We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but pushing itto be 5*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Club Aegean Blue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Atlantica Club Aegean Blue to your Saves list
Atlantica Club Aegean Blue
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   PO Box 4101, Kolimbia 85103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Kolimbia
Lincoln
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ok but pushing itto be 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We arrived art the hotel last night and at reception at about 9pm we were given our All Inclusive bracelet and told to go and have our evening meal then go back to check in. The restaurant closes at 9.30 pm even though the brochure states 10pm but there was a reasonable selection of food at the time. We then checked in and were driven on a golf buggie to the room which we thought seemed a long way away from the reception but in reality was a lot closer if you walked through the pool area.
The room is spacious with a double bed and 2 singles near the patio separated by 2 sliding doors, a fridge, TV with complimentary soft drinks and water. There is plenty of wardrobe space and a large bathroom with a bath separate toilet and shower cubicles. The patio area has chairs and a table and a grassed area with 2 sunbeds and a brolley and overlooks the pools.
Breakfast is served at the main restaurant having a good selection of cooked food and cold meats there is the usual hold up at the toasters as normal in any hotel .After breakfast we stopped at reception to pay for the safety deposit box and question the no air conditioning in the room to be told that they switch it off on October 1st even though the temperature at the moment is 28deg but we could pay 8 Euros a day if we wanted it. We found this a little off considering it is advertised as a 5* hotel and this is the first time we have ever been asked to pay for it at any 4 or 5* hotel including other Atlantica Hotels so one bad mark there. The outside patio light was on and we couldn’t find a switch to turn it off so with the thin curtains , hot room and light shining in not a very good nights sleep. We found the light switch for the outside light this morning hidden behind the backrest cushions in the single bed area not the sort of place you would think it would be so that is now off.
There is free wifi in reception which we are able to connect to on our patio with the use of a usb wifi extender so no need to sit in reception with the notebook and potter on line at our leisure.
Hopefully we will have plenty of sun and enjoy the rest of the holiday and we will put an update if we think of anything else on our return

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the pool are nice 1200 block has sun on balcony / patio nearly all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    547
    279
    101
    19
    7
See reviews for
588
188
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (228)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

