We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“question of standards.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Il Saraceno Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“question of standards.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent 6 fabulous days on the most etraordinary location of the amalfi coast. What else need to be said?
Lots of Tripadvisor writers complain about this and that. Question of standards! Yes , by American standard, the hotel rates poor. Weak internet, average service, no gym, and so on. But by Italian standards, it rates perfect!
The rocky beach is a gem, the staff there friendly. And there is a delicious little restaurant, which doesn't belong to the hotel, serving marvellously fresh seafood. Ask the guys at the beach to call for the little boats to will bring you to the nearby harbour, a jewel called conca dei marini, where you can have lunch or diner in the most unique setting, right on the sea.
For me it was paradise.
For the american lady who spent her day complaining to the concierge about the slow internet and the impossibility of getting 4 keys for her room, it seemed hell.
Just a question of standards!

Room Tip: try to get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    48
    24
    16
    10
See reviews for
41
108
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Yes it was oooos and ahhhhs at first sight. It's pretty neat to think about them building a 15th century castle 30 meters down a cliff that looks incredible....from the outside. The gradens and pool/beach grounds are lovely. Neat antiques furnish the reception floor and then deeper and further into the castle it is like the cement basement of the Brady Bunch's house. "oh, how old are the doors?" "30 years old," dunadundunadun! There's a story....of a man named Brady...

I asked where the fitness center was and the staff at the front desk looked at each other and after one said no, the other said, "up and down steps!" ha, ha.

Oh, if you want to go sightseeing and exploring during the daytime, you can't take the hotel shuttle until 5pm and that's if there's not already 8 ppl sitting in it. You can, however walk a dangerous 2.5 miles (I measured it with my running gear) into town, pay 25 Euro for a taxi OR wait for the non puntctual or (non exsistent) SITA bus in the hot sun to pick you up.

It's not the staff's fault that they have the disco basement castle or parked shuttle or lack of routers booming out Internet signal. They're friendly and all, but I feel we were misinformed by my Fellow TripAdvisor reviewers about the five star hotel and the charm of staying In a somewhat lavish castle.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We were greeted with champagne and fruit, our room was beautiful with unparalleled views, the staff were incredibly helpful. I had a lot of trouble with the wi-fi, so don't expect great internet access, but the staff were more than willing to always help me get connected. Really, you can't really expect perfect wi-fi when you're essentially in a mountain!!
The beach was great, the only thing I would have preferred is if they served food and drinks to you on the beach. In Nice, France they did that - came and took our orders periodically - which was lovely! The breakfast is beautiful, the views are second-to-none. I can't rave enough about this hotel. So beautiful, clean and romantic!

Room Tip: If you have difficulty moving around, this may not be the hotel for you. I think the elevators are q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is an extraordinary hotel in an idyllic location served by possibly the most attractive staff I have ever encountered. They greet you by name every time you enter or leave and are very helpful in assisting with directions and booking tours. Dining on that beautiful balcony each morning and enjoying a drink there every night was the perfect way to start or finish a day of rigorous sightseeing. Wander around the ancient castle and explore every interesting nook, alley, staircase and grotto on the hotel grounds. Take plenty of pictures with the knights in armor. The hotel offers a free shuttle into town and there is also a public bus stop directly in front of the hotel which could take you into any of the bordering towns (although ferries from Amalfi’s port are the preferred mode of transport). I didn’t even rent a car during my entire 8-day stay. To get there from Naples Airport, I used Seahorse Car Service. Worth every dime. (€55 for a shared shuttle/private transfers also available). http://www.seahorsecarservice.com/

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay here. The service was good, the Restaurent was great!
Being in an ancient fortress on a cliff was so much fun. The views from our balcony and all around the site were spectacular. The private beach was perfect! Beautiful pool with amazing views as well. A few minutes from Amalfi so nice and quiet. Room was cozy. Maybe some furniture and updates in the room decor could be nice but other then that all was good! We would go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

Sure you could stay at a high priced hotel like the surinese, Caruso or Catarina, but if you can't spend multiple thousands this hotel is nice enough. All the other reviews say its not near Amalfi...true Ina sense buts is about only a 1.75 mile walk. I know that most people could actually use that walk... And if not brave enough you can take the almost hourly bus downtown. The beach, pool and our room have an amazing view, absolutely breath taking. The room and hotel itself are a little antiquated but considering everything else it makes due. The rooms are kept clean and towels, linens refreshed. I like not having staff all over me, and I like not eating at the hotel so we have not tried it. I would recommend this hotel even more if a little cheaper since at this point it certainly is no longer a five star.

Another point is that's the staff that has been present has been helpful and courteous, no complaints.

Room Tip: Get a sea view no matter what, otherwise stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

Pros: The view, unique setting, beach and pool, lovely staff...
Cons: The shuttle bus schedule was annoying. Apparently the driver was having some issues, so no shuttles ran to/from Amalfi between 11am and 5pm.

The location is spectacular. It was hard to get to but well worth it and its only about 5-10 minutes from Amalfi and 20 minutes from Positano.

Wow, what a perfect hotel for our honeymoon! It could not be more idyllic. After spending a few days in Rome, it was great to come to Il Saraceno and relax with the best views. The private balcony lets you soak them in. Because it is an old Arab fort, the architecture and decor is to die for. Don't let the cheesy logo fool you, it is what is inside that matters. We didn't find it tacky, only lovely and so unique. There are tons of antiques everywhere that make it so special.
Without a car (and with that crazy drive, skip it!), you can get to Il Saraceno via the following:
-Train to Salerno; in the Salerno train station speak to the "travel agency" desk downstairs to buy a SITA bus ticket. The woman is very helpful with questions. The bus runs about once an hour.
-Wait for the bus to Amalfi to arrive and then throw your bags onto the bus as soon as you possibly can. Space is competitive. Once on the bus, you must stamp your ticket in the machine next to the driver.
-Sit down! the ride is harrowing but beautiful!
-At the end of the line in Amalfi, if before 11am or after 5pm, Il Saraceno's shuttle arrives right next to the taxis near the Flavio Gioia statue.
-Il Saraceno is only about 5 minutes from Amalfi and there is a SITA stop in front, too, if the shuttle isn't running.
We loved the location away from the cruise ship tourists though some may dislike it. We loved the restaurant for dinner. The staff are so wonderful- we already miss Fortunato and Salvatore!

Room Tip: A balcony is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Address: Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Conca dei Marini
#5 Romantic Hotel in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Saraceno Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.