We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Relais Paradiso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Relais Paradiso to your Saves list
Relais Paradiso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Nuova Raito, 10, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We booked hotel relais paradiso last minute due to having an extra week for holidays. We are so glad we found this hotel and we will be back again next year. This is the 2nd time visiting amalfi coast but 1st time staying here. The hotel is very clean and staff are very friendly. Everyone here speaks English well enough to get the assistance you require and advice on the town. The food is the best thing about the hotel and we dined in the hotel 5 nights out of the 7. We found pricing very reasonable as the food is divine. Breakfast is available til 10:30 and you have a choice of continental or cooked. Compliments to the chef on our dinner which you can get served in your room, the honey beef or fish soooooo good.
Our room was divine, if you stay here you must book a room with the outdoor jacuzzi and if you want to splash out the paradiso suite is superb. Well worth the extra. $$.
Being a small hotel with only 22 rooms you get serviced well and nothing is to much to ask for. If you do require something or you have to do is ask. The pool area is beautiful as once again there are not 500 people staying here. There is a free shuttle however to walk into town centre only takes 5minutes so we opted to walk as the exercise felt great.
The town of vietre sul mare is our favourite amalfi coast town yet. It is unspoiled and has many beautiful people. The community of this town is what also made it so special.
You must visit the local bar called bar miramare, the owner is lovely and the view of the ocean is incredible, you can sit the for hours relaxing.
Local food and wine is delicious, you must meet the local store owners and taste their cheese and meats. They make it themselves.
We were lucky enough to see a band called Under the Bridge and had a dance with them. Watching all the young local children dance was also a highlight.
We leave relais paradiso tomorrow and we are sad to leave. We will be back and can't believe how much more relaxed we feel after spending a week here.

Room Tip: You can't go past paradiso suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    16
    12
    1
    3
See reviews for
12
39
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

I have recently got married and decided to go away for a mini break for which this hotel seemed perfect.

The hotel is situated on the hills with great views of the sea.

On check in we were greeted by Alberto who simply gave us our room key with no information about the hotel. The hotel seemed fairly quiet so we asked for an upgrade to the jacuzzi room as we were on honeymoon but he said we would need to pay for this. We were not told about the shuttle service, use of the other hotel facilities, that breakfast could be delivered in the room etc. He also did not mention the mini bar was complimentary which we only found out on the last day. The following day we met Simona who was great she gave us some excellent restaurant suggestions, try La Sosta in Vietri for delicious pizza about £5 a portion! She was also more than happy to sort out an upgrade for us and it is definitely worth getting a jacuzzi room. The indoor jacuzzi is also very good!

On the downsides the hotel is quite far up so it is worth using the hotel shuttle or a taxi. Also eating at the hotel is very expensive so definitely worth venturing into Vietri or down to the marina.

Great for a short relaxing break and if you need anything speak to Simona!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Really nice/modern boutique hotel.
£300 a night Dinner bed and Breakfast with a 40 min massage included for 2( which was superb!)
The staff are all lovely.
The only negative points is the gym and the food.
If you were to stay there, I would recommend to eat out or go to the main Hotel up the hill where the food is meant to be the real deal.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exton, PA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous week on the Amalfi Coast highlighted by our stay at Relais Paradiso. We love boutique hotels with a decidedly "modern design" look and feel- this resort hotel fit our desire in every respect. From the second we walked into the lobby (after being picked up by private car at Naples airport arranged by the hotel at a surprisingly reasonable cost), we just knew we had made the perfect choice.

We booked a Junior Suite which actually exceeded our lofty expectations from viewing the website before making our plans. The bathroom- with it's huge Jacuzzi tub and separate rain shower- was a huge plus. The bedroom with its flat-screen TV, queen bed (great sheets but would have preferred down pillows) and lots of bureau drawers and large wardrobe was both convenient and comfortable- very "high-end" furniture throughout. We even had a separate living room area with another flat-screen TV. To top it off, we had a huge private terrace with lounge chairs and a whirlpool. Great for late-night relaxation.

Every morning there was a bountiful and delicious breakfast buffet included in the room rate. Several nights we chose to have dinner in the small restaurant and the chef never let us down- great food and service. Not a large menu, but just enough choices prepared with the best ingredients and consumate skill. Chef even went the extra mile to prepare a "special dinner" where we jointly agreed a Tasting Menu and wine- absolutely superb!!!

