We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for families, but very isolated for couples” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Rhodes

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kolimbia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Holiday Village Rhodes
Save
You added Holiday Village Rhodes to your Saves list
Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kolimbia
West Malling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great for families, but very isolated for couples”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

If you've got kids, I'd imagine this will be a dream holiday. It's nice that they split into a family side and couple side, but meals are in one place meaning a LOT of children running around whenever you're eating. There's so much for kids to do with games seemingly running throughout the day and a focussed entertainment plan for them. For couples, there's VERY little to do.

Our review is somewhat biased by the weather as we went at the very start of October and the pool was so freezing cold that we never actually managed to get in! That meant that things like the lazy river and water slides all became a little pointless. We were also gutted that we paid the extra for a swim up apartment but never once got to 'swim up' to it. In fairness, this was our fault for going at the end of the season, but it's worth considering if you're thinking of booking at that time of year yourselves. Again possibly due to the time of year, the entertainment in the evenings was incredibly limited - the adult bar was always empty and the family entertainment was mixed, although Barlow and the entertainment team gave some good sing songs!

Staff throughout the hotel and in reception and the like were incredibly friendly and the hotel was clean and modern - no complaints on that front.

Food was surprisingly good foor a buffet menu - there was a massive selection of food that was always warm and varied and we certainly had no complaints throughout the week.

Biggest disappointment for us were the drinks, something that we as a couple enjoy a few of in the evening to pass the time. The wine was dire and the cocktails were so weak, both in terms of alcoholic content and the flavour, that we gave up drinking them and towards the end of the holiday we took the 40 minute bus into Rhodes Town to get some proper drinks.

Beware, you're very isolated in the location and there's not much to do at the hotel in the evenings, so unless you're running round after the kids or happy to take the lengthy bus ride to Rhodes, you may find yourself a little bored.

As a final tip, if you got to Rhodes, seek out Socratous Garden down one of the side alleys. We had a brilliant time there. Fantastic staff and a brilliant atmosphere - food is a little lacklustre, but it depends what you want it for!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,487 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    961
    316
    135
    52
    23
See reviews for
1,084
120
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Redditch, United Kingdom
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Best holiday i have ever been on! I went in the deluxe area with the swim up pools and they were just amazing! I woke up at 8 oclock in the morning and jumped strate in the pool, There was a wide selection of food and we had the nicest waitor, George. The rooms extremely clean when we came back. I would definatly Recommend this hotel as it is the best hotel ever!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are the best ones as it has an xbox to play on!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Spent 2 weeks at holiday village. The receptionist was very helpful and always happy to help. The holiday reps were fantastic and we booked a few trips with them. It was great to see Rhodes as none of the family had been here. Lindos is fantastic and Rhodes town was beautiful especially by night. Recommend That you go on the Rhodes trip. The pools and rooms were great(had a swim up room on main pool). There is a quiet side that we used a couple of time to just relax. there was a splash park with a lazy river that my younger brothers never got out of. The restaurant was brilliant and the staff were always greeting you with a smile. The food was always varied and hot with plenty of choice. Probly the best buffet food in a resort. We didn't use the kids clubs as my brothers are teenagers but we made friends with a young family with a 6 year old that loved it and wanted to go to every session available. The efficiency of the kids staff were fantastic. The entertainment was great and there was always something to do during the day like pool quiz and smite. The evening entertainment was good too just a little cold outside. Only bug bear is that it could be closer to the beach but was only a 5 minute walk so we are a little lazy. Overall a fantastic holiday and will be recommending this holiday village over the others we have been to.

The Harvey family. 2 adults 2 teenagers (16-17)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Visited the Holiday Village Rhodes activity area in August 2012 with my partner and 2 children aged 6 & 1.
On arrival we were greeted with drinks, given wristbands and taken to the restaurant where a mini buffet was provided.
Rooms-
Large spacious and modern and clean, as we were travelling with an infant we requested a cot.......the cot was broken we immidetly contacted reception who agreed to send maintenance round, I think he must have got lost as he turned up 3 days later!
Be careful if your on the ground floor and are travelling with infants as the balcony is not safe as it has no safety bars kids can fall right off it.

Food-
Snack bar was ace...........fresh gyros kebabs, burgers, hotdogs, pizza and fresh cold sandwiches,
Buffet restaurant was also very good, the restaurant staff were brilliant especially aleks who my kids loved. Plenty of choice for breakfast & dinner.

Entertainment-
The entertainment staff worked very hard day and night, not much fun entertainment for adults.
Usually starts with i5 live, then a tribute.......however I did quite enjoy barlows take that tribute.
I did notice entertainment seemed to be repeated in week 2.

The resort its self is beautiful, my lad was disappointed he was not allowed on the slides in the waterpark as he was under 10 :-(
The biggest let down of the holiday was the location of the hotel, middle of nowhere, very boring and little to do outside the resort other than Star Bar which is across the road from the hotel......we spent most nights here keeping my son occupied with crazy golf and the bouncy castle after the entertainment in the hotel had finished.

A must is a visit to tsambika beach, the beach is pure sand unlike the others which are rocky.

Would I go back.............purely because of the location no!

Off to the Grand Riviera Princess in Mexico 26/3/13 for 2 weeks, keep an eye out for my review!

I hope you have found this review usefull.

Manish

Room Tip: Definately worth upgrading to a family swim up room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went to this hotel for 10 nights and are a couple with a 2 and 5 year old.As soon as we arrived check in was a breeze and we were greeted off the coach with someone taking our heavy bags.We were met in the lobby with a glass of champagne each and an orange juice for the little ones.The hotel is absolutley spotless and the decoration was really modern and the rooms were very nice with a lcd tv etc.The food is very nice and there is something for everyone to eat no matter what you like.The pools are very nice and the kids loved the water park ,we also enjoyed the swim up bar.Entertainment is good but very child orientated but we didnt mind.

They also have a cinema in the hotel which you can use when you like.Theres not much to do in the local area .Theres a couple of bars and a stone beach by the hotel,however the location was not a problem as the hotel was so nice and there was some good excursions,we particuarly loved the pirate boat trip where you have chance to jump in the sea and visit some beaches.

Overall the holiday was excellent and the staff were brilliant and great with kids.Would definatley return.weather was scorching also :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

In our group the ages of the children ranged from 1 year to 10 years and there was plenty for all ages to do. The kids clubs and entertainment were perfect. The resort and rooms were clean, tidy and beyond our expectations. All pools were clean and well maintained along with the grounds. The food was excellent with plenty of choice at every mealtime, even to cater to the fussiest of eaters to the most adventurous, and all food was clearly made fresh, they even had a kids section which proved to be a hit with the youngsters. All staff were friendly and willing help. Would definitely recommend and would go back in a heart beat.

Room Tip: Swim up rooms are perfect if you have little ones that sleep in the day because you can swim and sun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We travelled in October 2012 and stayed for 10 nights and absolutely loved it. Th accommodation was superb and was very well maintained by the wonderful maids. The pools were great, we have a 6 yr old and a 4 yr old and they loved them. The kids entertainment was hilarious. The food was amazing, varied and delicious. The restaurants were spotless and a pleasure to eat in. One thing that really stuck out for us were the Greek staff. They are an absolute credit to First Choice and I hope they are recognised for this. The restaurant staff were unbelievable, so welcoming and couldn't do enough for us, they were especially good with the children. A wonderful holiday and I will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Spa
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
#1 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Spa Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 274
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.