We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely quiet hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'argine Fiorito

Save Saved
You added L'argine Fiorito to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
L'argine Fiorito
Via Dei Dogi 45, Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Atrani
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quiet hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Family run hotel in a very peaceful location. Short walk up from Atrani square with some steps, perhaps 20. Good breakfast, people friendly and helpful. Very relaxing, pleasant stay - I'd go back. If you like touristy glitz stay in Amalfi but if you like peace and relaxation Atrani is perfect and L'argine Fiorito is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
3
28
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very fussy about no laundry in the room, and not too cheerful. Nice breakfast. Can't use the terrace because you might make noise. Cool location but a long walk up the hill. Use the tunnel from Amalfi.

Room Tip: Having a window with a little balcony is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed five nights in this quaint little hotel in July. It was pleasant but didn't feel it was run by natural hospitality people. I'm not sure what the deal was with the couple running it but it felt like they were doing a job because they had to do it, not welcoming people to their home as the best hoteliers do.

We caught the coast bus to Amalfi and after making enquiries were told Atrani was only 500 metres up the road. It was a steep hill and I had read about lots of stairs being involved so I asked a cab driver how much it would be. 20 Euro, he said, which made me laugh. We still had time left on the ticket we had bought in Sorrento, so we caught a local bus instead. It really is a short distance; in hindsight we could have dragged our bags up the hill with some effort,and yes there are stairs but they are also do-able. Don't bother with catching a 20 Euro cab.

The hotel was clean and airy and had (according to the brochure) natural air-conditioning. That is, you have to leave the window open. That's okay because they provide you with insect repellent. Fortunately the insect repellent either worked or there were no mosquitos. Although we did have an ant infestation due to a spilled drink one night.

There was also no refrigerator, although one was provided for an additional charge of 5 Euro a night. Given that this was not the cheapest hotel we had stayed in (115 Euro a night) I think they could have thrown in the refrigerator. Other guests were also unhappy with the additional 20 Euro a night for a parking space.

There are no laundry facilities for guests and there was a sign making it very clear that washing clothing in the bathroom was strictly prohibited and if you disobeyed this rule a surcharge would be added to your bill, because there is a landromat just down the road that charges reasonable rates.

Breakfast was basic but fine... yoghurt, pastries and fruit (bread rolls lasted two days on occasion) and some music would not go astray to add a bit of warmth.

All in all, as quiet and relaxing as it was (aside from the massive festival in Atrani involving fireworks at 8am and music into the night... a lot of fun, actually), five nights was probably too long to stay in this hotel. Good if you want to get away from noise but with a 10 minute walk into Amalfi, still very central.

The best hotels make you feel welcome from the start; this one just felt very much like a small business that looked like a hotel. Not exactly Fawlty Towers, but with an injection of little heart and soul it could live up to its potential and be something pretty special.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of staying at L'argine Fiorito near the end of June. The room was very clean and our stay was very nice. The owner was very accommodating and the breakfast buffet offered a good selection of fruit, yogurt, sweets and such. Atrani is not a touristy place so, if you want a place that's off the beaten path and friendly, this is the place. L'argine Fiorito is a short walk from the piazza where there are a couple of restaurants and a bar. A few minutes walk away (through the new pedestrian tunnel) is Amalfi with even more choice for food and drink.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA, USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Atrani is a ten minute walk from the hustle and bustle of Amalfi. The hotel is located at the end of the main road in Atrani, approximately 200 meters from the coast road. The hotel is quiet and comfortable. There is a waterfall next to the hotel. Even sleeping with the windows open there is not traffic noise.
The laundromat in town is closed on Sunday. The hotel does not want guests hand washing clothes in the room.

Room Tip: The waterfall room is noisiest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

Me and my wife went here for a one week stay at our honeymoon. I really cant think of a more romantic place to spend a honeymoon. In the beginning we kept on thinking, whats the catch, whats the catch, but there simply wasn't any!!! Atrani itself was just perfect for a romantic stay as well, really good food, only italian tourists (almost), local fish, beautiful and easy to get to places nearby by boat, feet or bus. Don't even consider Amalfi town, Atrani is much better....

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2011

Elia and Alfonso looked after us so well - attentive to our needs at all times in this family owned and run small hotel. Our spotless, shady, cared for and tastefully decorated room, Rosa, looked out onto a waterfall which provided all the natural airconditioning claimed in the brochure. The "residence" is a restored part of an ancient pasta mill set in a garden next to the mill stream in a secluded spot at the end of Atrani's main street. The local beach is a few hundred metres away for early morning swims - an easy five minutes walk down hill and a mite longer for the walk back.

Huge fresh croissants and seven types of jam are the centrepiece of breakfast. To supplement these, cereals, bread rolls, pieces of cake and ripe fruit and juices are set out a few feet away on a sideboard. We settled for Lipton's tea and green tea so didn't try the coffee but it did smell good! It's a generous breakfast and perfectly adequate to satisfy the biggest of appetites.

Sweet, shy Elia seems to be the maid of all work in this business and never seems to have a day off. Her brother, Alfonso, is the business manager and is the more chatty one. He will be delighted to tell you the local history and show you the shards of pottery, bottles and clay pipes dug up during the mill's restoration. You may also meet others of the family, parents and uncles, either here or in town.

Atrani itself is unusual for the Amalfi Coast in still retaining a local feel. Amongst all the locals, most of the visitors to the restaurants in the village square will be Neapolitan weekenders or regular visitors - the cognoscenti.

Ravello is a must to visit. Amalfi with its bus station and ferry port is only a fifteen minute walk away and has the trappings associated with mass tourism though, thankfully, no theme park yet.

If you are moderately fit and can cope with the steps, do try some of the local walks. Alfonso has a selection of free guides. We love the walk up the Valley dei Mulini from Amalfi with its ruins, flora and fauna, its lizards by the score and even more waterfalls.

L'Argine Fiorito is a special place, a well kept secret. Enjoy it, and keep it that way.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to L'argine Fiorito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'argine Fiorito

Address: Via Dei Dogi 45, Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your L'argine Fiorito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l Argine Fiorito Atrani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'argine Fiorito, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.