We spent most of our days just relaxing at the roof-top pool and lounge area- large chaise lounges with umbrellas and tables. Very chic and very comfortable!

Every day we ventured out- so it was a big bonus to have the free shuttle take us to and pick us up from Vietri sul Mare- day or night whenever we needed transportation.

Finally, we can't say enough great things about the service we received from Simona and her wonderful staff- they made sure that our every want and need was perfectly addressed- even when we changed some plans they had made especially for us at the last moment. They were most friendly as well as being truly professional. By the time we left, we felt like we had made new friends for life.

Bottom line- we can't wait to go back for another stay in September!

Room Tip: the Junior Suites are the best value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We spent 7 days of our honeymoon in this lovely, charming and friendly boutique hotel in a terrific, quiet village called Vietri Sul Mare. We would not have discovered this hidden gem but for Trip Advisor and other online reviews.

Contrary to the most recent post, this is most definitely a 5-star experience, despite some shortcomings -- there is no such thing as a perfect hotel. The service was simply superb, though we wished that the staff had somewhat better English speak skills (not to be as a sterotypically provincial American). Maria Teresa is a first-rate professional who truly understands customer service. For instance, when we had a less-than-satisfying spa experience in their sister hotel, she pormptly corrected it and even treated us to a bottle of champagne as an unexpected and most welcome accomodation.

The restaurant is good though pricey. Contrary to the prior review, daily buffet breakfast is somewhat varied, and 10 varieties of egg and omellettes prepared to order are available. True, burgers are not avaialable on demand, but to expect burgers at an Italian boutique hotel is rather myopic (try to order first rate lasagne at Waldorf Astoria).

Almost all guests were couples (some on their honeymoon like us), and everyone was very friendly and respectful of each other's space.

Most importantly, we spent a day in Amalfi and where highly disappointed with the way tourists are nickeled and dimed. In contrast, the village in which the Relais Paradiso is located is off the beaten path, not a tourist trap, quiet, safe and extremely reasonably priced. We ate dinner two days in a row at a local pizzeria called I Due Fratelli and paid EUR 25 (and had so much food, we could barely finish).

We highly recommend staying at the Relais Paradiso.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Please note this is NOT a five star hotel by any means! I will try to split this review in two parts. One to outline the hotel and the other to outline the area of Amalfi as this is very significant if you are booking here!

My partner had booked for 6 nights in a sea view room. The photos are similar as illustrated on various websites. This hotel is very much a 4 star hotel, minimalist and modern in design but lacking various 5 star factors. The room had a sea view over looking Amalfi. Maybe expedia needs to check their ratings!

Both the bar and restaurant face the sea. Everything White and clean. The pool is clean with small area overlooking the coast. Local neighbours have a dog and there are several birds chirping away. Also, the hotel is located off a small main road so traffic can be heard, but not from you room!

1. We had been allocated a room next to a family who had a small child. The rooms have weak Walls so you could hear crying. The hotel initially placed us in this room knowing full knowledge there was a family next door. Also the hotel was very quiet with only a few guests, we could have easily been moved.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

2. The fridge in our room did not work when we arrived, I informed the front desk several times. The fridge was replaced 4 days into our break.

In addition, the air conditioning did not work. When I complained I was simply told it must be the electrics were not working

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

3. The room service menu is very poor and lacks the choice and appeal for hotel boasting 5 stars. When asked if I could have a burger, I was told that they don't do it. Having spoken to the chef to ask why? A sudden change of mind? No problem sir we can order a burger from our sister hotel around the corner which we will bring to you. So a 5 star hotel chef can't cook a burger on site? More importantly, something as simple as a burger?

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

4. Furthermore, the dinner is appalling. I highly recommend to get out of the hotel and eat elsewhere (tips at the end). The dinner was overpriced and not cooked fresh. Our dessert had come out of the freezer.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

5. The breakfast buffet is all cold and has the same choice everyday! No hot food was available, especially for the price you are paying for 5 star hotel.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

6. The pool man is very pervy (stares a lot, not good if you are there with your wife or girlfriend ) My partner certainly felt very uncomfortable and mentioned this to me several times.

NOT 5 Star Hotel Service

The staff are generally good. Carmine is friendly and so is Maria, both are efficient with booking restaurants. The hotels best asset is Francesco who is very attentive.

However, no senior manager to be found anywhere????

My partner described this hotel as "a lot of fuss, little substance".

