We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Ferraioli

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Ferraioli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Palazzo Ferraioli
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Campo, 16, 84010 Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Atrani
london
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Loved it, highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of a 10-day trip to Rome, Sorrento, and Amalfi/Atrani. We decided to go for Atrani because we felt we would get more bang for our buck in terms of hotels if we went slightly outside of Amalfi and we were right. For the same money in Amalfi we couldn't have got anything nearly as fabulous. The hotel is quite new and decorated in a modern style with a really boutique-hotel feel. We had a double superior room with sea view that looked out over the sea on one side and the town on the other; the room was huge, spotlessly clean, and with a jacuzzi bath in the corner! Atrani itself is small with not much going on at all; the entire town, much like Amalfi, is built on the steep hillside so to get anywhere you have to walk up and down lots of steps through little narrow alleys which are pretty cool. But we never got properly lost and we did manage to find a nice place to eat in the main square (Mistral restaurant). Service was good and internet was free - though we could only get it to work in the bar area. There is no pool but you are a short walk from a small beach where you can hire sun loungers and swim in the sea. The whole of Atrani loses the sun quite early in the evening though (about 5.30 pm in June) as it moves round behind the cliffs - so although the hotel has a roof terrace we didn't actually use it in the end - it was far too hot during the day but a bit chilly when the sun went in at night.
It's really easy to get around. You can walk to Amalfi in 10-15 minutes - though that will depend on how fit you are as you have to go up about 180 steps and down the other side. The steps were a bit of a nightmare when it came to getting our luggage up to the hotel, though the hotel does have a porter who can help you but we didn't know this till we got there. We got a bus from Amalfi to Atrani (takes about 2 minutes and all the buses going east stop in Atrani) and then managed by ourselves but if you call the hotel from the bus stop I think the porter will come down and get you as the entrance to the hotel is also up quite a lot of steps.
My only complaint was that the breakfast was a bit lacking in choice - there was a lot of very good cake and the pains-au-chocolat were amazing, but there was no cooked option, only cold meat and cheese, and only a small choice of cereal, fruit and yoghurt if you wanted something healthy. There did seem to be a restaurant but it never seemed to be open at all apart from at breakfast.
Apart from those minor gripes overall this was my favourite of the hotels we stayed in in Italy and I would definitely stay here again if we ever went back.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    34
    13
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
85
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2011

Hotel Palazzo Ferraioli is a very nice hotel in situated in the fantastic location of the town of Atrani. The views from the rooms are very nice, the staff is extremely accomodating, and the breakfast was great. However, this hotel was quite exensive and for the price they need to make a few minor adjustments. First, the hotel does not have an iron and refuses to provide one. Second, the air conditioning is controlled by the front desk and is set at a very high temperature, which means you have to constantly call the front desk to request them to turn it down. Finally, while the internet is free, the password is only good for a few hours, which means you have to constantly request a new username and password. While my wife and I would stay in Palazzo Ferraioli again, we would probably not pay such a high price and perhaps seach for a B & B next time.

Room Tip: Ask for room 301, 401, or 501
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed in Atrani for 4 nights at the beginning of our trip to Italy. We wanted to experience the rugged Amalfi coast by day, but return to a hotel with modern conveniences at night. Palazzo Ferraioli was a great choice. The room was spotless and well furnished. Our sea view room had two beautiful windows looking out on the ocean. The housekeeping services were fantastic - sheets were changed every night. The service was friendly and professional -- I stupidly left my wallet with my passport, cash and credit cards in the rental car without realizing it...until the valet knocked on our door to hand it to me because he said he thought it looked important. Awesome. The rooftop terrace is enormous and offers breathtaking view of the sea and the town. Cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Get the Liza Minelli room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Atrani is a great place to stay, only 15 minutes from Amalfi. In Atrani we stayed in Palazzo Ferraioli: a characterfull palazzo that we recently renovated. The combination of new and old is great with superb views over Atrani (book a room with seaview). We had a great room with Jacquzi in the room. Staff is very friendly and helpfull, also with luggage and parking. They will park the car and when you need it they make sure it is ready, so you do not have to look for parking yourself. Great location, great hotel.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

This hotel was GREAT !!! My wife and I stayed there in Oct 2010 on our honeymoon for 3 nights. The hotel was very clean and modern. We had a room on the top floor, in the front corner overlooking the sea. The staff was great and very helpful. They met us on the main road and brought our bags up to the hotel for us. They were generous with the internet, though other hotels in Italy on our trip were not. The breakfast was standard but good. I also really liked the fact that we were in Atrani and not Amalfi. We could walk to Amalfi in 10 minutes, but we didnt have to deal with the crowds and noise of Amalfi. I cant recommend this hotel enough. It was really great.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

After 5 sensational nights at Palazzio Ferraioli we have nothing but praise for this fantastic hotel. The hotel itself is located in the historic Atrani, a 10 minute walk from Amalfi central. The recently renovated hotel has generous sized rooms, we stayed in Liza, with 2 floor to ceiling balcony areas provided undisturbed views of the sea and also the church with a back drop of the sea.

The service from the staff, especially Antonella, was beyond any expectations. Upon arrival at the hotel we informed Antonella that one of our bags had been lost during transit - without request she asked for the baggage number and followed this up immediately. The bag was transported to the hotel all on her instructions with no further input required from us.

Location, venue and setting are amazing. If you are considering staying in Atrani versus Amalfi we would thoroughly recommend Atrani as it is more authentic, quiet, romantic and as mentioned a mere 10 minute walk away.

Things you should know when considering this hotel:

- New facilities including a lift once in the hotel
- There are stairs to access the hotel, this may be a challenge to those that have mobility issues. The staff are extremely courteous and will assist with baggage as we witnessed
- The beds are generous in size but my personal experience not the best quality sleep
- The air conditioning is effective but at night does get warm, a call to reception fixed this every time *
- the breakfast is adequate and nothing to write home about. fresh coffee and tea is made and the quality of the food is unquestionable
- the view is amazing, especially if you get room 401 or 501
- the staff, from our experience, were all friendly and more than willing to assist in any way possible
- the relaxation massage is not something we would recommend - in hindsight it was not great value for money
- if you need to do laundry walk it over to the little shop yourself

The hotel is funky and fresh, the blue lighting theme is novel. As you can read, we had a great experience at this hotel - being off season was even better as it was more private and public services more accessible.

* each room has an industrial Daikin air conditioner and control panel but these are set to be centrally controlled - reception can allow you to control the settings but you have to ask

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2010

The hotel had only been open for a short time when we stayed there and there were some improvements to be made. The staff was a bit novice but very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was not up to standard, but that is hardly unusual in an italian hotel. If you are seriously interested in design you will be disappointed but our room still had a beautiful view over Atrani and the sea and a very nice bathroom. We prefer to stay at hotels with more history and personality but there are not many places to choose from in Atrani, which is a great place! Atrani is very pretty with mostly italian families at the small beach and piazza and Amalfi, which is a lot more touristic, is only 10 min away on foot.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Ferraioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Ferraioli

Address: Via Campo, 16, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Palazzo Ferraioli 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Palazzo Ferraioli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Ferraioli Hotel Atrani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Ferraioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.