We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“May trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma 2 | Amalfi Drive, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“May trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Visited this amazing hotel for just a few days but it was enough to know that it clearly the best and most intimate hotel on the coast. Perhaps the best service I've ever had anywhere in the world. A most unique approach of professionalism and warmth. I knew at least half of the staff by name before I left and I believe the staff to guest ratio was well in excess of 1 to 1 when I was there. Small hotel with only 20 rooms makes you feel special. There is nothing like the SPA anywhere on the Amalfi coast. It'll really surprise you when you explore it. And then there's Chef Bob....Wow, what a great catch for this special hotel. I'll be back this September.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea views so I wouldnt worry too much about that. You're not going to be in your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    13
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
151
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We've just returned from a short break at this exquisite hotel and could not rate it highly enough. It seems that thought has been put into every detail, from the tasteful, luxurious furnishings and furniture throughout the hotel to the excellent staff, who were perfection. The restaurant staff, Alessandro, the Maitre d'Hotel, Daniele, the Sommelier (absolutely charming with a fabulous sense of humour!) and lovely Camilio who waited on us and cared for us as if we were family, they all knew exactly how to make you feel comfortable and special without being obtrusive. A very special mention must go to Christoph the Executive Chef who created the most memorable meals we've ever tasted! A true, rare talent combined with the superb local produce that made meal times a sheer delight!
There's so much more to say about the Monastero Santa Rosa and all of it is good!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

No words can tell how beautiful the Hotel is, how unbelievable the location, how excellent the staff
and how welcomed and happy we felt there each day of our week long visit. An absolute must to visit and to enjoy if you like the best of the best. Although 5 stars is the highest rating, this jewel should be rated 6 stars. From the moment of your arrival until the last second of your stay the staff reads your mind and makes you feel like at home. I can honestly say, that we have never experienced anything like it. Needless to say, that the rooms are equally tastefully decorated as the entire Hotel. An experience, that we will never forget.
Yvonne Wenger, Switzerland

Room Tip: The location is very quite and all rooms are facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

The 17th century monestary set high above the sea has been beautifully restored and tastefully decorated with many interesting antiques. The service throughout is impeccable and from the moment you arrive you feel all your needs and wishes are anticipated and taken care of by the charming personnel. This also applies to the service at the infinity pool with its spectacular views over sea and coastline. The cuisine treats you with culinary delights to which the very professional sommelier suggests exquisite wines from the region. All in all, an unforgettable experience - a hotel you feel very comfortable at and want to come back to.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkston, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

There is a new gold standard for lux accommodations on the Amalfi Coast. No detail has been overlooked at this superbly renovated 20 room property perfectly situated on a cliff overlooking the sea. About 8 minutes by hotel shuttle to Amalfi and convenient to all the coastal towns (Ravello and Positano 15/20 minutes by taxi) while maintaining a “garden of eden” mystique.

The facility has the highest quality accommodations with marble baths that are heavenly, individually controlled air conditioning, HUGE/oversized king beds with exquisitely comfortable mattresses and linens, fluffy white towels, robes, slippers and flat screen tvs. The décor is gorgeous and focuses centrally on the stunning views – which are enjoyed from every room in this property – even the baths.

The staff is the warmest/kindest I have experience in all my travels, which have been extensive. In particular the front office staff (Lorenzo, Pompeo, Andrea – forgive if I’ve spelled any incorrectly) went above and beyond to welcome us upon arrival and assist in coordinating taxis and various activities we’d scheduled for our visit (boat charter, car services, guides etc.). The dining room manager had a wonderful presence and greeted us each morning with a smile, the shuttle driver was so thoughtful, the pool attendants were engaging, helpful and fun, the maid were friendly and very professional. Yes, this is what a luxury vacation should feel like….

The shuttle runs to Amalfi each day from 8-noon and 4-8, perfect-- very convenient for gelato runs! The shuttle itself, like the rest of the property is the finest we saw during our stay…brand new, clean, fresh and very comfortable.

The infinity pool, where do I begin -- heaven on earth. Floating on a “pool noodle” watching the ships go by – to the left the Amalfi town to the right Capri. There are no finer views anywhere on the coast – and no finer way to experience the views than from this ultra-large, perfectly heated pool while eating a “fruit kabob” provided compliments of the hotel. Yes, it’s that good. If you prefer lounge under an umbrella while being misted from above - oh yes, I’m serious.

If you want to play a little bocce ball head up to one of the wonderful terraced gardens or maybe head to the outdoor workout room next to the pool area to work off some pasta – even working out becomes a pleasure at the Santa Rosa.

What can I say – if you want the best of the best on the Amalfi Coast look no further. We’ll be back next year without a doubt. Thank you to all our friends at Santa Rosa - we cannot wait to visit you again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg,sweden
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

If you're looking for a very relaxing resort where you are very well taken care of, you have found it. There is no better staff, very caring and attentive ,the service is impeccable. From the moment you get there the staff will make sure all your needs are met.
Our room hade everything we could ask for, top quality linen and towels, plush robes and the bed was big and comfy with lots of pillows. Marble floors troughout the room and heated floors in the bathroom.
You have to try the restaurant, Chef Christoph is amazing. My favorite was the Sea bass and the vegetable lasagna. Again the wait staff is wonderful.
The infinity pool is absolutly beautiful and the water temprature is perfect and so is the views and the surrouding gardens.
We travel alot and stay in many nice hotels but this one does not compare, this is topnotch.
Thank you for making our trip so special, see you next time.

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

A brand New hotel on the Amalfi cast, and an ancient beautifully restored monastery. Very welcoming staff, fabulous pool overlooking the sea, very comfortable rooms. Nothing is left to chance, a charming hotel that should soon be a byword in the area

Room Tip: The top is the suite Prince Aalbert stayed in for the opening! The terrace is literally to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa

Address: Via Roma 2 | Amalfi Drive, 84010 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#1 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#3 Family Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Striking the perfect balance of seclusion without solitude, Monastero Santa Rosa allows guests to determine the tone of their stay, whether they're looking to disappear for an intimate getaway or gather with the group and make new acquaintances. It's hard to imagine that the generous grounds, filled with four levels of gardens, lush landscaping, plentiful lounge chairs, and canopied daybeds, serve just 20 rooms and suites. Where most boutique properties might only offer in-room massages, Monastero Santa Rosa hosts a fully equipped spa to rival any major city spa, offering not just treatment rooms, but large-scale amenities that include a sauna, steam, mosaic-tiled experience shower, hydro pool, and tepidarium. Guests are welcome to feel a part of the scene at the library and bar. Engage in a game of chess or cards or read while sipping a martini in the modern cocktail area. Relax down by the pool or discover the resort's secret gardens, quiet sun decks, and indoor relaxation areas. Get the best of both worlds by making your stay as energizing or relaxed as you wish, by selecting different spaces to suit your mood at any time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monastero Santa Rosa Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.