We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anchovies are actually delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acquapazza

Acquapazza
Corso Garibaldi 38, Cetara, Italy
089261606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Cetara
Price range: $49 - $74
Cuisines: Delicatessen, Mediterranean, Wine Bar, Chowder
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Anchovies are actually delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

This restaurant has given me a new found appreciation of anchovies (a fish I previously avoided at all costs). We were staying in Ravello for four days but decided to head to Cetera after a recommendation from a local to eat in Acqua Pazza. After a lazy morning spent on the beach at Cetera we headed over to Acqua Pazza for a late lunch and were given a friendly welcome from the restaurant's owner, who spoke excellent English. The restaurant was packed with locals on a weekday lunch time, which was encouraging. I had a starter of fried anchovies and we were also given a complimentary, alternative anchovy starter, as we were being indecisive and wanted to try everything! For the main course, I had a delicious Tuna bolognese with wonderful fresh pasta. Finally, to finish off we sampled an array of fantastic home made ice creams.
The restaurant has friendly staff,delicious fresh food and comes highly recommended. It will certainly give you a new appreciation of anchovies!!!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    113
    38
    25
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good plage for a dinner”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

The place is very nice, both the outdoor and indoor space. You are in the center of Cetara, few walks from the sea. The speciality of course is fish... and especially the "Colatura di alici", basically a hyper concentrated oli with alici fish taste. This is perfect with the different kind of pasta they have. Also nice were the desserts.
Highly recommended

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We had a wonderful meal at Acquapazza in June. The service was great, the staff lovely, the setting is cozy and comfortable, the Gennarro's charming, and the food wonderful. A "must" experience if you enjoy seafood!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wow! Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

All 7 of our party say this is the best food we ate during our 3 week Amalfi Coast trip. Firstly lovely setting in pretty Cetara town. Service was great and the owner's passion for his home town and food featuring local seafood specialities is wonderful. The menu is simple (one page) and based around the fresh produce of the day (seafood of course)! The fresh home prepared anchovies were unlike anything we have tasted before (who would have known that's what anchovies are supposed to taste like). The fresh fish - cod, sea bass and St Pieters were so fresh and prepared so that the flavour of the fish was not overpowered! And of course... desserts... don't miss the lemon, chocolate or apple cakes (warm). One tip is come earlier in the evening, say around 7pm in summer, so that you can still getting parking down near the marina. Then you can sit in the piazza for an hour or so and watch Cetara life... until the restaurant opens. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“If your a woman expect to be seated in the corner with slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

With over 12 empty tables they attemted to seat woman in the corner near the water bar and cashier station. Then when that didn't work for us and we recieved an ok table our service took over 40 minutes. The service was poor at best and this was a vacation dinner with friends. Not soon forgotten what a poor experience they provided. The kitchen did provide good food. When the hottie hostess was told that seating us in the corner didn't work she was dumb struck.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Acquapazza also viewed

Cetara, Amalfi Coast
 
Cetara, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Acquapazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acquapazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.