We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previous Reviews” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Save Saved
You added Golden Odyssey Kolimbia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kolimbia, Kolimbia 85102, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 30 hotels in Kolimbia
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Previous Reviews”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

We have just returned from Rhodes, we stayed at the Golden Odyssey Hotel, I do not agree with most of the comments made previously, We found the hotel clean and comfortable lovely grounds and pool area, the reason there is a problem with the sun beds is the Germans and British put there towels onto the beds from 7:30am, so we did the same and never had a problem getting a sunbed. Yes there were some broken beds but who has broken them the guests i would think.
Also there are 2 women staying there at the moment who have a problem, they pick out the new English arrivals and then constantly slag off the hotel, this is ridiculous and the rep should have a word with these women. Let the guests make up there own minds. We thought the food was good there was always a choice we are not sure what people expect after all it is Greece.Staff were all friendly including the bar staff who have to stick to management rules with regard to measurements of alchohol. In our opinion some people just like moaning why don't you just enjoy yourseleves and the lovel sunshine on the island of Rhodes.We also found if we needed anything just ask at reception and it was sorted out. Bare wires are not a problem in Greece just look at the street lighting bare wires everywhere.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    103
    83
    51
    45
See reviews for
73
147
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I agree with some, not all, points regarding this hotel and our holiday here. It is more a 2/3 star hotel, almost like Butlins abroad with the bungalow style set up of the hotel.
ROOM: Our room was a standard room and they are very, very basic, but clean, the maid service was excellent. We asked to be away from the pool as it gets a bit loud. We did ask for a late check out as flight was at 01:35 but the hotel was fully booked, they did accommodate for this and you were able to book a slot in the shower room (20 mins and its a small version of a fully functioning room) So the last day wasn't ruined.
POOL: Nice pool, agree that ALL sunbeds just need to go and be replaced.
FOOD: It was ok, again, very basic, breakfast was the usual, beans, scrambled egg, cooked ham etc. Lunch was always salad (which was nice) chips, pasta and meat, only had a few evening meals there and they were ok, Desert is always ice cream.
DRINK: The only "all inclusive" I've ever been to where you pay for your drinks once 11pm has hit. The boyfriend stuck to beer, which was fine, but ridiculous that it comes in a glass smaller than a half pint. The white wine was actually not bad so I stuck to that, Cocktails are pre-made and not really what I would classify as a cocktail. Watered down spirits also. Beer and Wine are on tap until 5pm where the bar then opens.
LOCATION: This is not close to the beach. No matter what the brochure says. We are a young couple (25 & 28) and it was a good 30 min walk to the nearest beach. We ended up hiring a quad bike for 3 days (65 euros for 3 days) so we could drive to the nice beaches such as Tsimbika Beach (which is 3km down the main road, easy to drive to and stunning!). If you do one thing, don't go to the beach the bus provides free transfer to as this is not very nice and I really don't know why they choose to take you to this one when there is another one really close in Kolimbia that is gorgeous! At the bottom of the main road where you see the sign that points both left and right for the beach (bottom of Eucalyptus Rd) go RIGHT on the sandy, golden beach where the harbor is. A LOT nicer!
STUFF TO DO: I was under the impression there was noting to do here...I think that is a little unfair actually. When you turn onto the main road and get to the main road (15-20min walk) there are a few nice restaurants that are excellent value for money. The steakhouse and Niko's were great authentic Greek food which we wanted. We also ate in the meat and fish restaurant on the sea front which was very romantic, and again, great value for money! There are at least 5 bars that have entertainment (which is a lot to be desired at the hotel, its just bingo and karaoke and it doesn't start until 9:30!) Its definitely worth having your evening meals out in Kolimbia as the food in every restaurant we ate in was fantastic.
REP: Neil was around when we had questions, we booked the Greek Night on the Tuesday night with him and I'm very glad we did. They take you to a beautiful restaurant on top of a mountain just 20 mins away and you are served great Greek food, the wine is constantly flowing and the Greek entertainment is fantastic!! Dancing, flames being thrown, music - great fun.
Overall the hotel was basic and it feels like it needs to be brought into the modern world, the location could be better but the 20 min walk to the restaurants was actually quite nice in the evening sun.I would get some form of transport be it quad, bike or car so you can drive around in the daytime as this really made our holiday as some of it is a pretty area when you explore it. Go with an open mind but do not expect luxury here.....

