We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but this is a great hotel in a wonderful location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2 | Amalfi Drive, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Expensive but this is a great hotel in a wonderful location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is our second visit to what is truly a world class hotel close to Amalfi
Last year we stayed in a fairly small room with a small balcony, this year we upgraded to one of the suites again with a balcony. Wonderful room but at a price. May be back to the smaller room next year. The weather in October can be variable which was a shame because one of the great features of this hotel is the pool area and beautiful terraces
The hotel itself is so well done it is hard to see how the owner could have improved the conversion. The maintenance of the property is outstanding. If is simply one of the best hotels we have ever stayed in and that's a lot of really good hotels
The staff we met last year are still there which is a good sign and they are first class, from the reception who will look after anything you need to do from visiting Pompeii and Capri to arranging transport to one of the local hikes throughthe lemon groves. The restaurant is under stated and first class with friendly and knowledgable staff including Daniele the Sommelier, Pasquale ,Antonio and the chef Christopher who volunteered to show me how to make better gnocchi The pool area has been improved and you can eat drink and exercise in the open areas. The spa is again a wonderful facility my only complaint was an over enthusiastic therapist.
The hotel is a good place to base yourself and explore the area and I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: There is a great sunset balcony which is hardly used so you don't need to pay extra for a room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
161
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel took 12 years to be refurbished and oh my goodness it shows. It is one of the most beautiful hotels I have ever stayed in. There isn't one thing I could improve upon - well, maybe the bath towels could be a bit bigger! I couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough - unbelievably luxurious. It was a romantic break away without the kids for a few days which having experienced one of their massage treatments and a few hours in the immaculate spa, soon made me forget about daily life. Truly, a hotel you will never forget.

Room Tip: We stayed in Lavendula which had views to the Med and from the bathroom down to Amalfi and beyond.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We visited for lunch while on an Amalfi Coast drive. As others have said it is on a spectacular site high above the coastal road and it's a fair climb (by car) up. We were welcomed as 'drop in' visitors and sat in a sheltered outdoor terrace. Service was excellent. We selected the fixed menu lunch which was very good but expensive. I'm not sure it was differentiated enough to justify the cost, but there was no doubting the spectacular setting and top notch service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almailfi italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

I just returned from this hotel , i had the most wonderful time ever. From the time we arrived we were really looked after, the staff were wonderful , the food amazing , i had some of the best treatments in the spa i have ever had. I will definatley be returning, i have travelled all over the world , and stayed in some amazing places, but this hotel will be definatley seeing me again .

Room Tip: Vinca is next to a large beautiful sun terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We just returned from this hotel and absolutely loved our stay. The entire staff was wonderful from the moment we walked into the reception area to our (sad) moment of departure. We were personally greeted by the General Manager who was a warm and welcoming host. All of the people at the reception desk were so helpful in answering our many questions since this was our first trip to the Amalfi coast. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and they truly made it a memorable stay for us.

Dinner at the hotel was delicious and the dining staff were both friendly and very professional during all meals. There was a nice selection of items at breakfast with the same wonderful service and gorgeous view. All of the people at the hotel could not have been kinder!

The location on the top of the cliff was stunning and the rooms, gardens and pool were lovely as well. The bathroom was modern and sophisticated with a lovely, spacious walk in shower and separate tub. I loved the heated floors!

I highly recommend the Monastero Santa Rosa if you are looking for a very special stay. They truly made our 40th anniversary a memorable one.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have read through all of the other reviews for this Hotel and frankly don't quite understand where some of the eulogies are coming from. It may be that having spent a shed load of money to stay there you really want it all to be fantastic, I don't know, but 5/5 it's not. Some of the topics being praised are or should be a "given" considering the cost.

The building is fantastic, full of atmosphere and character, perched high up the hillside with views out to sea and back down towards Amalfi. There are terraced gardens leading down to a spectacular but small infinity pool. All very easy on the eye and given nice weather certainly one for loads of pictures to show your mates.

The rooms were once cells and hence not huge, however, they are spotlessly clean and everything worked very well. The bathroom was modern and top quality materials have been used throughout. The restoration itself continues and you have to admire what a top job has been done with everything.

Service was either fabulous, or occassionaly begrudging, depending upon the individual concerned. Alessandro and Daniele were fantastic and did there job with endless smiles and courtesy.

Poolside menu is limited and gets a bit boring after a while.

The service at Dinner was, in my opinion over the top and in yer face enthusiastic. I really don't need the wine waiter to taste my wine for me! Some of the waiters stood closer to my wife's shoulder than was neccessary. The food was ok, but nothing approaching what others have said. The wine list is staggering and probably the largest ever seen. Unless you have a Degree in Italian wine, you will be lost and at the mercy of the bloke who wants to taste it, all of which comes at a price. My bottle cost £90 and was ordinary. The view from the resturant is fabulous.

Breakfast was very nice indeed.

We did not use the Spa.

There is no information in the room regarding the Hotel overall.

A place to stay for a night or two maybe, any longer and some of the smiles on reception don't last that long.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

To give some context to my review, we'd just been married the week before in Castellabate (quiet and beautifully Italian village), and had come from Sorrento. Sorrento was chaotic, and a little too touristy for us - and were glad to leave it. We arrived in Santa Rosa and realised we'd left our passports in the safe in our previous hotel...

So upon entry, we realised this. The hotels reaction was a sign of how they would handle our entire stay. With ease, and total perfection. They spoke to the previous hotel and had them sent to us. We had nothing to do with it, but they handled everything. Being greeted with warm freshly picked tea from the garden was a lovely touch, as was complimentaty prosecco and fruit. We received a hand written letter from the manager thanking us, and congratualting us on our marriage.

Everything about this place was as close to 5 star perfection as we've ever experienced. The staff remembered our first names, and each night were left a gift on our bed. They checked in on us to make sure we didn't need anything (towels etc were always folded when we returned). Some of the staff went the extra mile, and really made us feel like we were part of the family. I can't stress how much we loved it -

The pool, the rooms, the view, the food, the close proximity to Amalfi, and the spa treatments were all first class. There's other hotels in the area that say they are 5 star, but am highly confident that none will reach the limits of the 5 star treatment we received from this place. My only negative feedback is the price of the meals etc is a little on the steep side - but hey, when you're there, you may as well spoil yourself.

We literally can not wait to return next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Roma 2 | Amalfi Drive, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#2 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.