Location: The hotel is located at the start/end of Amalfi and has it's pros and cons. Firstly, I would recommend to hire a car! Why? You are located 40 mins away from Amalfi, 30 mins from Minori and 60 mins from Positano. Taxis are very expensive e.g Return from Amalfi is 160 Euros. My advice move to Amalfi and become a Taxi Driver!

This is very important if you are planning a trip to Capri. We parked our car in amalfi for 30 euros in the 24 hour car park and then took the ferry across. If we paid for a taxi it would have cost us 160 euros return. This is why you should hire a car at Naples!

We hired a car from Naples Airport for 150 euros for a week, A fiat 500 very Eco on fuel- a full tank is 40 euros which would last a week. Well worth it and it gives you independence around the coast. However, I would say if you are not a strong driver be very careful as the roads and their drivers are not.

Local Restaurant Tips:

Don't eat at the hotel!

1. Vetri Sal Mare: Evu and Del Lucia - Both good if you like fish and used by the locals.

2. Cetara: Aqua di Pazzo- Excellent Host and Food (fish)

3. Minori: La Vela- Excellent Pizzeria and popular with locals

4. Ravello: Vittoria and Campino - Excellent Food and Reasonably Priced

5. Salerno: Bufla di Pizza on the beach - Try the Vesuvia Pizza

Save your money and find something closer to Amalfi or Minori or spend more on something there!

Further Note: The Italians holiday in September and is very busy. Also, in restaurants attention and service is turned to bigger tables who have booked, so if you are American or British wanting attentive service, don't expect much as the service is very very laid back. You have been warned!

Room Tip: Hire a Car!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

This hotel is excellent overall. Upon arrival, they checked us in in a minute and took our bags. The porter would not even accept a tip, they just said its included. Luigi was great, he showed us how everything in our room worked (a first for every hotel we've stayed at in Europe) and told us that the minibar was free, we could consume everything in it every day and it would be replenished for free. This was awesome because I felt like throughout this whole European vacation I have been so limited on what I drink and always want more, but not here. The view from the room is of the Mediterranean and Vietre Sul Mare and is excellent! The patio has a nice table and chairs, and then there is a second patio that has grass and is connected to the other patios (Luigi said so we can talk to the other guests). Inside the room, everything was great. The bathtub is amazing and has jets, and the shower is nice and tall. There are double sinks (but not super sure it would be comfortable with two people, but that's ok). The light switches are even nice. On both bedsides you will have switches for everything in the room.
The breakfast was great, and would have been better if we had had this tip. The menu for the restaurant has everything that is included in the breakfast, which includes things that are not sitting out with the buffet. They will actually prepare eggs, or bacon, etc for you if you ask. They also have other juices and stuff that is not sitting out, just ask.
Room service was too expensive for us, and the 4 course dinner they prepare every night is fifty euros per person. Way too much. I didn't eat it though, so I can only tell you the price.
The pool was very good, nice tempurature, and the chairs and deck area is nice with a great view.
For us, the hotel exceeded our very high expectations. There was one problem that you should know about. (But I want to stress that you will have this problem with every hotel in Vietri) Unless you want to stay at the hotel all day, eat every meal there (super expensive), and not go to the beach, you will need to go to town. To get there the road is harrowing and very dangerous. We walked it twice the first day before we realized they had a free shuttle. It is only about a mile to town, but it is almost guaranteed that you will have to go into town twice (at least for us becuase 1. the heat, and 2. everything in the town closes from 130-5pm) Additionally, I will also tell you that the Vietre train station is no longer in service. The receptionist here told us we could take it to Pompeii so this morning we took the shuttle to Vietre, then walked to the train station for our day in Pompeii only to find out it was closed. Your options for getting to Pompeii are either Bus (No transfers, but 90 minute ride with 87 stops), taxi (probably $100 one way-about 25km to Pompeii) or car. If you are going to stay in Vietre you NEED a car, otherwise traveling anywhere is a nightmare. I honestly believe we would only stay here again if we had a car.
One final note about the shuttle, it "forgot" to pick us up from the beach in the afternoon even though we talked to the driver in Italian and said 5pm.

Room Tip: All rooms have same view, upper is little better, but the suites are on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Relais Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Paradiso

Address: Via Nuova Raito, 10, 84019 Vietri sul Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Vietri sul Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Vietri sul Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais Paradiso 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Relais Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Paradiso Hotel Vietri Sul Mare
Relais Paradiso Vietri Sul Mare, Italy - Amalfi Coast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais Paradiso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.