THIS hotel is not a five star but is definatly a FAMILY HOTEL as advertised.If you are a couple and are hoping for even a little piece and quite maybe at the bar at night forget it the children are still running around late at night. You cannot get a good swim in any of the pools without balls thrown over and around you floating whales in fact all inflatables they have children pools and a water park which is very large and great for children.So why oh why dont they stop children from going in the large pool where it would give adults free time to swim.They are even in the jaccussi which was lovely but again children and babies in it.The management really need to sort this.I have gone on about this but it is important.We had a lovely room with a view of the sea and all around the pool area it was a quite room not far from the beach but not a sandy beach.Food was ok you could always find something. Plenty of fruit ,cheese ,bread ,cold meats.Icecream whenever.Fresh orange juice some morning ,english sausages on certain morning omellettes on others pancakes every morning and dont forget your honey in all a great selection for breakfast.Lunch was also fine in the resturant down by the pool always a good salad plenty of feta cheese and if you could eat a hot meal also plentiful in all if they have run out of anything just ask someone the staff are always helpful and friendly.Rooms are done every day clean towels as well.The area everywhere was very clean.The shop could do with a bit more of a selection.But you do have a nice shopping area about a 20 min walk away or 5 euros by taxi well worth it if you are older.Not really for couples though.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I deliberated for quite some time as to which hotel to book in Rhodes and narrowed it down to the Agean blue or the imperial , in the end i decided that they were both a similar price but the agean blue was all inclusive and I believed at that time of the year there would not be many children as this was not during the school holidays...WRONG, The hotel is definately a family dominated one and in my opinion not suitable for couples as it was heaving with children, It was not easy to sit by the pool and read in peace and quiet as there is always loud music blasting away..We opted to go to the beach one day for a couple of hours of peace and quiet and had to use the sunbeds as the beach was absoloutely filthy, I decided to complain about the fact that it cost 7 euros to sit on the filthy beach and was told that the hotel had nothing to do with beach or the charges it was all goverment run, not sure why that stops them from making some effort to make it more pleasant to sit on, I think paying to sit amongst hundreds of dog ends and empty bottles is not acceptable. I booked the de luxe room..the bed was very comfortable and there the de luxe ends, We had tea making facilities with no convenient plug, the nearest was under the dressing table so thats where the kettle had to sit..on the floor. The sunbeds, always in the shade outside the room , were in a terrible state with dirty covers and wheels missing and sat in mud as there was very little grass growing in the shade, they also provided no privacy whatsoever as they were set next to the neighbours patio. The weather was excellent but on the 1st october the air con gets switched off irrespective of the weather and it was in the 30s, never been to a five star hotel anywhere in the world that this has happened, fortunately we hired a car and were able to go out and buy a fan but heard so many complaints about this,,yes it was abnormally hot so agean blue , show some common sense and leave it on in a heat wave, oh forgot to mention we could have had it turned back on for 8 euros a night but a fan only cost 15 euros and we were ther for 13 days after switch off. The food was very average and if you wanted to eat a bit later the food was definately passed its best often only just warm and way passed its best. The meal times were always very hectic and very noisy with children running all over the place.We chose to eat out alot as there were plenty of small local restaurants that served up very nice freshly cooked meals and not over expensive..This hotel in my honest opinion opinion falls very short of every 5 star hotel we have ever stayed in and at best should only be rated at best a 4 star, In hindsight we should definately stayed at the adult only imperial as it would probably have cost less in the long run as we probably would have ate in the hotel more, One last comment ,the all inclusive is all local spirits and very inferior quality to branded drinks, another reason for drinking at the local bars..Would i go back..definately not and would not recommend it for couples of any age,but having visited the Imperial, well that is 5 star and i would definately book that if i ever went back to rhodes again

Room Tip: Do not book the de luxe rooms as they have no view and no outside privacy, Avoid the bungalows and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My Husband and I took our 2 grown up daughters, their partners and our 18 month old grandson here in September 2012.
Absolutely perfect in every way. Cannot fault it and I'd say it's the best hotel we have ever stayed at.
To list everything about it that is great would take too long, all I can say is, you will not be disappointed. Water park great fun and a real bonus if you have kids or not but they'll love it.
Staff sooo friendly and helpful.
We found a lovely ceramics shop next to the local pharmacy. All handmade by the family and make lovely gifts, not tacky but unique, pretty and good value.
Food was great, always a good choice and changed every day. Drinks strong!
Beautiful setting, out of this world.
Returned from the Caribbean Coast, Mexico in June and I wish I'd tried here first and saved all that travelling.
Weather was beautifully hot and not sticky and humid like Mexico.
Congratulations if you've just booked this hotel, you'll be so pleased you did.
Don't worry if you forget anything, very local supermarkets sell more or less everything.
Our flight home wasn't until 3am, but were able to arrange with reception to keep our daughter's room (with baby) until 6pm for an extra 50 Euros.
Hope this helps, any questions please ask

