We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It doesn't get any better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Santa Rosa Spa Romance
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It doesn't get any better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Total perfection. Phenomenal renovation of old monastery. Incredible service and meticulous attention to detail. Hip, cool. Incredible spa. 10 minutes to the center of Amalfi. 20 rooms. Incredible staff from pool boy to waiters. They couldn't do enough to make our stay the best we have ever experienced. The ultimate in exclusivity, pampering and solitude.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    96
    6
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
77
3
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Monastero Santa Rosa is a special place. Perched above the Amalfi coast, it is both isolated when you want to get away from the hoarded crowds, but close enough by complimentary shuttle to visit Amalfi center. Everything is perfection...from the initial arrival with welcome beverage of your choice and fresh towel, to someone at every turn attentive to your every wish without being obtrusive.
The meals were fresh...even had a private tour of the garden by Christophe master chef an engaging unpretentious person...could have talked to him on an array of subjects for hours!! Restaurant and spa staff very good...comparable to some of the finest institutions in their class. I promise if you have discriminating tastes you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a belated review... But we stayed here for 4 nights on our honeymoon in October 2012..And I'm still longing to go back! The hotel had opened in May and our visit was towards the end of their first season. We were treated like royalty, but at the same time, like one of the family!
We were upgraded to a suite, which overlooked the sea and Amalfi below us.
Absolutely nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and we had the pleasure of meeting the owner Bianca, a graceful American lady, who was interested in our thoughts and opinions.. Eager to perfect what was already perfect!
The views were out of this world, the rooms were elegant but not opulent... The hotel has kept the Monestary's integrity... It had a spiritual quality, and had every modern convenience you could wish for.. the beds were the comfiest I have ever slept in! And ladies.... The best hair dryers available.... (No holiday frizz here!).
The breakfasts were taken on the terrace, served by wonderfully friendly staff.... Lunches relaxing by the infinity pool were heaven... There are enough sun beds to secret yourselves away and have a quite snooze in the shade...!
The Spa is something else....relaxation and total indulgence!
For dinner, the hotel's restaurant was used, small and intimate, the lighting and vaulted ceilings, again added to the atmosphere.The menu in the evening couldn't be faulted.
After our 4 wonderful days had concluded and we were moving on to Capri, (look at my review on J K Place!) the hotel took us to the ferry, and looked after our car at the hotel till our return 3 days later! As I said, nothing was too much trouble. I cannot recommend Monestera Santa Rosa highly enough.. 'Heaven' even if you're not on your honeymoon! A belated thank you to everyone at the hotel! And who knows... My husband may bring me back for our first anniversary!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We were blown away by the beauty and amenities at the hotel. The grounds are breathtakingly gorgeous—we have such fabulous photographs from our vacation with the gardens, infinity pool, and vistas as backdrop. We booked a basic, superior room and were not disappointed. The attention to detail was amazing--the bed was very comfortable with high quality linens. After traveling around Europe, we were so happy with the modern bathroom. It had heated floors, a separate and large shower and tub, and great products. I especially liked the full size, salon-quality hair dryer! Even the smells at the hotel were divine. In every hallway, you could smell the fresh flowers—lavender, honey suckle, etc. The spa was phenomenal, and had a complimentary “hydrotherapy” experience even for those that do not book a service. We loved this hotel so much that we abandoned our plans to meet friends in Positano and Ravello because we could not bear to leave the hotel for the afternoon.

Unfortunately, there were two things that dampened our experience. First, the check-in was pretty disorganized. When we arrived at 1:00 pm, we were taken to what we thought was our room. We started to settle in, only to be told that we were given the wrong room and that our room would be ready very soon and that we should wait in the restaurant and someone would fetch us when the room was ready. We decided to order lunch, but even after we were finished, no one told us anything about the status of our room until we finally went upstairs to ask. We would have understood if the room was not ready but thought it was strange that we were constantly told that our room would be ready very soon when in reality it took over two hours.

Second, each time we went to the restaurant, we were pretty put off that we were given a less than desirable table when there were many tables with beautiful views available. When this happened for the second time at dinner, we asked the waiter if we could get one of the many tables that were free that had views. He strangely told us that they were all reserved, however I pointed out that I had made a reservation several weeks before. When he detected my frustration, he quickly allowed us to sit where we wanted, but then we heard a discussion behind us, which clearly led us to believe that this caused some sort of problem with his boss. It just created a very awkward dinner, and we did not enjoy ourselves at all. The next morning at breakfast, the same thing happened—the entire restaurant was empty but we were led to a table in the corner without a view. What added insult to injury was that all of the guests that came in after us were asked where they wanted to sit! We were not sure if we were treated this way because we reserved a basic room (at 650 euros nonetheless) or because we were American and minorities, but it really made what would have been the most phenomenal part of our Italian vacation sour significantly. We decided to have dinner in Amalfi to avoid this situation all together on our last evening.

I would ultimately recommend this hotel and sincerely hope that management will work out these issues. The staff for the most part was really spectacular, especially Alessandro who tends to the poolside guests and all of the attendants at the spa.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for two nights in July, we were blown away by the hotel, the views and the very helpful staff. The staff couldn't do enough for you and really made this stay special.

The hotel is steeped in history and elegance. The spa is set deep inside the hotel, and is amazing. With obvious work to improve this once monastery into a boutique hotel has been done with such careful attention whilst retaining its history. It is easy to forget this is a hotel when you walk it's hallways with art pieces clearly found in the building when discovered once again and looking out of its wooden window doors that easily pulls you back into time.

In addition the gardens are landscaped like a secret garden on a few different levels with beautiful flowers and seating areas to view the wonderful sea views. And the infinity pool! Oh gosh...I'm retiring :))

Truly fabulous, dream like, unforgettable, enchanting, magical. A very special hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We spent a couple of nights at this hotel and loved absolutely everything. It is truly gorgeous- the setting, the view, the building, the details. The complex took 10 years in transformation from virtually abandoned nunnery to deluxe hotel. The designers retained the integrity of the building but renovated the space so that several cells became a room. The halls remain the same and are filled with discreet antiques that reflect the original period. The public areas are breathtaking. Everything is quietly comfortable and beautifully done. There are 20 rooms and the place is very large with lots of available space that maximizes views and privacy. The hotel was full but never felt crowded. The room was not huge but adequate and beautifully executed- wonderful sheets, bedside lights, AMAZING views and fantastic bathroom-products, shower, etc. The staff was lovely, especially the concierge and dining staff. The food delicious and beautifully presented. Gorgeous spa (although services were well done, they were expensive) We used the shuttle to go to Amalfi for lunch one day. Honestly have no criticisms at all. Wish we had spent longer. Hope to get back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I would start by saying that we had a fantastic stay in Monastero Santa Rosa in June 2013. It's a very unusual hotel as it is set in the old monastery building. The doors are low, the windows are small and you can actually imagine how the life of the monastery was organised. Though the hotel preserves the atmosphere of a historic property, the renovation is brand new and everything functions very well.
The hotel has a unique position just 10 mins drive from Amalfi town where you can take a boat and go almost to any place - Naples, Capri, Positano, Salerno etc.
The hotel gardens are very pretty and the infinity pool is just phenomenal.
The restaurant is also quite good. The views are breathtaking and the food is worth trying. We would like to thank Pasqual for being very attentive and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini
Address: Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith and Venere so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.