We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great time ~ hated to leave!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Rhodes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolimbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Rhodes
Save
You added Holiday Village Rhodes to your Saves list
Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kolimbia
Harold Park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Had a great time ~ hated to leave!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

My husband and I visited Holiday Village Rhodes from the 21st to 28th September. It was our first all-inclusive holiday and it was great! We wanted a place we hadn’t been to before; a place with sun for the time of year; a place with historical sites; we wanted to fly out of Stansted and didn’t want to worry about a thing. We found it! Our room was large, modern and spotless. Room service came every day. The grounds were very attractive and well-maintained. We stayed in the Active Area, which included the waterpark, entertainment area and the largest dining area. We still had access to the slightly quieter pools (with a swim-up bar), indoor pool, spa and adults-only evening entertainment on the Relax side. All the staff worked very hard and were extremely helpful and friendly. The food was plentiful with lots of choice. I have never seen so many salads. The buffets had all the usual fare and at every meal there might be a theme or something else special. Children and vegetarians are well catered for - you won’t go hungry! We made one day trip to Rhodes Old Town and Mandraki Harbour. Wow! It is not to be missed if you love history, culture and architecture. The bus stop is around the corner from the Holiday Village; easy enough to find. Everyone we encountered spoke at least some English, so language was never a problem. I never had to use my Greek phrase book! There were lots of activities to get involved with if you chose, but there was no pressure. There was an activity board that let you know what was going on and where. The entertainment team worked all day with the activities and then onstage in the evenings, first for kids and, afterwards, for the older guests. Remember, Holiday Village is a family resort. At the time of year we went, the children were very young; it might be a very different atmosphere during school holidays. The kids clubs and activities and attention paid to children was terrific! The economic problems of Greece is obvious in the surrounding area, with abandoned building sites and some places needing upgrading or maintenance, but this is not seen in the holiday resorts, which are lovely. The Greek people were very welcoming and we found prices reasonable. For the most part we had no complaints at all it would be these: Jacuzzi unheated (unheard of!). The red wine was not very nice. In the Greek a la carte onsite restaurant all they could offer me (a vegetarian) was a veggie burger and chips! I had hoped for an aubergine moussaka or something nice with filo pastry at least. Some people allowed their children to run around noisily during shows which was distracting. While Holiday Village Rhodes offers great relaxation, service, accommodation, food and activities to everyone, I think anyone with mobility problems would have a rough time of it off-site. We really loved our time at Holiday Village Rhodes and want to thank everyone there as well as Thomson and First Choice. We now want more sun and all-inclusives!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    950
    313
    134
    51
    23
See reviews for
1,075
117
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

Amazing swim up family room. Clean and high quality. Pools lovely but I really would recommend specifying the relax side as this is where the swim up bar is and it's easy enough to go to activity side during the day for main meals and waterpark. Food great quality and pretty varied over a week (even sushi was good). Entertainment was great for the kids but damn I'm fed up of chocolatte... This is definitely a holiday for the kids and there is nothing to do out side of the hotel (the beach is pointless) but it's quick and cheap to hire a car in reception to travel to lindos etc where it's beautiful. The first choice reps (bar lucy) were awful, kids club had the kids sulk with me for a whole day for one two hour disco that was boring and some really bad service had by us but ultimately the kids had a once in a lifetime kind of holiday and loved every second. Local staff are brilliant and you can even buy all the inflatables needed cheaply downstairs. As long as you remember it's heaven for the kids there's plenty of luxury and rum to get you through the endless entertainment with a smile on your face.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms amazing but some in lots of shade. Avoid activity side if you want to stay near your r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from spending half term week at Holiday Village Rhodes. I have to say it was the perfect getaway, better than I could have ever expected. The staff were all wonderful and without a doubt made the holiday what it was.
We stayed in the deluxe area so was able to use the clubhouse restaurant as an alternative to the main restaurant. Having breakfast turned into our favourite part of our holiday, relaxed with gentle music playing in the background and as soon as your coffee cup was half empty it was filled back up again.
We stayed in a swim up room which I think was well worth the money as there was no worry about sun bed reserving and I could watch the kids very easily, we didn't get sun on our patio until early afternoon but it wasn't a problem at all.
The whole site was beautifully clean and the rooms were modern and spacious, the bathrooms were great with a massive shower with jets and a rainfall big shower head, as well as a separate bath.
The activity side was only a short walk through the underpass and then there is all the entertainment a kid could want. Ours didn't take part in the entertainment so I can't go into any details, but from what I saw it was first class. There are loads of pools and bars, our kids especially enjoyed browsing the non alcoholic cocktail list and ordering themselves a drink! (I enjoyed a rhodes sunset or two as well!) we only managed to drag ourselves away for one day to go to visit Rhodes Old Town which was also an amazing trip.
The main restaurant was fab with something for everyone, I was able to try some delicious Greek food while my fussy son was able to eat sausages and chips!
We have returned feeling refreshed and relaxed and I would recommend this Holiday Village to any family whether you enjoy activity and entertainment or not. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4405 which was a deluxe swim up room, it was wonderful and on the end of a block...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Well, we had a fb time, no idea why people have COMPLAINED, especially about the pools being cold...Its OCTOBER, or did you not know that!?