Room Tip: We had a Double room no. 151. Beautiful view, overlooking the pools, Terrace area, gardens AND sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We arrived about 9.20 on the Wednesday evening and at reception we were told that the restaurant was still open so if we wanted to eat we could and then check in afterwards - this was a nice touch as we were wondering if we would have to start looking for somewhere to eat as we entered the resort. After checking in we were told to wait for the porter to take us and our luggage to our room, a buggy duly arrived and we were taken to our room. We had booked a deluxe room with DVD player, bathrobe and slippers, tea and coffee making facilities (although we had to fill these up from the restaurant) and our own sun loungers. The bed was a king-size with a tempur mattress - we had the best 2 weeks sleep ever. Aircon was perfect which we set to a permanent 18 but several times we had to up this to 21. A quick check outside and it was apparent that we would get the sun from about 11am right through to sunset so we were looking forward to using the loungers if getting beds around the pool were going to be a problem.
I tried a CD in the DVD player and it was evident that there was a problem with the connection as there was no sound, I tried a DVD and although there was a picture there was again no sound.
We unpacked and went to the main bar - this was nicely air conditioned as was the rest of the reception floor, we took our drinks outside into the warmth of the evening. There was a limited range of cocktails on the all-inclusive menu but good enough for us (Black Russian, Margarita and the Special).
Breakfast was great with plenty of choice - fried eggs, sausages some mornings, always bacon although there was generally more fat than meat but there was plenty of it, omelettes and scrambled eggs as well as cheeses, hams, cereals, fruits and pastries. Freshly squeezed orange juice (free) was also available some mornings. Tea and coffee was available together with juices on a self-service basis although the glasses could have been a bit larger - one decent mouthful and it was gone. Unfortunately parents seemed quite happy to let their 5-6 year old help themselves to the juices - the dispenser was about 4 foot off the ground and so a young child has little chance of ensuring that the glass does not overflow, fortunately there was an absorbent mat under the dispensers.
We collected our towels from the mini market and set about finding somewhere to sit - all around the pool the beds were 'reserved' despite what the notices said. However to the left of the pool bar looking towards the pool there was a grass area with 10 fitted parasols - but no beds - we obtained 2 beds and moved them to the grass area and we happily spent the next 2 weeks there and although it gradually got busier we never had a problem getting beds - although 'when in Rome' so we 'reserved' our beds every morning about 8.15 after the sprinklers had been turned off. Some days there were still beds available there until after lunch although around the pools they tended to fill up by 10am.
We booked the hotel in July 2011 aware that it was a family resort but I have to say that we were never put out by children, the Thomson children reps did a good job keeping the children busy and it was only at mealtimes when they walked around with food falling off their plates that there were any problems.
The staff at the pool bar were fantastic - always a smile and good morning - particularly Seva, Lefteris and Marcel, we found the drinks to be quite good although not the red wine! Beer was served in half pint plastic glasses - the other drinks in paper cups holding a bit less than the glass. Despite the number of people wanting a drink we never seemed to wait more than a minute or 2. There have been some comments about the German guests but we found them no different to the others – British, Belgian, Dutch and Swedes. The only noticeable trend was that they sort of shouted/demanded their drinks order to the bar staff rather than be polite and say ‘please’.
Lunch was taken at the taverna although we only went there a half dozen times during our stay, there was plenty of choice and wine, beer and juices were available on a help yourself basis. Some days there was a barbecue of sorts near to the pool bar. On the 2 Thursdays we were there they served up ‘fish and chips’ – the first time the fish was in a curry flavour batter, the second it was ordinary batter. Unfortunately the cook – I would not call him a chef – got the oil too hot both times with the result that the batter cooked first leaving most of the fish quite raw and mushy. A few days we just made do with a cheese salad baguette or toasted sandwich from the stall near the main building.
