We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dave&MarionAnniversary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
London
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Dave&MarionAnniversary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We are just completing five days of bliss. We have traveled a lot and this hotel is absolutely one of the best we have ever stayed in. The building is unique, the conversion to a hotel has been done tastefully and every fixture and fitting is of the highest quality. The owner in American and apparently rich and it shows , the hotel restaurant bar spa pool etc etc are as good if not better as any we have stayed in. The staff are friendly and knowledgeable - Daniel the sommelier is a favorite he knows great wines at reasonable prices and is just a great character. This is a great location to visit not only the coast but also Pompeii and Vesuvius. Fantastic hotel fantastic people and what a location. Cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: Any room with a terrace. Not that big but bathroom is first class and terraces give you a view to di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    11
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
142
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
guadalajara
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Monastero Santa Rosa is paradise found... We just spent four nights there, and I can truly say five stars does not do it justice, if a six star hotel exists, this one would be at the top of the list. Everything is absolute perfection, the service is friendly and impeccable. Our room had an amazing view of the Amalfi coast. The food is amazing, our compliments to chef Christoph. I had one of the best risottos ever, and the baby squid pasta is a must. The staff caters to your every whim. Daniele the sommelier introduced us to wine from Campania,he is very knowledgeable and kind, Alessandro's recommendations were always great and Mateo was very attentive and pampered us. We have been fortunate to be in some of the top ten resorts in the world, but this one is on a class of its own... The infinity pool is beautiful an inviting, overlooking the Mediterranean. Do not miss the sfogliatelle pastries in the morning! We are looking forward to coming back next year. Thank you to Flavio, Pompeo, Valentina and all the staff for making our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

I have just returned from a 3 night break at the Monastero Santa Rosa , and it is one of the few hotels that I cant wait to return to .
Although not cheap everything about the Hotel, Spa, and Restaurant is memorable . It is very rare that all the aspects that make a great hotel come together, but here it does .
The Staff are as good as the facilities, the food is as good as the setting , and the infinity pool as good as the tasteful and refined rooms.
This hotel will soon be known as of the hotels you have to stay at .
If you get the chance make the journey to or from the hotel by helicopter it saves a very winding journey , but more importantly gives you fantastic views of the coast , and Vesuvius.

Room Tip: Lavandula suite has fantastic views to the see and along the Amalfi coast .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Different hotels cater for different needs and if you are looking for a quiet break without the kids then you need look no further. This is simply the best hotel I have ever stayed in. From the ringing of the monastery bell when we arrived until we left everything was just perfect.
Without a doubt the best service I have experienced in any hotel anywhere. I cannot believe that in just a few short months that they have managed to get everything running so smoothly. All the staff were extraordinarily professional and charming. Nothing was too much trouble whether it be room service, moving a sunbed or calling a doctor at 5am.
The hotel is not cheap, but you would not expect it to be. With only 20 rooms they need to charge a premium rate to make ends meet. Although pricey it is still great value for what you get. My only caveat being the price of the food and wine, but with a sensible hat on and good advice from the sommelier even this is not too frightening.
The food itself was fantastic. All the local seafood and fresh local vegetables (some from the Monastery gardens). Breakfast was faultless whether in the room or on the terrace. Lunch provides a small but interesting range of snacks and more wholesome meals. Dinner was everything you would expect in a Michelin starred restaurant.
The room was extremely comfortable and my wife is already ordering some of the pillows for home. Cleverly decorated and appointed so that a relatively small room did not feel in the least bit cramped. Regulalry replenished Ortiga in the bathroom.
In the gardens there are a couple of circular sun loungers which are the most comfortable I have ever 'rested' on (although the view from the pool loungers is better).
The location is perfect, perched 200m above the sea with outstanding views and less than 10 minutes from Amalfi. The hotel even runs a complimentary shuttle in the mornings and the evenings so the locality is accessible without a car.
The gardens are beautiful and well organised and very peaceful. The pool is something really special. Everything from the natural design, to the incomparable views, the perfect temperature and hydro massage at one end. (There are some steps but it might take you a couple of visits to find them).
The spa is wonderful. A variety of small bathing experiences and some world class treatments. Relaxing and rejuvenating. Again sublime service and attention to detail. We visited every day despite the glorious sunny weather.
If you think that this might be the place for your next break then book now because it will not be long before it is fully booked at least a year in advance.

Room Tip: Don't expect a big balcony on the terrace rooms. I think all the rooms have a sea view but most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Amazing new hotel, with a breath taking infinity pool!
For sure is the most beautiful pool in the entire Amalfi Cost!
Food is excellent!
Rooms are small, but very well decorated. Modern decor and brand new!

Room Tip: Floor Zero is the highest floor... Ask for a room near the terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

Treated to aperitifs on the stunning sunset terrace followed by a wonderful dinner in the restaurant. Thanks to Alessandro (Maitre d'hotel), Christoph (Head Chef), Daniele (Sommelier) and Alessandro (Bar Manager)... Not to mention everyone else who made the evening special but who we didn't quite catch the names of. That we know three by name is testimony to the intimacy of the service.
A really tiny note was that although the music was appropriately chilled, it was Internet radio and therefore was subtly punctuated with occasional commercial breaks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Visited this amazing hotel for just a few days but it was enough to know that it clearly the best and most intimate hotel on the coast. Perhaps the best service I've ever had anywhere in the world. A most unique approach of professionalism and warmth. I knew at least half of the staff by name before I left and I believe the staff to guest ratio was well in excess of 1 to 1 when I was there. Small hotel with only 20 rooms makes you feel special. There is nothing like the SPA anywhere on the Amalfi coast. It'll really surprise you when you explore it. And then there's Chef Bob....Wow, what a great catch for this special hotel. I'll be back this September.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so I wouldnt worry too much about that. You're not going to be in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Roma 2, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#3 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.