We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious authentic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mistral

Mistral
P.zza Umberto 1, 84010 Atrani, Italy
+39 089 872827
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 13 Restaurants in Atrani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Chowder, Pizza & Pasta, Pasta
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Toronto
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious authentic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The food at Mistral was fantastic, and reasonably priced. The catch of the day (Pezzogna, Sea Bream?) was perfectly poached and delicious. The staff was super friendly, and it was a great experience eating in Atrani's town square.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    26
    6
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant food, let down a little by the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was one of our best meals of our trip through Sicily and the Amalfi coast, which is saying something as Italy is not short of a good restaurant or two. Starters were very good (I had anchovies, my wife had fish parmigiana) but the real stars were the main courses. My selection of grilled local fish was fresh, delicious, large and great value. That dish alone was the best I had on our whole trip.
Sadly it was let down by less than great service. We ordered 3 starters but only received 2, despite being told the 3rd was on it's way, the wait between main course and desert was long to the point of ridiculous, we would have eaten more but got bored waiting. Having watched how long other diners waited before being offered desert, I am pretty sure we had simply been forgotten about, which is not really forgivable given we were the only ones left in the restaurant.
Service gripes aside, an absolutely brilliant meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
733 reviews 733 reviews
503 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 179 cities Reviews in 179 cities
340 helpful votes 340 helpful votes
“Fabulous for lunch....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Marinated anchovies, freshly made pizza and house wine; a fabulous lunch in a beautiful piazza...

Could not fault it :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a small, family-run restaurant with very friendly staff and an excellent range of fresh local seafood and pasta. It was the cheapest place we ate in all week and certainly the best value. Try the catch of the day! The position in the corner of the square, just by the fountain is perfect and it's a great place to sample the simple delights of Atrani after a day in bustling Amalfi.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashwater, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect authentic restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited this restaurant every night of our weeks stay in Atrani. We discovered it by accident on our first night & were so impressed with the service & the food we didn't feel the need to go anywhere else! The square it is in is very lively, with alot of children running around while their parents enjoyed a drink. They were all Italians & the same people were there every night which probably indicates they were locals. This all added to the authentic feel. The waiter were just delightful & their English was very good thankfully as I'm ashamed to say my Italian is awful.Would recommend highly.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mistral also viewed

 
Atrani, Amalfi Coast
Atrani, Amalfi Coast
 

Been to Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.