We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OverEstimated” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Lloyd's Baia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Lloyd's Baia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lloyd's Baia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via E. de Marinis 2 | Via Benedetto Croce snc, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Milano
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“OverEstimated”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I've been there for one night on august... worst experience ever. They didn t give the room i booked and in addition they didn t even tell me that the room i booked was full and not available.
after complaining with the reception, i had a 50 euro discount on my room price.... but, what if i didn t complain???
anyway, for that price you can find lots of better hotels at Amalfitana coast!
overestimated hotel.

Room Tip: verify that they give you the room you booked (with poictures)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    212
    101
    51
    39
See reviews for
101
261
11
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield Center, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

We loved our days at Lloyd's Baia. The view from our room was unbelievable. Breakfast was great. The hotel is just few minutes from Vietri so you can buy a delicious limoncello and ceramic stuff. Would stay there again without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here last week for 2 nights. The room was large and had a huge bathroom. Balcony with sea view. Perfect location. The private beach excellent with very comfortable beds. Breakfast was lovely with plenty to choose from. Would definitely stay here again if visiting vietro in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

There is open-air disco on the beach below the hotel. And music there is really LOUD until 3 or 4 in the A.M, saturday nights until 5 A.M.
They are selling this place with argument: every room has a view of the sea; our wiew was to very busy Port,( working all night) not exactly what we expected...
Location was good and the service in parking- area was wonderful. All other services where miserable, all from front desk to the restaurant.
Shortly: not worth of money.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wyomissing, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

I give it a poor rating because of the open-air disco on the beach below the hotel. It blasts LOUD music until 3 or 4 in the A.M. Forget about sleeping unless you are heavily medicated. The hotel has no control over this, as it is a separate business. The disco is open Friday, Saturday & Sunday nights, but there is talk of it being open every night in the future. Other than that, the place is fine. If not for the disco, I would have given it 4 stars. As you can see from the photos, it's built on a cliffside, and every room has a view of the sea and a balcony or patio. From our room, we saw the beach & coastline on the right, and the busy commercial port of Salerno to the left. We found it fascinating to watch as hundreds of new cars were loaded onto Grimaldi Line ships, or containers were loaded onto other carriers so efficiently. There's a nice bar/terrace where you might sit and watch the sail boats and the sea, enjoying the sweetness of doing nothing (la dolce far niente), as they say. Adequate breakfast buffet, but the selection of food never changes. This is the only hotel I've encountered where the floors have negative numbers. The lobby is on the top level, and it's literally all downhill from there. Buttons in the elevators have negative numbers. Our room was on minus quatro (-4). It's a 5-minute walk to the town, which has some great restaurants. This would be a super place to stay if the disco wasn't so annoying.

Room Tip: The view is nicer on the side of the hotel nearest the town of Vietri and away from Salerno
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

You want 5 things in a hotel: cleanliness, rest, comfort, a helpful staff, and hot coffee. Lloyd's flunks all but the first. The place has a gorgeous setting, but many of the rooms overlook a working dock and, worst of all, it also operates a downmarket disco that operates from midnight to 4 am. You cannot escape the ear-splitting decibel levels. Not that one could sleep on the iron slabs posing as mattresses in the first place. Save you breath instead of complaining or asking questions--the staff is worthless. And how hard is it to put hot coffee in an urn? Beyond these folks. When I was a young man staying in grungy pensiones, my experience was more pleasant than my 5 nights here. If your tour has you staying here, demand a refund and book with a different company.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Lobby is deceiving, as it looks a bit more higher end. The rooms are old school, like they robbed an Italian Grandma's garage sale and the age in showing in the chipping tiles but they are large for Europe and clean as well. Be very careful about "sea view" as standard rooms overlook a very busy shipping port with trucks driving in and out. Quite frankly, once we upgraded to a more expensive room with improved(actually amazing) view my biggest criticism is the staff. The wait staff seemed uninterested in the customers and the front staff did little to help educate us in what there was to do in the area, even when asked. We got a " take the bus outside". I pushed to get some idea of where to go in the town and all I got was a highlighter of a street with restaurants. As a result we wandered a bit aimlessly and it wasn't until the second day (of a two day trip) did we start to stumble into the quainter area of Salerno.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lloyd's Baia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lloyd's Baia Hotel

Address: Via E. de Marinis 2 | Via Benedetto Croce snc, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lloyd's Baia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 131
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lloyd's Baia Hotel has a cliff-top location at Vietri Sul Mare, 3 km from the centre of Salerno. There is an outdoor pool and guests have free access to the private beach.Lloyd’s Baia's rooms are air conditioned and have satellite TV, most have a sea view. A continental buffet breakfast is served in the sunny dining room.At Hotel Lloyd’s Baia you will find an à la carte restaurant serving regional specialities. There is a comfortable lounge bar with internet access and a terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, Venere and HotelsClick so you can book your Lloyd's Baia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lloyds Baia Hotel
Best Western Vietri Sul Mare
Vietri Sul Mare Best Western
Lloyd's Baia Hotel Vietri Sul Mare, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lloyd's Baia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.