We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Time - Fantastic Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantica Imperial Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolimbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantica Imperial Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   PO Box 4101, Kolimbia 85103, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 30 hotels in Kolimbia
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“First Time - Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

My wife and I decided to visit this hotel for the first time for a mid October week, after looking at it for a number of years.
We have been to a number of the Atlantica group hotels and this hotel seemed to offer a wide range of room selections and more space outside.
We weren't disappointed, we were looked after from the moment we arrived, until we left.
The hotel itself is gorgeous, with little positive things such as a 'pillow menu', which really is very welcome.
We tended to eat in the Atrium most evenings, as we enjoyed the quietness and personal touch.
We ate in the Al a carte once during our stay and really enjoyed the experience. It is slightly frustrating though, to have to pay for a quality piece of steak when we used the 'stone grill' option.
All the staff were extremely friendly and were happy to talk to us, even though they were very, very busy.
We stayed in a beach front suite. Once we got used to having passers by looking into our room, as they passed by we really settled down. We also really enjoyed the convenience of lying on our own cabana right outside our door.
There a couple of niggly little negatives, for instance, the outrageous cost of hiring a, far to small safe for a week, and also, that I had to renew the gym key fob on a daily basis (I actually lost interest in going to the gym as I couldn't be bothered doing this everyday). Locating the gym was very interesting, as the very small gym is not where you think it should be, next to the spa, but tucked away on the top floor as far from the public areas as possible - Very strange.
As we went mid October, the local area (hotels and shops) was fast closing down for the season, which made walking/running around it,a bit depressing.
The beach is fine, although sandy in places and lots of pebbles in others.
Overall, we were very impressed, and have cancelled a planned Summer 2013 holiday to Crete and booked a swim up room here.
Thankyou to all the staff who have worked so very hard to ensure a great experience for us.
Looking forward to seeing you in July 2013. Gary & Lorna

Room Tip: We stayed in a beach front suite which gives you your own cabana, which is great for a mid afternoon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    865
    252
    73
    27
    7
See reviews for
62
954
3
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (386)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

like the other reviews have said this hotel is a Thomson couples only hotel,that means no kids, every one else seems to have had a glass of champagne on their arrival....not us..maybe thats because we arrived at 0100 am , fine then why not offer it to us in the morning ok its only a drink but its the principle that counts.when we opened the curtains to look at the sea view that we hsd booked were somewhat disapointed as we could not see the sea???.when i pointed this out to the rep she told me that they dont check the rooms for views they just print what the hotel says ,oh dear thats not to clever... still .On the bright side room clean,food good,but a bit pricy we were half board and if you orderd a coffee at the pool side it would cost you 4euros,thats ok i hear you say ,sure but from a push button machine ,i dont think so .also why do we have to pay for the sunbeds on the beach.we didnt at the other hotel we have sayed at in lindos.as for the local area nice shops and bars but a bit gruby could do with a road sweeper or 5.in general very nice place and hotel needs to go some to make it a 4or5 star,would i go back um no i dont think so but i will say half of the problems were of thomsons making.

Room Tip: we had a room on the first floor,and they said it would have a sea view...no only the rooms on the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, Surrey.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed here at the end of September in a superior room and had a wonderful time.
The Atlantica Imperial is an adults only hotel which is great when you want to relax.
The hotel has daily activites - walk around Kolimbia, cooking lessson, cocktail making etc etc which are all good fun as well as the daily quiz with Richard (who is a superstar and works really hard to make everyone feel included).

Food is good quality and variety including theme nights.
The usual soups, salads and hot food stations. Sweets were very good too.
Went to the a la carte once which was incuded in the all inclusive package and the food was of good quality.

There is a nice pool area but we went to the beach to sunbathe which cost 4 euros per sun bed. The beach is shingle so take some beach shoes or cheap flip flops. The beach was never busy but maybe this was due to the time of year we went.

Excursions provided by Thomson were many and varried. We went on the tale of 2 and half cities, Rhodes by knight and Symi all of which were very good fun and tour guide Paul was excellent. Very knowledgeable.

Staff at the hotel really made us feel so welcome and really made our holiday special.

