We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Il Saraceno - so sad!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added Il Saraceno Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Il Saraceno - so sad!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I and friends recently stayed at the Il Saraceno Grand Hotel on the Amalfi Coast. On a positive note, this is a spectacualr hotel, which rests on the side of a cliff and is a part of an old fort. It is located outside the town of Amalfi and there is a free shuttle to town on a regular basis. The superior room we booked had a small balcony and was decorated with dated furniture (no..not antiques) and we did have a leak in our bathroom so the floor was constantly wet. Our friends staying in the room next to us were covered in bites, so we believe there may be a bed bug issue? There is a great private beach, which is accessed by an internal elevator. The terrace area is lovely with sweeping views of the Amalfi Coast. The reception and porter service was absolutely fine. Now for the negatives, the food & beverage service was horrendous...in fact there was no service! Be prepared to ask numerous times for menus/drinks and be prepared to wait even longer for your order to arrive. Do not believe the hotel motto as the wait staff are definitely not gracious or friendly. Maybe there might be one or two exceptions to this but overall, very poor service. We ate in the restaurant and it was mediocre. To be honest, I have never written such a negative review and I was warned by locals in Positano that Il Saraceno was a terrible choice...they were absolutely correct. I would never recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    46
    23
    14
    10
See reviews for
38
101
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
LEEDS
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fabulous hotel in the most fantastic setting. The furnishings are unique and totally in keeping with this magnificent building. Sit on the beach and watch the boats come by to admire this hotel it is truly spectacular! If you're looking for modern decor and all the latest gadgets and gimmicks, try elsewhere, if you want something unique and memorable then come here!

It's not cheap but this means it keeps it pretty exclusive. Drinks are at the top end and the food was ok but there are better restaurants to eat at. Try Chez Black in nearby Positano!

Shuttle bus is available, but sadly only very infrequently and the last bus back from Amalfi is at 8.00pm!! Taxi for this short journey is around 20 euros.

Be prepared for the journey from the airport - it's not for the faint hearted!

Room Tip: All rooms have sea view - the higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Milford, New Jersey
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

This hotel rest on the side of and seems to be built in to a cliff going down to the beach on the Amalfi coast. It is a short distance away from the town of Amalfi and the hotel provides a shuttle if you chose to go there. Dinner in the restaurant was good and the wait staff very attentive. We were there at the end of the season so it was very quiet there. I would think it is still fairly quiet through peak season because of its location but I don't know for sure. The room we had was very spacious and clean with a very nice private balcony. The view spectacular. The concierge were polite and very helpful. The continental breakfast provided was good and the outside seating was very pleasant. We spent two very nice nights here.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

My fiancé and I booked this hotel for our 3 day trip to the Amalfi coast. First, the views are unreal - can't ask for more. The staff was friendly and helpful and there was a decent breakfast included.

The room was decent and clean (seemingly) with nice bathrooms.

However, both my fiancé and I experienced bites. We're not exactly sure if it's from the bed but we can say that with a reasonable amount of certainty.

We probably not go back because of our concerns around bugs but also, we were so busy doing stuff during the day, the cost seemed more than we required.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This hotel is really unique, I've never quite seen anything like it. What it lacks in 5* luxury it makes up for in sheer drama. It only has 30 or 40 rooms, and it looked like there is a real variation in room type. Although I didn't see any other rooms, I was told the standard rooms are spacious. Some have shared balconies, some have private balconies, so it would be worth checking with the management to make sure you get what you want. Our room was the Juliet and Romeo suite. It was a big room with a small private balcony. The furniture was a cross between something out of the Hobbit and Fred Flinstone though! If you can see past the bedroom furniture, it is a good room, though note it does not have a stand in shower, just a bath attachment.

Overall I'd recommend this hotel if you want a beach. The beach is big, loads of space, and there is a beach bar/cafe and a proper restaurant one floor up. The evening restaurant, bar and breakfast room is at the top of the hotel, with amazing views of the coast. The breakfast was fine, but not brilliant. We didn't eat in th restaurant in the evening so can't comment.

Room Tip: Speak the the hotel management and find out exactly what they have before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

I spent three sunny days there and didn't feel the need to go out of the hotel. The private beach can be accessed using an elevator and there are towels and beds for the guests. But the best part was the room with a stunning view of the sea. So far the best hotel I've been in my life.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed there in August and have to agree that it is NOT a 5 star hotel by any means! However that said the views are stunning and the hotel has a private beach which is very nice as best part of it. We did not eat once in the hotel based on the breakfast which was very poor for a hotel of this supposed level. Just the most basic of food. Staff are nice but many are very old, and you can see are just waiting for retirement, and slow with drinks and basics. The hotel is old, and needs refurbishment as is like a time warp. However we enjoyed it, and made do as our booking was last minute. The best part was the little beach restaurant next door! Summary a 3 star hotel in a five star location! Take the shuttle bus to Amalfi for your dinner! as unless you are 100 you will die of boredom in the hotel bar!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Address: Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#5 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Saraceno Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.