We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Kept Secret on the Amalfi Coast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scogliera

Save Saved
You added La Scogliera to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
La Scogliera
Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Atrani B&B and Inns
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Kept Secret on the Amalfi Coast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2011

My boyfriend and I had difficulties finding this place at first because no taxi drivers knew where it was, but once we got there, we were definitely not disappointed. Pino and his wife are absolutely spectacular and provided the best service we could ask for. The location is absolutely stunning - away from the noise of Amalfi, quiet, serene, right on the water with doors that open up to the ocean. We had our own balcony and absolutely loved it. Plush comforters and super-comfortable beds. The location is perfect because you are right next to a bus stop or can walk to Amalfi in 5 minutes. We stayed downtown Amalfi for one night and absolutely hated it because it was so noisy! I highly recommend La Scogliera. Pino will provide you the best service and you will not be disappointed. He makes the best coffee and espresso, too!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    3
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
32
174
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Such a wonderful place... The entire Buonocore family is so friendly and welcoming - Pino, Pina, and their sons Marco and Pasquale - and we were delighted to stay in their beautiful B&B. (Only a one night stay - way too short.. We wish we could've stayed longer!)
Our room was the gorgeous La Rondine(the blue room) - sparkling clean, beautifully decorated and ultra comfortable. The view from the little terrace was breathtaking, and since the weather was fine we pretty much spent our entire morning basking in the winter sun and relaxing.
Breakfast was a treat, fresh coffee, juice, warm croissants and yogurts.
Grazie Mille - we hope to be back again someday!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atrani, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

You can`t find a better place to spend your holiday at the Amalfi coast. The room at "La Scogliera" was marvellous with breathtaking view over the Mediterranian. Pino and his family were very helpful, and made us feel at home.
Sidsel and Ulf

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2010

La Scogliera is truly a gem. It was the accommodation highlight of our two week trip. The rooms are located in the beautifully decorated home of Pino and Pina. We stayed three nights in La Rodine (the blue room) with amazing views looking out the windows (and balcony) toward the ocean and picturesque town of Atrani. Even the bathroom was beautifully tiled. Our hosts were incredibly friendly and accommodating, making recommendations on where to eat (we loved the nearby Le Palma -- get the eggplant), where we should tour and helping us with the bus schedule. Pino would check in with us each evening to see what time we wanted breakfast -- a nice spread of cornetto, yogurts, fresh coffee and grapefruit juice. It was so nice here, we didn't want to leave. We loved being by the less touristy town of Atrani, but close (an easy 10 minute walk) to the more bustling Amalfi. It was a perfect end to vacation and I will definitely send all friends visiting the Amalfi coast to La Scogliera.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2010

We recently had the honor of staying with the Buonocore family in their home right on the coast in beautiful Atrani, Italy, steps from Amalfi. The home is exquisitely renovated and has been in Pina's (the wife) family for years. Each room was sooo beatiful, spotless, charming with indescribable views!! Pino (the husband) was a perfect host throughout, even giving up his parking spot whenever we wanted to go adventuring! When we arrived we were greeted by their lovely twin sons who help run things and will soon be running an B & B up the hill in gorgeous Ravello. They not only lugged our very heavy bags up the beautiful old stone steps, they immediately offered us Limencello, great enthusiasm, and even invited our daughter to join them and friends for a walk to town! We immediately fell in love with this family as well as the home and the beautiful surroundings, and hope to be lucky enough to return some day!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2010

Our 4 night stay in Atrani at La scogliera was supposed to be the highlight of our recent 6 week Euro holiday and it was all that and more! Pino and Pina are the most welcoming and wonderful hosts and did everything they could to make our stay magical. The rooms are spotless and just gorgoeus and we had views of the stunning Amalfi Coast from both inside our room and from our beautiful balcony. By the time we left we felt like part of the family! What Pino and Pina can't arrange for you, their gorgeous sons Pasquale and Marco can. Parking can be very tight and tricky in that area and Pino sacrificed the spot he had his car parked in for us so we could park near the residence.
We left feeling very sad, but completely convinced that we will return to La Scogliera in the future and stay for longer!! Thank you so much, Pino, Pina, Pasquale and Marco for making our Amalfi Coast Dream come true.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2010

This is my first post on trip advisor. I just came back from a three week trip in Italy and I had to write about La Scogliera Rooms because it is fantastic. La Scogliera Rooms was simply the best hotel we stayed in over the course of our three week trip (and we stayed in amazing places!!) and possibly my favorite hotel that I have ever stayed in. For starters, the location is just stunning! This bed and breakfast (located in a historical building) sits directly on the sea. Each room has a gorgeous balcony with a sea view. We had a great room, which was very comfortable. Every morning I woke up to a beautiful sunrise over the sea, which I watched from my balcony! Atrani is a beautiful and charming town, and is just minutes away from Amalfi. But the very best thing about this bed and breakfast are the wonderful owners, who are so sweet and go out of their way to make you feel at home and to provide information about things to do in the area. When we visited Ravello, Pino, the owner, provided us with a whole itinerary for our day. It was a very special experience to stay at this small and intimate, family run bed and breakfast. La Scogliera Rooms is also extremely very reasonably priced, especially considering what you get – a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the sea in a great location. We wish we could have stayed for longer. I was so sad to leave, and hope to go back!! This place is amazing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Via G. Di Benedetto 3, 84010 Atrani, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Atrani
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Atrani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Scogliera is situated at the entry of the small village, Atrani, three hundred meters far from the center of Amalfi, close to the sea. The apartament was recently renovated,furnished with style and equipped with every confort. The property has a spettacular view on the sea and a terrace overlooking the center of Atrani. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your La Scogliera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.