The evening meals we thought were a let-down, one of the pleasures of going to Greece is the Greek food and all inclusive does not fit in well with our history of Greek hotels – true there is a wide variety of food but sometimes all you want is as basic meal – my favourite was liver which was served on our second Monday. There were always 2 types of soup available and although there was a wide selection of bread there were no plates next to the bread. The restaurant did themed evenings and on the Sundays it was International night which meant a Sunday roast with Yorkshire puddings – sadly the meat (pork) was very dry and the Yorkies were a poor attempt at Aunt Bessies and cold. There was always a good selection of puddings in the evening although several times there were no spoons next to the food later in the evening so I ended up using a soup spoon. The Greek themed night was not very ‘Greek’. We ended up eating out 3 times during our stay at Nikos and Manolis (x2) and I have to say these were the best 3 meals we had on our holiday – the restaurants were about a 25 minute walk from the hotel, I would say that Manolis was about as good as any we had visited in Kalamaki, Zante earlier in the summer.
At the Welcome meeting on the Thursday morning we were provided with a card to indicate any problems we had – so I noted down the fact that the DVD player had no sound. I mentioned this again to the Thomson rep on the Thursday evening after dinner, then again on Friday night when I also mentioned it to the reception staff. On the Saturday we had decided to eat out and by the time we left to go out at 8pm the DVD player was still not working, so I composed a little letter to the manager Mr Kanis which we left at reception on our way out. We came back about 11.30 and had a few drinks at the cool lobby bar where the staff were just as fantastic as at the pool bar. We had purchased a couple of bottles of Chevalier at the supermarket and decided to have some in the room. When we opened the door we noticed a card on the bed and we had a brand new Sony DVD player – which worked. The card asked if we could see Mr Kanis at 9am on the Sunday morning – we did – very pleasant – he wanted to assure us that we had to advise reception of any problems on our holiday, my letter to him was the first indication that he/they had received that there was anything wrong with the DVD player (despite what we had said and written down for the Thomson reps).We mentioned that one of the mattresses on our sun loungers was covered in bird droppings and we did not want to use it – this was replaced a few days later by a brand new mattress.
The advantage of having private loungers was to sit away from the pool if we so desired – however where we were you had your terrace with the grass and loungers beyond that but either side of you there was next door’s terrace alongside your loungers and next door’s loungers alongside your terrace so here was no privacy. Also the morning sprinklers managed to soak the mattresses so that in the end it was a waste of time trying to use them. Some of the deluxe rooms had cramped terraces and indeed quite a few would never get any sun other than for an hour in the morning or afternoon because of the surrounding buildings as will be apparent from photos on this site
The evening entertainment was OK for what we were expecting – the animation team carried out their daily activities (without any real hassle) and then they put a show on for about an hour so they were probably a bit tired. I would say that 2 of the shows were quite decent but the rest were a little out of date. We took to going back to the room a little earlier on some nights with a bottle of wine to watch a film now that the DVD player was fixed.
No one has mentioned the rats around the hotel – we only saw 2 but given that the first was just outside our room (about 10pm) when young children were still around I only hope that the parents kept a close eye on them. The other was walking from the grass at the far side of the hotel towards the Holiday Village to the area where the children’s park is – at first I thought it was a hedgehog but having a closer look it was definitely a large rat (about 8.30pm as we were going out to eat at Manolis in the village) .
To end on a real positive our maid was fantastic, no matter what we did with the towels we always ended up with fresh towels every day. The room was cleaned spotlessly and always smelled fresh. Hanging space was at a premium but there were plenty of shelf space and drawers to accommodate our belongings. People have commented on having to pay for the use of the safe but this is not expensive and is advertised in the brochure so no problems there. You had to pay 20 Euros deposit for your pool towels which could only be changed 3 times a week – that works out at a fresh towel every 2 days and you got your money back – do people who go on self-catering holidays really take 14 beach/pool towels on a 2 week holiday? I don’t think so.
Overall the good points were the fantastic staff in the bars, restaurants and reception, the excellent maid service and the drinks generally; we did not think that the evening meals were anything special although breakfast was clearly the best meal of the day. We had no problems getting sun loungers although most around the pool were snapped up – having said that if we wanted to ‘reserve’ them we could easily have done so, however around the pool you were cramped in together and we would have felt a little uneasy. If we returned to this hotel, which we may, we would not bother with a deluxe room and as for children there are plenty of areas around the hotel where you can relax in comfort without being bothered by them.