I stayed with my partner and our 11 yearold son and we had a great holiday, STAFF -Great, First Choice Team - Great, Rooms- Great, everything was good APART from the Mackem on the Ents team (Chris) Joking!...

The only complaints I have are that the wine is really NOT GOOD, and that we tried booking the al a cartes on the first day to be told they were fully booked! However, guests who arrived 3 days AFTER we did managed to get booked in and dined there whilst we were still there? Not sure who is to blame for this? We always book hotels that have at least 2 al a cartes as the main restaurant can become a bit boring, this hotel has '3' and we were told they were fully booked despite noticing EVERY night that they were virtually EMPTY!

This aside we loved our stay here and met a lovely family Clive, Debbie, Megan and Connor

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

We have just returned from this holiday village where we spent half term week. First impressions were excellent, got to the hotel about 10pm and there was bubbly for adults and juice for kids and there was a small buffet laid on, (we've never had this at any other hotels we have stayed in). In general this is a lovely place to stay, plenty to do, entertainment excellent, food excellent. BUT if you like to wander and have a look outside the hotel then you will be sorely disappointed. Kolymbia has nothing to see or do (I don't know if this was because it was the end of the season), the beach is a short walk, pebbly and rather unimpressive, sea was lovely though.
If this hotel was in any other location it would deserve its 5 star status, as it is if you only want to stay on site then it will suit you down to the ground.

Room Tip: We were in 3124, had a lovely view of pool. We were on activity side which is obviously noisier but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, MIddlesex
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We have just returned from this holiday village with our children..
We had a swim up room which was superb, modern and cleaned daily.
There was a great selection of food to choose from, all the staff was very friendly and very good with the children.
We hired a car from within the resort and drove to the golden sands beach for the day - which the kids loved, and a picnic was made for us by the resort to take..
There really isn't anything bad I can say about this place, it was a great week we look forward to returning for another holiday..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey,UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This was our first visit to the holiday village in Rhodes, we have have been to 2 others so now the format. We paid for a swim up room but found that our pool was only in the sun for an hour in the morning so our kids never used it as it was so cold. The heated pool in the relax area is good, still not really warm but not as cold as the others, food was really good till the last couple of days which I think was down to the fact that the hotel was closing the day we left. Kids clubs like normal fantastic for our 8 year old but really disappointed that our 12 year old had really nothing to do as the escape rep went home at the end of summer!! I will be complaining to first choice as the teenagers were really just left to their own devices not good!
The entertainment team were good, you can tell when Stuart and Adam are in as things run more smoothly, the abba tribute band were fantastic that was bought in. The entertainment team really stepped up on the last two nights and the show on the last night was amazing Kayleigh can really sing! G was the funniest person especially doing bingo!
Even thought the hotel was closing when we left for the season most of the staff were ok and still wanted the guests to have a good holiday, a few you could see were on wind down but if you had been doing the same thing day in day out for the past 6 months I think I would be too!
Lauren and Miles in the kids club were fantastic with the kids as well as Alex! They had a Halloween custome making day before a fantastic party they made sure every kid had something to dress up in if they wanted to!
We would go back, rooms are lovely just would request on in the sun. Only bug with the room is my hubby complained that the tv only had news on it nothing else. Where the cuprus and egypt villag have a full rnage of programmes. You have free wifi in your room and all main buildings which is good.
We would go back as we all had a fantastic time.
Only thing to point out is that the town on this last week is completely closed, the shops only open certain times. We went to the beach one day all pebbles but good only a 5 min walk, there is all the usually watersports peddlos, banana boats, jet skis and it was not that cold, take beach shoes though as pebbles in sea as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.