We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hidden gem of a hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ferraioli

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ferraioli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Palazzo Ferraioli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campo, 16, 84010 Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Atrani
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great hidden gem of a hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband & I stayed in Atrani over 10 years ago and loved it, so when we knew we were returning to the Amalfi coast we immediately looked for a hotel here.
The Palazzo Ferraioli is a lovely hotel - yes it is very hard to find the first time as all the reviews say (walk into the square & then look for a little tunnel/staircase on the left just at the end of the shops/ cafes on the left. It's signed Via Campo which is the "street" the hotel is on, then follow the signs.) There are lots of steps up so probably not suitable for those with very young children or if you have limited mobility, but otherwise it's not too bad & all that walking helps to work up an appetite for dinner! The hotel is close to the bus stop so good for day trips to Ravello etc and a reasonable (& pleasant) walk round the headland to Amalfi for all the restaurants and sights.

The hotel itself is very clean & decorated to a high standard throughout. The staff we found to be friendly & helpful, on the evening of our first stay there was a problem with the hot water supply meaning a cold shower for us (reviving but a little too bracing!!) when we returned from our evening out we found a note from the management awaiting us apologising for the inconvenience. Staff on reception were happy to help with bus times, places to get fuel for our car etc

Parking is always going to be a problem somewhere like this, however the Luna Rossa Parking is only a couple of minutes walk away (beware though if you pay upfront for several days parking & you take out your car, you aren't guaranteed a space when you get back. This happened to us on a Saturday and we had to queue to get back into a space as the carpark was full). The hotel will valet park for you but at €5 more per day than in the Luna Rossa parking.

The room was lovely with a sea view, large comfy bed & clean bathroom. There is a roof terrace with sunbeds etc & the only thing you might wish for is a swimming pool of some kind, however the beach is only a 5 minute walk away for a dip in the sea & the hotel will provide beach towels to borrow.

The breakfast was continental style with a very extensive selection of fruit, cold meats, bread, pastries & amazing cakes. There is a limited choice of hot food (various egg dishes) but with the variety of cold breakfast on offer we didn't consider it. There were some lovely fresh juices as well as a good selection of teas & freshly made coffee, cappucino etc.

Overall if you're looking for a hotel close to Amalfi but in a quieter, less "touristy" location you could do worse than book yourself in here for a few nights. We'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    31
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
94
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here only for one night on our way to Malta. The room (Sharon Stone) was beautifully decorated, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom very clean with great shower. Breakfast was ok, limited variety of hot food, but this is typical for all all Italian hotels. However the watermelon was unbelievable... The best one I have ever tried! And variety of cakes and pastries was fantastic. The hotel is very close to a beautiful beach but we didn't have a chance to spend much time there. On the final and more important note, the management of the hotel was so professional - we forgot all our passports at the hotel and realized this problem only after 500 km drive from the hotel. But the manager solved this issue easily - in Italy each train is attended by the police officer, so our passports were safely put on the train with the police officer and were sent to the city on the border with Sicily. So in a few hours we received our passports at the train police station without any trouble. We were very happy about the whole adventure! So we highly recommend this hotel and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuerten
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