Well done Atlantica!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We visited this hotel for a week in October and loved it. This is a Thomson Couple hotel and there are no children allowed. Everything about this hotel is wonderful from the check in (refreshing towel and glass of champagne upon arrival) to the time you sadly have to leave. There is so much positive stuff to day about this hotel that it is too much to put on a review. So if you fancy a complete escape with amazing service and wonderful looking bedrooms please get in touch

Room Tip: We booked a superior room with sea view. Well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We booked this holiday because of very positive Trip Advisor comments and reccomendation from our Thomson agent.The plus points being the actual hotel and rooms are all very pleasant.We had a superior room with upstairs for bedroom and carpeted, sofa etc downstairs.Bed very comfy apart from waterproof protector which made us a bit sweaty.Aircon all fine and all other bathroom etc and maid service good too.Weather was great for end Oct.Everyday temp around 24deg.3 days out of 7 temp went easily above 25deg.Hired a car from Rodos cars,(based in hotel) 3 days for 80 euros ,done nearly 300 miles in total.The scenery around Lindos is best , and old Rhodes town very nice too.Evening entertainment was ok but could have been more varied as each eve there was basically singing and music quiz, although to be fair to Thomsons, Richard and Stephanie do give 100 per cent effort.The biggest dissapointment was the food.At the start of the week we were given a champagne type drink on arrival and because of our late check in had a nice fruit platter and drink in room, but food quality deteriorated quickly after day 1.Some of the food was quite cold and seemed to be same everyday.Another major niggle being halfboard is the fact you have to buy your drinks and we feel a nice touch would have to have been given water with your eve meal.So to conclude feel that more effort needed with food and the drink policy,( you can have as much juice and tea, coffee as you like for breakfast so why no drink with an eve meal?) When we said no drink the waiters took the glasses off our table so we couldnt use them to fill with our own water which we took in as they charge nearly 4 euros for a bottle of water when you can get six at the local supermarket for 1 euro 50 cents.Not 5 star at moment probably a 3 would be fair as others have said this week too.Prob best not to go at start or end of season .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northants
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This our 3rd time at this Hotel and resort and can honestly say it is one of the best on the Island the staff make you very welcome. We always go All inclusive because we have noticed that the price of drinks is exspensive and some friends of our did not and they found that they could upgrade to include drinks when they were at the hotel.As previously mentioned if you did not book all inclusive you can do this at the hotel and it is slightly cheaper than Thomson charge .The food is out of this world and there is plenty of choice especially the deserts which you could put on weight by just looking at them.The rooms are of avery high standard and are cleaned daily. Because the Hotel is situated out of any main towns the area surrounded with only has few bars,shops & restaurants so if you want a peaceful and restfull holiday then this is the place to go, otherwise I would look elsewhere. Overall an excellent relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: If you can, try to book rooms that are away from the main hotel and are situated overlooking the se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Returned from a week here two days ago. The hotel is nice, very spacious and clean... and right next to the beach. BUT we found that as it was the last week of the season the surrounding shops, bars cafes had all closed but this is not to detract from the Imperial. This hotel does NOT merit five stars for the food - which was mediocre at best. Those guests who have given it five stars have obviously never heard of waiter service, cordon bleu food, or chilled juice at breakfast not watered down. I disliked having a different table/ staff member at each meal, ALL food is self service and some of the dishes were poor. One option for breakfast was boiled carrots! Some evenings there were six or seven options for dinner but we didn't fancy any of them. The dining room was large and reminiscent of a Butlins and charmingly (but not healthily), there were birds flying around the dining hall.

I paid 25 euros for the safety deposit key; unlike most other hotels nothing was refunded at the end of our stay. Drinks were expensive; even a bottled water and a coke came to about E9.00.

We had a nice, relaxing week but it would have made all the difference for us to have had waiter service and decent food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Atlantica Imperial Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantica Imperial Resort

Also Known As:
Atlantica Imperial Hotel Kolimbia
Atlantica Imperial Hotel
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes
Hotel Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Rhodes
Atlantica Imperial
Atlantica Imperial Resort Rhodes, Greece
Address: PO Box 4101, Kolimbia 85103, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Atlantica Imperial Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Couples only resort. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Atlantica Imperial Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Atlantica Imperial Resort to your Saves list