Room Tip: Ask to be away from the pool as it gets quite noisy. Safe is 25 euros (non refundable)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The food is terrible and consists of pizza and chips every day
The dessert were watermelon and ice cream every night. No other desserts were offered all holiday
The bar is closed all day until 5 pm so that you can't have alcoholic drinks in the day
The hotel rep Neil [...], for Olympic holidays was very rude and was not very helpful
Very poor accommodation which contained an exposed wire next to a shower, when this was reported nothing was done about it!
Don't go here you will be really disappointed
All resort members were complaining

Room Tip: Don't go here so many nicer hotels with the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

In 20 years of holiday travel i have never had to complane about the food. The first meal at this hotel was shocking. Never have i been gob-smacked at the food choice, Chip buttys were the best on offer in my eyes. This led me to complain to the rep for a hotel move.I was told it would cost me a lot of money. My thoughts were grin and bare it.The sunbeds were broken and in short supply,our room dated but ok.
Things did get better over the next days with the food improving.
Overall the holiday got better , due to the people we met. The staff were hard working and polite. But the Hotel is not a 4star more a 2/3 star. Be warned the square deal offer was not the saving we thought as we found people had paid on average £200 pounds less than we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Really not great - All inclusive but no drinks before 5.30 in afternoon except wine or beer. Evening bar staff very unfriendly - think they expected everyone to nurse one drink all evening - ask for another and it had no alcohol in it. Housekeepers very lovely and rooms clean, but food very poor - dinner till 9pm but arrive after 8.30 and nothing left and staff closing up. We had fun because made up a big group and joined in with entertainment - bar staff didn't like that either - really not good and not 4 star - would scrape a 2.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

returned yesterday from this hotel , worse place ever . looks like the older generation wont let go ,with dated decor and old worn out equipment . 1 four slice toaster for around 100 people and 1 coffee machine that breaks down , no cups no glasses , no staff unless the former boss is in then they run round after him and his wife and any other relatives that happen to be staying
not a four star hotel I would only give it 1 come on thomsons get your finger out and do something about this place

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Most of the reviews for the Golden Odyssey here on Tripadvisor seem to be valid - both the good ones and the bad ones - it's that sort of place (!)

We arrived at 2:00 am, hot & thirsty after a long flight, and were shown to our room. Very basic - nothing in the room at all except an empty fridge humming noisily to itself. Hard beds. One shockingly thin, foam pillow each. You couldn't get a drink, a cup of coffee, even a bottle of water. The only option was to slake our thirsts from the tap in the bathroom.

The next day things seemed much better. The barren room & bathroom were at least spotlessly clean, and the aircon worked ok. We got more pillows from reception. The gardens were well tended. The pool was nice and - maybe because the hotel wasn't full - there were just enough sunloungers to go round. The food was done on-the-cheap, but tasty enough.

The drinks: 'Pour it yourself' wine/beer/soft drinks until 5pm from dispensers at the pool & the canteen. After that, free wine/beer/cocktails until 11pm served at the bar. The free beer was cheapest possible watery stuff served in toothmug-sized glasses. The wine was pumped from a vast cardboard box. After 11, (and any other time if you wanted a change) you could pay for drinks from the bar, and received reasonable quality ones!

Overall, the 'inclusive' food and drink were just about adequate. They certainly help keep the cost of your holiday down by providing basic fare, but you'll probably end up having at least a couple of meals and many drinks at the bars and restaurants in Kolimbia and beyond.

The evening 'entertainment' at the hotel was uniformly dreadful. The nadir was the karaoke night. No one wanted to sing, so the entertainments guy decided it would be funny (for him?) to torture us with jazzed up Strauss waltzes, and lugubrious piano music by Debussy and Ravel until someone capitulated!

The bit of Kolimbia outside the hotel is Ghost Town like, as others have mentioned. Endless olive groves, populated only by giant bulls, scraggy chickens, tumble-down buildings, and deserted former- supermarkets with smashed windows. An ideal spot for someone to set up paint-balling thing.

Further towards the beach, Kolimbia gets more lively, with shops, tavernas, cocktail bars & restaurants.

Despite everything, we had a good, relaxing holiday. It's nice to wander down to the beach (past the bulls!) early in the morning before the sun kicks in, then stroll a few hundred yard up to Kolimbia for refreshments and a spot of lunch when it starts getting too hot. We hired a car for a few days so we didn't feel stranded. Lindos, a few miles down the road was lovely. We took one trip from Olympic - the boat trip to Halki island. Lovely old village. Nice beach. But the coach took 2.5 hours to get there, and another 2.5 hours back (because it stopped at so many hotels along the way) - so not really recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Golden Odyssey Kolimbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Odyssey Kolimbia

Address: Kolimbia, Kolimbia 85102, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Odyssey Kolimbia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Golden Odyssey Kolimbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Hotel Kolimbia
Golden Odyssey Hotel Kolimbia
Kolimbia Golden Odyssey Hotel
Golden Odyssey Rhodos
Golden Odyssey Kolimbia Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Odyssey Kolimbia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.