We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the perfect amalfi coast b and b” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scogliera

Save Saved
You added La Scogliera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Scogliera
Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Atrani B&B and Inns
nyc
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“the perfect amalfi coast b and b”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

I dont think we could have asked for a better host, location, or room staying on the Amalfi coast. The beach was so much nicer than the other towns and the town much more peaceful. You are so close to Amalfi (about 10 min walk) that you have all the benefits with none of the hustle of Amalfi. Pino and Pina were excellent hosts and very knowledgeable and helpful with planning (since we had done none in advance). It was perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Blue room which I think is smaller than the other but still wonderful with a huge t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    233
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
178
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

La Scogliera is a lovely family run B&B in Atrani, Italy. While it is on the Amalfi coast, and only a few minutes walk from Amalfi, it is in quiet, quaint and lovely Atrani, which turned out to be our favourite of the coastal towns. The B&B is in a historic family home right on the coast. The rooms are spacious and the bathroom was great. Breakfast was ready for us with fresh giant croissants (the best I've ever eaten), coffee, tea and juice.

Pino and Pina are the best hosts you could have. They were at the bus stop to meet us as we arrived from Salerno (I called as we boarded the bus to let them know we were on our way). They took us back to their home, a few minutes walk away and helped us to settle in.

While english is not their first language, they are certainly understood. I used my highschool french and found conversing with Pino was easiest that way. Pino had many sight seeing ideas for us - more ideas than we had time or energy to do! He had local bus, boat and train schedules handy and provided the weather forecast as well.

Pino was such a great host he even took us by scooter so that we wouldn't miss our boat to Capri in the morning! What an exciting way to start the day!

Atrani is a lovely town with great restaurants, interesting winding streets to explore, a lovely pebble beach on the Mediterranean (which is warm enough to swim almost all year). They have boat and scooter rentals available and the local bus is excellent.

And best of all, Atrani is not a tourist trap like so many other villages. Here you can meet and get to know real Italians and experience life as they live it. It is close enough to visit all the other charming shopping towns, but makes a great quiet place when you are tired at the end of the day.

Add Atrani to your Italian itinerary and stay with Pino at La Scogliera! You won't regret your decision.

Room Tip: Lots of room options. Just let them know what you need. They have fully independent appartments or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lak, IL
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We just returned from a 2 1/2 stay in Italy. By far our favorite stay was at La Scogliera. Our room was beautiful, clean and we had the most amazing view of the sea. Pino and Pina welcomed us into their home as if we were family and did everything to ensure our stay was perfect. Our stay was short but eventful as we spent two days at Atrani's beach ... just steps away from their B&B; we walked to Amalfi which took ten minutes one night, took a bus to Ravello another evening (30 minute)- watched the sun-set then had the most amazing dinner at a place that Pino recommended (I believe it was Cumpa Cosimo)- it was truly the most beautiful place we have ever seen - the following evening we took another bus to Positano (45 minutes) another fantastic place to visit.

I highly recommend this B&B and when we return to Italy this lovely B&B will be on our itinerary.

Thank you Pino & Pina ... for everything!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I had the absolute pleasure of staying here in late August. I had the double room with the large veranda over looking Atrani's beach. Pino and Pina and their lovely daughter are reason alone to stay here----their hospitality and care is exceptional. The rooms are simply gorgeous, clean, and the views are unreal. I was traveling alone and Pino set me up with these wonderful two girls from London and we had a ball during my two days. Definitely take the 5 minute walk from Amalfi and stay here---I dream of going back daily.
~Emily in Ottawa, Canada

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

A brilliant B&B
We stayed here for 10 nights for our honeymoon and had a wonderful time. Have never felt so welcome in a B&B. Pinot and his wife are simply lovely and will help you with anything that you need. Pinot will book tours, recommend restaurants, find out bus times, order in gluten free food for breakfast if needed and is a genuinely really nice man.
The B&B is perfectly located. A 2minute walk to the beach and a further 2 minute walk to the square, bars and restaurants in Atrani, and a 5 minute walk the other way through a pedestrian tunnel brings you out in the beautiful Amalfi.
Can’t recommend this B&B more highly. A perfectly located, clean, well kept and delightful B&B.
Hope to visit again one day.
Chris and Pippa

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

Like everyone else, we have only good things to say about our time at La Scogliera. Pino and his wife were the perfect hosts, very friendly and helpful while also giving their guests plenty of space.
Pino is from Ravello, which is very easy to reach from Atrani. His advice on where to visit and eat helped us to have a fabulous day there.
They didn't just give directions and restaurant recommendations-Pino even took us, one by one, on his scooter to the ferry stop for the return trip to Naples.
The suite where we stayed was surprisingly large, and the views from the balcony were stunning. Breakfasts were delicious-great croissants.
If we come back, we won't stay anywhere else.
Pino, Jimmy misses you!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

We spent here our honeymoon and the location was perfect. The entire house is spreading the Italian romantic style, the room (the yellow one) was beautiful with a spectacular view to the sea, a balcony with 2 entrance. The beach is near the villa, although we recommend Amalfi beach(10 mins away). Pina and Pino very kind, they help us with guidance and maps and every information we need. We had a great time and for sure we’ll come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Scogliera is situated at the entry of the small village, Atrani, three hundred meters far from the center of Amalfi, close to the sea. The apartament was recently renovated,furnished with style and equipped with every confort. The property has a spettacular view on the sea and a terrace overlooking the center of Atrani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Scogliera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.