It has been my second stay in the Palazzo Ferraioli. And this time: I found it right away! Great room with a view to picturesque town as well as to the sea. Nice staff, beautiful rooms and a fantastic bathroom. One of the biggest upsides has been the new parking which takes away the pain of finding a spot to park your rental when coming back from a trip to Ravello, Sorrento or another great spot at the Costiera Amalfitana. Atrani itself is a gem for Italy Lovers - Noisy, beautiful, with a lot of charme and great spots or dinner. A bondage of the two hands will lead to a cut of any conversation ;-) Wonderful! But don't go there, if you are looking for a calm and slow place!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We initially had a classic room (408). It was dark, view of a window, broken wardrobe and not considered a 4 star. There was also a smell of urine but think that was due to the rain a few hours before. We asked for another room the next day and was shown the room next door, another classic room, which was lighter and looked on to a courtyard but we also thought this was overpriced. My friend also had a bad cough so we were offered an upgrade to a room overlooking the sea which we obviosly loved.
Receptionist was always polite and professional despite our complaints. One night my friend had bad stomach cramps and the night receptionist was very helpful even making us camomile tea.
Breakfast was continental and very good with friendly staff.
The rooms with a view are great but we thought overpriced when compared to other 4 star hotels so would not stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What can I say, your breath will be taken away if its your first visit to the amalfi coast..just picturesque this place! There's only one narrow coastal road from one end (Salerno) to the other (Sorrento),which passes all points (Atrani,Amalfi,Positano), definitely not for the queasy but you really have no choice anyways (ferry is more €€ option). Hotel in 'Atrani', next stop is 'Amalfi', and 20 mins later is the 'Positano' stop.
Staff will help you carry your bags up the 80+ comfortable steps from the Atrani bus stop up to the hotel,but why do people complain,it just takes 3-4 mins. Now the service? HORRIBLE,WORST SERVICE I've experienced in Italy.Staff won't even acknowledge your standing there,let alone greet you or give a smile at least. People living in this region are just sick of the place (claim rent is high,so?). When you pay 250$ a night and get bad service,that's not cool. I couldn't stand the receptionist,this one lady with glasses,Antonella I think her name is. Incompetent annoying receptionist. Good luck asking her for directions,she pulled out 5 maps and 20 flyers and just got us more confused. Breakfast was missing much food,you literally have to ask them to refill the platter before they think about flinching a finger.

Whatever,don't let that phase you,just talk to people when you really need something. Enjoy the scenery,it's a one of a kind place. Food is not so special if you've already been to Calabria,very touristic and not so fresh. The best experience we had was going for drinks at the bar in Hotel Carusso in Ravello...it's a near 6 star hotel,dress up and go there for a drink if you don't mind splurging, definitely worth it! The service and views are just incomparable!

Conclusion: yes,even though service wasn't the best,Palazzio Ferraioli is a beautiful hotel with wonderful views.Ignore people they'll just make your day worse..go for sandwiches and little bites as opposed to getting ripped off at touristic restaurants.

Room Tip: ask for the Nicole room (as in Nicole Kidman),has a jacuzzi literally in the room with a 50-inch pla...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stayed at the Palazzo Ferraioli for 6 days on our honeymoon.Really nice hotel though difficult to find. We came by boat from Sorrento- Amalfi. And the map we got with the hotel booking was really basic with no street names.We ended up walking up and down stairs for 30 min (in 30 + degrees with backpacks) until a local showed us to the main square and then a shop keeper in the square showed us the rest of the way to the hotel. Thank god for friendly Italians.

A tip for finding the hotel from Amalfi (on foot) is that from the Amalfi port or bus station take the busy road on your right. Walk along side the right side of the road by the sea until you reach a car tunnel and restaurant. Walk through the restaurants open air café and then down the steps and take the road on your right again. Walk down the road until you reach the beaches. Down by the car park and the walls leading into the square and Atrani there is a sign for the entrance to the hotel.

Now back to the hotel. Nice hotel with a really fantastic view. We had a room with a Jacuzzi. Really romantic sitting in the tube with a glass of wine taking in the view. Breakfast was good. Continental breakfast with a big plus for the fresh fruit salad. If you have a sweet tooth the cakes on the buffe where amazing. You could get an English breakfast to, but that was not included and the prices where high.

Good location for exploring nearby destinations in the Amalfi coast. The staff in the reception where really helpful and had timetables for buses and boats going to other parts of the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Just spent 5 days at this cute, quaint resort in the cute quaint resort town of Atrani, just a 5 minute walk from Amalfi, high up on the Amalfi Coast.
The staff and service was always friendly and attentive. We arrived late at night, got off the bus at about 10:00pm, and there was a hotel worker waiting at the bus stop to help us with our suitcases! (there are dozens of steps to get up to the hotel - great exercise on a daily basis, but maybe not so easy if you have to carry heavy suitcases - so the hotel is ready and willing to help you. Just give them a call when you're about to arrive).
Great view of cliffs and local Atrani residences, and the sea, if you request french balcony and sea view room. The little town square offers several places to eat, and of course the requisite gelato offerings.
Breakfast at the hotel was very good as well.
Rooms were clean and comfortable enough. And the price was right!
Highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for french balcony with sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Ferraioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ferraioli

Address: Via Campo, 16, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Ferraioli 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Ferraioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ferraioli Hotel Atrani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ferraioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.