Room Tip: Don't bother with the deluxe room option unless you really want use of a DVD player.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We returned last week from the best family holiday we have ever had. The hotel is superb, very clean and wonderful location by the sea. All the hotel staff are extremely friendly and always have a smile for you, the food is good quality, varied and plentiful. As a vegetarian I really appreciated the veggie corner and the choice of salads was brilliant. Wine, beer and cocktails are also good quality (especially the Rose wine and Tequila Sunrise!) This would have made for a great holiday itself but then the Kids clubs and Entertainment team made it fantastic, they are quite simply amazing and lovely! My two boys (aged 8 and 5) cried the whole way home they missed everyone so much.

First the Kid clubs - in the morning and afternoon they spent their time with Victor and Joke who are both brilliant, I loved the fact that this is an international club and my two spent time with other children from all over Europe even learning some Swedish, German and Finnish! For part of the day they were with the Thomson reps who were also brilliant with the boys, playing loads of games and spoiling them completely and as this was indoors it also provided some time out of the sun.

When the boys were in the children's club we spent time taking part in the many activities run by the rest of the fabulous entertainment team darts, archery, beach volley ball and even Zumba!

In the evening the shows put on by the team were brilliant, Loveboat is not to be missed I was crying with laughter! These shows were extremely professional and everyone is incredibly talented. In addition they are all lovely people and the day before we they left gave my eldest son birthday cards and presents, as we were leaving on his birthday, this made him feel so very special.

To everyone at the Aegean - Victor, Joke, Debbie, Lenny, Jelle, Scotty, Stefan, Danni, Tom, Lucie, Simone, Julia, Yvonne, Rhianna, Shaun, Jessica, Lisa, Amy - thank you for a wonderful holiday we miss you all!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here for two weeks 12th-26th September - we had an excellent holiday and this hotel is great, hope our review helps.

Overall
This is a family hotel, if you have kids, they will love every minute, if you don't and don't like children I would suggest going to the Imperial round the corner. We went in September so there was only really babies and toddlers which was fine for us. During our stay the hotel guests were mostly german and scandinavian with some brits. The hotel itself was great but we wouldnt go back to this hotel simply because of the location. if a quiet relaxing holiday is what you are looking for then this is for you.

Room
We booked a deluxe suite and before we went I had emailed the hotel requesting if our room could be one of the sunnier ones based on reviews I had read on here. However, when we arrived our terrace wasn't sunny as it was shaded with huge bushes. I went to the desk to explain and they moved us to the room on the other side, which was really good of them as I later found out that there are two different types of deluxe suite - one is street view (no sun) the other is pool view (some sunny some not dependent on where you are but no bushes!).
The rooms themselves are so clean and spacious, air conditioning was fab and the cleaner comes around everyday so you can get new towels if you want them. There is a fridge which is filled with juice etc on arrival but not restocked. Beds are very comfy! TV only had two british channels (news) but we weren't there to watch the telly.

Food
All meals are a buffett, however at dinner you are taken to your table and can order wine. soft drinks are help yourself too although the glass is tiny! It is clear to see that the hotel caters specially for germans, but this tends to be all in one area so easy to ignore!

Breakfast
great selection - cereals, breads, fruit, yoghurt, croissants, pancakes, waffles and also a great hot selection, like bacon, eggs, beans, sausages, potatoes etc.

Lunch
served in the Taverna bar by the pool and I think it was the best meal. There was always a good selection of hot foods like pizza, spaghetti bolognaise, vegetable dishes, kebab, a salad bar and pasta dishes. There is also a selection of sweets and ice cream. Its open from 12-4 so was also handy for ice cream cones etc.

Dinner
good variety of dishes too similary to lunch etc more options. The themed nights were good too, especially the italian, asian and mexican. Deserts were delicious, alot of cream pastries and cakes - lovely but not so good for the waistline!

You also get one visit to either the Italian Al a carte restaurant, when the guest relations manager found out we were recently married we got to eat in both for free! So having eaten in both I can say that the Asian restaurant is so much better. The desert at the italian restaurant was served with tinned strawberries... enough said. some people have said you need to pay for drinks in the restaurants - this is only for wine, and even then they will serve house wine if you ask.

