We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dream time...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scogliera

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Scogliera to your Saves list
La Scogliera
Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Atrani B&B and Inns
Umbertide
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Dream time...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We loved our Yellow Room, the views from our balcony right above the sea, overlooking the Gulf of Salerno watching all the boats, large and small, go by, delicious breakfasts in the dining room with spectacular ceiling decoration, and especially our most warm and charming hosts Pino and Pina. Atrani itself is like a little operetta set, and has several very good restaurants. A short walk across the road and through a pedestrian tunnel leads to Amalfi, with lots of pretty, quite touristy shops, many more places to eat, beautiful cathedral and main piazza, very good bus and boat links to other towns along the Amalfi coast. We loved our stay - the ease of getting about but not in the thick of the tourist trail. It was a dream, and every night and morning we were lulled by the sound of the sea below.

Room Tip: Blue Room, previously much recommended, has a double aspect bay windows, but we were very happy with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
190
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

I stayed here for a few nights in October 2013. The room was excellent and the price unbeatable. Philipo and his brother were very accomodating. My room had large bay doors that opened up to a cute little alley in the town, very nice. It's literally a 2 minute walk from the main (only?) piazza in town and the little beach.

Room Tip: Many of the photos depict balconies with an ocean view. I'm not sure where these rooms are loca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

Whilst the reviews were a rave about La Scogliera Rooms, I just booked a couple of nights as a quick rest stop on a 4 week tour of Italy. After being there for 30minutes, I wanted to stay for the balance of our trip. I tried everything to coax a room out of Pina and Pino, but they are booked solid!
Firstly the hosts - Pina and Pino. They are warm, beautiful and so hospitable. You could not ask for better hosts. On our day of departure we were going to get the ferry from Amalfi to Sorrento and a storm came over therefore we could not catch the ferry. Pino tried to get his driver to take us but at such short notice was unavailable. Pino's son Marco, whom is as warm and friendly as his parents, took us. We were so grateful!

The breakfast is great and can be enjoyed on your balcony or in the main dining/lounge area.
We stayed in the blue room and wow - what a view! The room was immaculate, had everything we could need and the bed was comfortable. Also I want to add it was a bargain price considering other hotels in the area.

Atrani is a very special little place on earth. Only a 300m walk to the bustle of Amalfi if you feel like some action, but I would recommend Atrani, especially for some down time.

Pina & Pino - Grazie e ci vedremo di nuovo in due anni di tempo.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

In August 2013, we travelled around southern Italy and stayed in Atrani for a week. Besides the fact that Atrani itself is a lovely and quiet place, we LOVED the La Scogliera Rooms where we stayed for seven nights. The hosts, senior Pino and his wife Pina, are very nice and friendly people. They treated us in the way as though we were their family members. Every morning Pino asked us about our plans and advised us the best way to get to the place where were planning to go to. He provided us with maps and directions. Atrani is conveniently located on the coast. You can easily get to Ravello, Positano, Sorrento, Capri Island and other places by both bus and boat. You can always ask Pino and Pina for advice which restaurant to go to for lunch or dinner and they will help you to book a table. The rooms are pretty, neat, clean and look exactly like in the photos on their website. La Scogliera Rooms are located right above the sea. Every night we fell asleep while listening to the sound of the sea. And this beautiful sound woke us in the morning. Our stay in Atrani turned out to be the best part of our trip around Italy. If you ever think of travelling to Amalfi Coast, don’t hesitate to stay in La Scogliera Rooms in Atrani.

Room Tip: Both rooms - Blue and Yellow - are equally wonderful, but we liked the view from the Blue one more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown PA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thank you Pino and Pina for all your gracious hospitality.
Our room was spacious, clean, and very beautifully decorated. The bathroom was large with a nice shower with good water pressure etc. The location of the property could not be beat. It is located in the small town of Atrani, directly on the ocean and just a short walk to nearby Amalfi. Pino went above and beyond helping us with our every need. Breakfast was wonderful, great croissants, yogurt, eggs on request, ham and cheese if you would like.
Without a doubt, Pino genuinely cares about his guests and all of their needs.
We chose to have breakfast not on the balcony but with a lovely couple from Scotland who we are jealous of because they are able to return to La Scogliera much more frequently than we!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Canyon, Arizona
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were fortunate to be able to stay a week. From the very start we knew we made the right choice. Our driver (SorrentoSilverStar) called for directions and Pino said he would meet us on the street. After helping to carry luggage to the room he offered some refreshments. The attention to detail is incredible- cleanliness, linens, breakfasts (the best), amount of information available, friendliness, accommodations, etc. Pino and Piña are like family and we hope to return. Atrani is much quieter than Amalfi Town and has great restaurants. We ate several times in La Palma and Mistral and one time each in Aparanza and Savo. All were excellent. It was a wonderful place just "to be".

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
la
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Pino is such An amazing guy! Glad we stayed here instead of amalfi. If you dont know the area and have a car, be sure to call him first or you will never figure out the parking or even find the place! probably better to take a bus if you can. he also told us about an amazing seafood restaurant tucked way back where we never would have found it. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Scogliera is situated at the entry of the small village, Atrani, three hundred meters far from the center of Amalfi, close to the sea. The apartament was recently renovated,furnished with style and equipped with every confort. The property has a spettacular view on the sea and a terrace overlooking the center of Atrani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Scogliera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.