastero's general manager. He walked us out to the balcony, and the view completely took my breath away! The property is STUNNING, and after what we heard was a rigorous 12-year-long renovation, the owners should feel extremely proud. It can only be described as heaven on earth.

Perched high on the cliff's edge, the hotel is only 20 rooms; it is QUIET and peaceful, unlike the hotels in Positano or the town of Amalfi. If you stay more than one night you'll quickly get to know the staff and the other guests - everyone is just happy to be there. I could stare out past the infinity pool to the horizon all day long - and one day I did! :)

The first night we were there, Trey proposed! So henceforth, he shall be referred to as 'My Fiance.'

'My Fiance' booked us for dinner on the beautiful restaurant patio and everything we had was delicious. I'm a vegetarian, and the vegetable lasagna is not to be missed.
The next day we had a couples massage on the spa terrace, which was so lovely. Maria, my massage therapist was an angel. Definitely take advantage of the spa!

From the outdoor gym, to the infinity pool; from Andrea the bartender's cocktail crafting expertise, and Daniele's superior somme-ness; from the outdoor fireplaces, swinging chairs and bocce court; this place is perfection. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#3 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.