We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amalfi Heaven” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amalfi Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

What an incredible stylish hotel, packed with character and offering the most friendly service imaginable. The views from the hotel are stunning and this 20 room hotel offers a charm that many of the larger hotels lack. Apparently it took 13 years to restore the monastery but given the result, it must be worth all the effort. My wife and I are in our mid thirties and we have stayed in some incredible hotels around the world but this competes with the best and we would return in a heartbeat! The restaurant food is delicious, the spa is incredible and the the concierge was able to organise a private boat hire with only five mins notice. The views of the Amalfi coast from the sea are just exquisite. The boat this trip was an experience of a lifetime for me so I would highly recommend it. I would highly rate this hotel and I'm sure we will be back for a return visit!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
112
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The view is just the beginning! This trip was a rare relaxing interlude for us, and we came back blissful from our stay at the Monastero. it is small and exquisite. The food and service were relaxed and attentive at the same time. We will return next year to our extended"family" with ours. The balance between the setting and the full realization of it was incredible. Every night there was a lovely present on the pillow and every morning a special breakfast was waiting for our telephone call. The food and the service were sublime-- thy will prepare anything for you. The setting is breathtaking-better than the time-release website photographs. They will prepare anything for you.

Room Tip: Even entry level there is worth every penny. Every room and bathroom has a view of the sea even tho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013 via mobile

We spent three blissful days at this boutique hotel and spa on the Amalfi coast... It was the highlight of our time in Italy... So much so, we have decided to return again next year following our Tuscan wedding.
Our room was lovely, as was the brilliant daily cleaning and turn down service... The nightly gift on our pillow was a wonderful gesture.
We opted for a package with full use of the spa... So glad we did! Each morning we indulged in the steam room or sauna, followed by the spa and foot bath. We also enjoyed the signature candle massage in the Spa Suite... Heavenly!
The restaurant at the hotel was exceptional... Chef Christopher Bob and his sommelier, Daniele Di Palma, have created a fine dining and wine experience.... We met with both to create a degustation menu and wine experience that surpassed our expectations. Our thanks to both men and their charming waitstaff.
Our only suggestion for Management to consider is a complimentary mini bar. A hotel of such high standard should offer complimentary minibar for guests. This would be a welcome addition to the packages currently offered by the hotel.
We very much look forward to returning to Monastero next year after our wedding... We hope to recapture our special memories of a lovely stay!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed in an apartment in Conca del Marini (airbnb) and for our last night we booked at table for dinner at this hotel and it was outstanding!!

The food was divine, the service excellent and the views were out of this world.

The veggie options were a little limited but delicious so no complaints from the me, and the fish that my partner had was very great. The sommelier recommended a number of wines, and the one we chose complimented the food well and the amuse bouche and palette cleansers just underlined the commitment to detail and customer service that made this experience so perfect.

Next time we will definitely be booking to stay overnight to experience the whole experience

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I made this our first destination on our trip to Italy. I choose this hotel because after the very long flight from Los Angeles we wanted to be able to just relax and unwind for a couple days, enjoy the spa...
Well this was the PERFECT choice! Honestly, everything was perfect here. From our late evening arrival greeted by a friendly face. she knew we were tired so told us that she would show us around the property the next morning so we could go to our room and relax. She even had a delicious meal sent to our room as soon as we got there (without us asking for it). Amazing service! The breakfast was incredible. they greet you by name throughout the property. we choose to relax by the infinity pool after breakfast and then go to the spa in the afternoon. Wow. this spa is one of the very best if not the best that I have been to, and I have been to many. the facilities were incredible. they use Santa Maria Novella products, which are my fav. Both my husband and I had amazing massages. The rest of the day we spent sipping on prosecco by the pool. The most serene day of my life. The view is spectacular. Truly the perfect start of a vacation I will never forget.
I must comment on the stunning gardens. They are so beautifully maintained. there were 3 men working on the gardens all day, under the hot sun. replanting what looked to me like was already perfection. It is really refreshing to see the detail of up keep this property has. Since it is newly opened everything is immaculate. it has my hopes high that this property will remain immaculate with the attention to perfection that I found in all areas. They will take you by shuttle to Amalfi, which we did one evening for dinner. I will definitely stay here again on my next visit to the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Maarten-St Martin
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

From the moment you arrived at this resort you sense that you have arrived at a very special place. An old style bell is wrong to announce the staff that a new guest has arrived. You are greeted promptly and professionally by very friendly and professional staff member who welcomes you and offers you some refreshments and nice scented cold towels. He then proceeds to give you a small tour of the property and explain to you some of the very special history of this mystical property.

What impressed me the most is the attention of detail from the hallways to the inside of the rooms and the spa there isn't a detail that was not thought about. The gardens are like a botanical garden, perfectly manicured and give this feeling of peace just to walk around it.

Each room type has its own special charm. On top of that the restaurant experience is truly 5 star from the service and the gastronomic aspect. If you are not sure about the wines let Danilo the sommelier guide you through the wine list. Also, make sure the you book as Spa treament, not only the treatments are great but the spa itself is something to be seen.

Another great thing of this heavinly place is its location minutes away from Positano, Amalfi, Ravello and Sorrento. I highly recommend to charter a private boat to down the Amalfi Coast and around Capri. This was a higlight of the trip seeing the Amalfi Coast from the water is an amazing experience.

This place is a must for anybody looking for this very special place were to hide or rest for a few days. We will definetely be back as many times as we have a chance.

Room Tip: All rooms are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

For the last 15 years I have been traveling the world and this is one of the most amazing hotels I have stayed. As soon as you arrive, they welcome you with the ringing of a bell at the entrance, and all the staff comes out to greet you. The grounds are impeccable and the infinity pool s a real infinity towards heaven... The staff and service are hard to beat. There are just 20 rooms at the Monastero, so everybody knows you by name. The restaurant is amazing. The chef is from Germany and is one of the best assets of the hotel. Incredible food!! Location is perfect. Next to Amalfi (10 minutes), Ravello (15 minutes), etc. Best way to go and enjoy Positano and Capri is by boat. You can use the ferry or rent a private motor boat. I highly recommend you go by private boat. Amazing experience and incredible views. Monastero offers great spa
services. They offer many options and work till 7pm.

Room Tip: All rooms are very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#3 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, MrandMrsSmith and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.