Snacks
there was a snack bar open 11-5 with paninis, baguettes and pocorn. You could also get ice cream and some food from the pool bar. They also served afternoon tea in the hotel reception with cakes. Sadly we missed crisps! but there was a mini market by the pool that sold juice and crisps etc and also pool inflatables, toys etc.

You could also ask for a packed lunch for the next day and they give you a cool bag and let you help yourself to sandwiches, fruit, crisps and drinks. We did this and took the sandwiches to the airport which was great as you were 8 euros for chips.

Weather
For our two week stay the average temperature was about 29 degrees, never much less or more than that but there was a very gentle breeze which was perfect.

Pools/Beach
Freezing! well quite cold anyway, they were fine once you got in and got moving, none of the kids seemed to mind. There are 3 in total, a shallow kids one, a middle of the road one and a quiter one at the back for adults which is deeper.

Alot of people have spoken about reserving sun loungers, to be honest the first week we arrived we did it too. Don't get me wrong there is plenty to go around and the people that do it seem to be those that dont use them until mid morning, but we ended up putting our towels down on our way to breakfast, then coming back and lying down - it was easier than taking them up with us! In the second week the hotel was so much emptier and there was no issue, but even if you choose to lie in bed until lunchtime you will still get a lounger! There are some on the grass nearer the beach and away from the pool which we never used but would be quieter if you dont like the pool. there are also loungers on the beach which I believe you pay for but we never went down there. The beach itself was fine, small and a bit stoney but 100x better than any you would find in Scotland!

Water park
Brand new and good for a change of scenery. There are 5 slides in total, and a lazy river. it is right next to reception so easy to reach and great for kids.

Entertainment & Location
So these two are the reason that we, as a young couple wouldnt go back. The entertainment team work so hard and I must admit the kids we saw absolutely loved the shows, however, due to the location of the hotel it was this or nothing really. The entertainment comes on at 8.30 for the kids for an hour then 9.30 - 10.30 for adults. Some shows like the diva night were good and there is no denying the effort from staff.

Having said that the entertainment during the day was really good, football, archery and aquagym were really good.

The hotel is located about 20 mins slow walk from Kolimbia (or the same length of time on the small train that runs there and back and costs 3 euro) but nothing else is within walking distance really. You can get a bus outside the hotel to rhodes and Thomsons said we could get a bus to Lindos but we went on one of their arrange excursions instead. There is a bar about 5 minutes walk from the hotel called the star bar which we loved, good beer, hot chocolate and crepes, free popcorn, mini golf and big screen football. We were there quite a few nights just to get a change of scenery.

We went to Marmaris for the day - fantastic but beware of the boat if you get sea sick! We also went on the tale of two and a half cities which was great too, got to see rhodes and lindos in one day and had enough time to enjoy both cities. We did it this way as it was convenient, picked up and dropped off at the door with a guided tour on the way.

If you could lift this hotel and move it somewhere central it would be perfect. But if you are happy with a relaxing holiday or time away with the kids then this hotel has everything you could want.

Room Tip: We paid extra for a deluxe suite - these are only as advertised if you get a pool view not a street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Atlantica Club Aegean Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Club Aegean Blue

Address: PO Box 4101, Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Atlantica Club Aegean Blue 4.5*
Number of rooms: 396
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The location of this hotel offers the most amazing views of the sapphire Mediterranean seas. The perfect place for families and children of all ages. So much to do, no one will ever be bored. If you're travelling with little ones, they'll have a ball splashing around in the children's pool and letting off steam in the playground. Direct access to the beach, club- style facilities and organized activities make the Atlantica Agean Blue the ideal holiday for everyone! Number of rooms :396 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Atlantica Club Aegean Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Club Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Aegean Blue Hotel
Hotel Atlantica Aegean Blue
Atlantica Club Aegean Blue Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Club Aegean Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.