We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Expedia.com
and 8 more sites!
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Kennebunkport, Maine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Love this Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We had a great visit for a week at Il Saracino. A phenomenal view and a great room! Highly recommend this beautiful hotel. It is in a great location with a handy shuttle on the hour to Amalfi. The floral arrangements throughout the hotel are absolutely beautiful. the service was excellent!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    42
    20
    15
    8
See reviews for
29
87
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johor Bahru Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

I was with my Italian friend travel from North to South, we did check a few hotels there, when my friend went in and saw the view of this Hotel, he got attracted to this hotel's view and was So....excited, then we decided to stay, it cost about Rm6++ included breakfast Wifi ect, they have private beach and swimming pool, from your room to these places you'll have to take lift, in there is like a Castle, if you don't want to have your dinner in hotel, you may try to go their town in the night, a lot restaurants there, and do a city walk, quite romantic, is not very big but you can see how their local people live.

How to reach this hotel?
By Car
You can get to the hotel taking the highway A3, Salerno- Reggio Calabria exit Vietri Sul Mare, then follow along the Amalfi coast, when you arrive at Amalfi continue towards Positano, the hotel is just 3 km from the centre of Positano.
By train
There are several conexions from all the italian cities to Salerno, where is possible to take buses from the SITA ( direction Positano - Sorrento) that takes you directly to the hotel.
By airplane
From the airport of Naples Capodicchino there is a shuttle service to the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The hotel is located on the Amalfitan Coast, a few miles close to the city of Amalfi. It´s an old fortress converted into a hotel, built on the coast. When you arrive, you´ll park on the hotel´s roof, which is on the road´s level. Then you climb down the cliff (stairs or elevators), from the reception past the restaurants, the room´s floors, the pool, until the beach level where there is another restaurant. The ocean view is absolutely astonishing. The rooms are large, clean and comfortable, altough a litlle old-fashioned. The food is also great, from breakfast to dinner. We were there on our honeymoon, loved it and will surely be back!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

We almost changed our booking because of the negative reviews. However we were pleasantly surprised. The room was nice and clean with a well-equipped bathroom and the hotel location was lovely. I like to swim so really enjoyed the pool. As past reviews have pointed out the breakfast and food generally not to be recommended but we just ate out. You can get a 24 hr bus ticket at the hotel reception and the bus stops outside the hotel (providing you wave your arms about enough) We did find the price of taxi’s ridiculous and some of the bus drivers not very helpful. The hotel staff were pleasant and friendly. I took a travel kettle so made my own tea in the room as I am a tea addict…not sure if the staff were aware of that or not but nothing was said..

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

Do not know how anybody can call this hotel. We have just stayed 4 nights there and all I can say is wow. It was a fantastic experience. Room was lovely even though we had booked late and got one of the smallest rooms, it was still spacious. Very clean. Service was second to none and the receptionists were very, very helpful. We had come over for a wedding and it just made the time so special. Very unusual, set on an arab type theme which was very elaborate. Parking was valet parking which was great. Also there is a curtesy bus to and from amalfi free of charge, which we used a few times even though we had hired a car. Needed to go to the hairdressers on the day of wedding and the driver from the coach took me there and came back for me afterwards now thats what I call service. If you want a romantic holiday in a fab hotel and beautiful area go to this hotel. Defo 5 stars...

Room Tip: Book early so that you can choose the room you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This was our second visit to this hotel. We stayed in 2005 & in August this year with family who travelled all the way from Australia. We really enjoyed our stay this year and would definately retun to this hotel again and would recommend it to friends & family as long as they don't have very young children...too many steps for toddlers. We were pleasantly surprised to see that many of the staff were the same after 6 years and they were all friendly and spoke very good english. We went last minute so couldn't get a room with a balcony but our room was large, bright & had amazing views. The bathrooms had been updated since our last stay and had all mod cons and were very well equipped & immaculate. We had lunch once at the beach restaurant and dinner one evening at the main restaurant both meals were very good and the service was excellent. The hotel has its own beach which is a bonus on this coast & a little bar although the sun does leave it early evening which is a shame. We would recommend getting a little boat to one of the restaurants along the beach for a fabulous lunch over looking Amalfi. There is a free minibus into Amalfi which takes less than 10 minutes which is useful but could be more frequent. Don't bother with Taxis to or from Amalfi as they are a rip off, the public bus stops outside the hotel & is 2 euros each way & we managed to get one well after midnight. Another great tip is to get the bus to Positano which is a fun but hair raising experience with great views!!! When you want to return get the water taxi back to Amalfi this means you don't have the long climb back up to the road. The hotel also arranged a great boat trip along the coast & to Capri for us only 50 euros each we were picked up & returned from the hotel beach. A wonderful day! I would definately choose this hotel over some actually in Amalfi as it really is in a stunning location & has great history and can be extremely quiet and peaceful, a wonderful stay. The only reason we did not give this hotel a 5 star is because the service at the bar was very poor, even with only a few people there it takes a long time to get served and the atmosphere was a little strange with tinny radio station blaring out. It had such a beautiful terrace its a shame they don't make more of it. Also breakfast was a very good buffet but let down by slow service for tea & coffee which you really need in the morning as there are no facilities in the room & no fresh juices. However we would definately go again it was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

We booked this hotel based on tripadvisor reviews which were quite mixed so thought it only fair to add our own experience to the pot. Il Saraceno is a very special place, stunningly situated hugging the dramatic cliffs about 2km beyond Amalfi. The decor is 'saracen' themed but also very beautiful with lovely old pieces of furniture. It was a treat to escape the identikit dull hotel room furnishings. We booked a superior sea view room which had an enormous balcony with a truly stunning view. The rest of the hotel is set into the cliff face on various levels which is a little confusing but adds to the quirkiness. There is a pebble beach with very clear water which can be reached by a lift and a nice looking pool which we didn't try as preferred the beach. The staff are lovely and very attentive. This is an amazing and unique place to stay but won't suit everyone's taste and is also probably better suited for couples. We would definitely return given the opportunity.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Il Saraceno Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Saraceno Grand Hotel

Also Known As:
Il Saraceno Grand Amalfi
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel Italy/Amalfi Coast - Conca Dei Marini
Address: Via Augustariccio, 33, 84011 Conca dei Marini, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Conca dei Marini
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 hotels in Conca dei Marini
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Il Saraceno Grand Hotel 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Saraceno Grand Hotel is located on the road from Amalfi to Positano, at 2 miles from Amalfi, on the most spectacular bay of the Amalfi Coast. All rooms with sea view, private beach, swimming pool, private parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Il Saraceno Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Saraceno Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Il Saraceno Grand Hotel to your Saves list