We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel ever! Would highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Paradiso

Save Saved
You added Relais Paradiso to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Relais Paradiso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova Raito, 10, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best hotel ever! Would highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed for one night in September 2013. The hotel is absolutely lovely! Would highly recommend for anyone staying in VSM.

Pros:
- Hotel staff is super friendly, they really go out of their way to make you feel welcomed
- Hotel room is absolutely divine! Beds are super comfy and they have a bath tub with different colour lighting setting
- Breakfast is included, tasty and offers good selection
- Modern décor all throughout the hotel and a very pretty swimming pool
Cons:
- Hotel does offer shuttle into town/beach area but it does not come very often. We took the suggestion of the front desk staff and we walk the stairs to get down to the beach - would not recommend anyone to do it, especially if you are in flip flops. I would suggest walking into town and then to the beach, even though it is a little longer it is a lot easy to walk and less bugs...

I have considered all the towns on Amalfi coast and have settled on VSM due to its proximity to Salerno ( about $20 Euro cab ride from Salerno train station to the hotel). VSM might not be as pretty when compared to Positano and other towns but if you are looking for somewhere quiet and non-touristy(or less touristy I should say) this is the definitely the place to be!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
7
24
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have just returned from the most dreadful week long break, spent at the Relais Paradiso Hotel. It is isolated and does not offer decent/regular ferry links to the rest of the Amalfi Coast. The standard of driving is atrocious and so, not the best option. Cabs are rather expensive.

This is most certainly not a 5 star hotel. It is barely a 4 star. The menu is both limited and just about edible.

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked hotel relais paradiso last minute due to having an extra week for holidays. We are so glad we found this hotel and we will be back again next year. This is the 2nd time visiting amalfi coast but 1st time staying here. The hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. Everyone here speaks English well enough to get the assistance you require and advice on the town. The food is the best thing about the hotel and we dined in the hotel 5 nights out of the 7. We found pricing very reasonable as the food is divine. Breakfast is available til 10:30 and you have a choice of continental or cooked. Compliments to the chef on our dinner which you can get served in your room, the honey beef or fish soooooo good.
Our room was divine, if you stay here you must book a room with the outdoor jacuzzi and if you want to splash out the paradiso suite is superb. Well worth the extra. $$.
Being a small hotel with only 22 rooms you get serviced well and nothing is to much to ask for. If you do require something or you have to do is ask. The pool area is beautiful as once again there are not 500 people staying here. There is a free shuttle however to walk into town centre only takes 5minutes so we opted to walk as the exercise felt great.
The town of vietre sul mare is our favourite amalfi coast town yet. It is unspoiled and has many beautiful people. The community of this town is what also made it so special.
You must visit the local bar called bar miramare, the owner is lovely and the view of the ocean is incredible, you can sit the for hours relaxing.
Local food and wine is delicious, you must meet the local store owners and taste their cheese and meats. They make it themselves.
We were lucky enough to see a band called Under the Bridge and had a dance with them. Watching all the young local children dance was also a highlight.
We leave relais paradiso tomorrow and we are sad to leave. We will be back and can't believe how much more relaxed we feel after spending a week here.

Room Tip: You can't go past paradiso suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I have recently got married and decided to go away for a mini break for which this hotel seemed perfect.

The hotel is situated on the hills with great views of the sea.

On check in we were greeted by Alberto who simply gave us our room key with no information about the hotel. The hotel seemed fairly quiet so we asked for an upgrade to the jacuzzi room as we were on honeymoon but he said we would need to pay for this. We were not told about the shuttle service, use of the other hotel facilities, that breakfast could be delivered in the room etc. He also did not mention the mini bar was complimentary which we only found out on the last day. The following day we met Simona who was great she gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions, try La Sosta in Vietri for delicious pizza about £5 a portion! She was also more than happy to sort out an upgrade for us and it is definitely worth getting a jacuzzi room. The indoor jacuzzi is also very good!

On the downsides the hotel is quite far up so it is worth using the hotel shuttle or a taxi. Also eating at the hotel is very expensive so definitely worth venturing into Vietri or down to the marina.

Great for a short relaxing break and if you need anything speak to Simona!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Really nice/modern boutique hotel.
£300 a night Dinner bed and Breakfast with a 40 min massage included for 2( which was superb!)
The staff are all lovely.
The only negative points is the gym and the food.
If you were to stay there, I would recommend to eat out or go to the main Hotel up the hill where the food is meant to be the real deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous week on the Amalfi Coast highlighted by our stay at Relais Paradiso. We love boutique hotels with a decidedly "modern design" look and feel- this resort hotel fit our desire in every respect. From the second we walked into the lobby (after being picked up by private car at Naples airport arranged by the hotel at a surprisingly reasonable cost), we just knew we had made the perfect choice.

We booked a Junior Suite which actually exceeded our lofty expectations from viewing the website before making our plans. The bathroom- with it's huge Jacuzzi tub and separate rain shower- was a huge plus. The bedroom with its flat-screen TV, queen bed (great sheets but would have preferred down pillows) and lots of bureau drawers and large wardrobe was both convenient and comfortable- very "high-end" furniture throughout. We even had a separate living room area with another flat-screen TV. To top it off, we had a huge private terrace with lounge chairs and a whirlpool. Great for late-night relaxation.

Every morning there was a bountiful and delicious breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Several nights we chose to have dinner in the small restaurant and the chef never let us down- great food and service. Not a large menu, but just enough choices prepared with the best ingredients and consumate skill. Chef even went the extra mile to prepare a "special dinner" where we jointly agreed a Tasting Menu and wine- absolutely superb!!!

We spent most of our days just relaxing at the roof-top pool and lounge area- large chaise lounges with umbrellas and tables. Very chic and very comfortable!

Every day we ventured out- so it was a big bonus to have the free shuttle take us to and pick us up from Vietri sul Mare- day or night whenever we needed transportation.

Finally, we can't say enough great things about the service we received from Simona and her wonderful staff- they made sure that our every want and need was perfectly addressed- even when we changed some plans they had made especially for us at the last moment. They were most friendly as well as being truly professional. By the time we left, we felt like we had made new friends for life.

Bottom line- we can't wait to go back for another stay in September!

Room Tip: the Junior Suites are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent 7 days of our honeymoon in this lovely, charming and friendly boutique hotel in a terrific, quiet village called Vietri Sul Mare. We would not have discovered this hidden gem but for Trip Advisor and other online reviews.

Contrary to the most recent post, this is most definitely a 5-star experience, despite some shortcomings -- there is no such thing as a perfect hotel. The service was simply superb, though we wished that the staff had somewhat better English speak skills (not to be as a sterotypically provincial American). Maria Teresa is a first-rate professional who truly understands customer service. For instance, when we had a less-than-satisfying spa experience in their sister hotel, she pormptly corrected it and even treated us to a bottle of champagne as an unexpected and most welcome accomodation.

The restaurant is good though pricey. Contrary to the prior review, daily buffet breakfast is somewhat varied, and 10 varieties of egg and omellettes prepared to order are available. True, burgers are not avaialable on demand, but to expect burgers at an Italian boutique hotel is rather myopic (try to order first rate lasagne at Waldorf Astoria).

Almost all guests were couples (some on their honeymoon like us), and everyone was very friendly and respectful of each other's space.

Most importantly, we spent a day in Amalfi and where highly disappointed with the way tourists are nickeled and dimed. In contrast, the village in which the Relais Paradiso is located is off the beaten path, not a tourist trap, quiet, safe and extremely reasonably priced. We ate dinner two days in a row at a local pizzeria called I Due Fratelli and paid EUR 25 (and had so much food, we could barely finish).

We highly recommend staying at the Relais Paradiso.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Paradiso

Address: Via Nuova Raito, 10, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Paradiso 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Prestigia, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Relais Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Paradiso Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Relais Paradiso Vietri Sul Mare, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.