We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Village Rhodes

Save Saved
You added Holiday Village Rhodes to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Village Rhodes
Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 30 hotels in Kolimbia
Ashford, Kent
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed for a week in early October and loved every minute of it. Chose this particular resort as the weather was likely to better in October than the Med and the fact that the complex was only a couple of years old. Stayed in a holiday village for the first time last summer (see Holiday Village Viva review) so we had good idea as to the set up but we were totally made up when we arrived at the Rhodes village as it knocked spots off last years holiday. We opted to stay in the deluxe area and we did hesitate at the time as to whether it was likely to be worth the £450/500 extra over a normal family swim up room in the relax area. Once we arrived though we would have paid the extra just for the privilege of eating in the separate al la carte restaurant and avoiding the mad scramble for food that we experienced on last years first experience! Even eating with our 3 year old was a pleasure this time. Kids menu stayed the same all week so no surprises re choices available (although chicken nuggets were scary!!) think I only had one naff main meal all week and the remainder was lovely, portions small but nice none the less. Was nice to have a waiter etc to take orders / serve drinks at the table so made breakfast & dinners far more relaxing. The additional themed nights in either the Italian or Greek restaurants also were much better than last year, proper places to eat as opposed to just roped off areas of the main buffet restaurant. We only had time to sample the Italian, 5 courses left us feeling well & truly stuffed - Lovely. In fairness though the main buffet restaurant in the main complex was also very nice, we would go here for lunch most days. Large covered outdoor area was nice to eat in & helped it not feel canteen like, set up also seemed a lot more calm as well, perhaps it was just the clientele this time that made the difference!?
Room wise, the swim up deluxe family room was great, we also had the added advantage of having a hot tub (there appeared only to be tub in each block of 6 so added bonus for us as we didn't ask for it. It was great for our little boy (3 yrs) as he was just as happy to play in the tub as go in the pool, which also meant we could relax on the loungers on the patio and pop indoors as & when. Downside though was that like the pool the tub was not 'hot' / heated and the jets were controlled by reception, they were timed to come on and you could call them up to get it switched off or turned back on again. We soon realised better to have off all the time as made so much noise you couldn't hear yourself think & once we discovered anyway that it was not heated the novelty for us adults wore off! The rooms have a half level secondary patio door which can only be opened from the outside so good safety measure to stop the kids running out to the pool / patio unaccompanied. Our little one doesn't even wear arm bands but at no time did we feel concerned re being on ground level with a pool directly on your patio. Being a family room we had a sliding wood / glass partition which separated our sons sleeping area from ours, & whilst the main room was not huge (unlike the bathroom!?) the finish was excellent together with the beds / bedding which can normally leave a lot to be desired! We forgot to book a late check out when we booked the holiday originally as had a night flight, once we arrived the rep advised better to use one of the hotel's comfort rooms for a 30min slot on the day you leave to freshen up as opposed to another EUR 90.00 that the hotel would have charged for you to keep your room for the rest of the day. This worked well for us, checkout is midday, managed to drag that out almost another hr without anyone chasing us, chilled round the pool for the pm, used room at 5pm and got picked up at 7pm so could have been worse and saved some EUR's!
As with last year entertainment was first class, in particular for the kids with I 5Live shows, and the kids club entertainment also looked first class (not that our little one was having any of it being left there!)...
This is not a cheap holiday, and looking at same time next year + with a free child place which we didn't get this year we are looking at £700+ again on top of this years price which works out very punchy, but we've been somewhat spoilt now so tough one as to where to go next. As per
previous comments surrounding area is the only downside to the resort, really nothing going on
in the surrounding area & beach looked very grim, probably all made worse though due to it coming up for end of season, but this didn't bother us as had to many nice things keeping us in the 'village', and by all accounts there were some lovely beaches a short cab ride away.
Great time had by all!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Deluxe area, a lot of the rooms were in the shade or got the sun late in the day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,219 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    760
    279
    112
    47
    21
See reviews for
913
91
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (419)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

blimey some people on here are fussy arnt they. i know its an expensive holiday but i think your being picky. as for the entertainment being like butlins in the 70s , obviously u dont go to butlins, and the nurse dressed like a porn star?u would know!!! we booked a week b4 we went to hv rhodes and we had a thoroughly good week. it was the last week of the season but you wouldnt have known. it defo wasnt "closing down around us" the food was coming out all the time even tho their were very few people left. they didnt mind the waste. we were all offered extra time i our room as we had the last coach out of resort at 6pm which u would normally pay for and even a lady who had paid for it had her money refunded. we arrived to champagne and our bags taken to our room. the room was lovely. the channels on tv were greek until u changed them to english. we took our own tea and coffee and kettle as it didnt state our room came with it so were delighted to see it did. the pools were great although chilly but thats what u get that time of year. all the staff were friendly and never questioned our son going to the bar 100 times a day for drinks and ice cream unlike other holidays we have been on. the entertainment isnt great for adults but this is aimed at children. there were plenty of kids clubs. food was stunning. ive never eaten so well. i do think while the hotel is shut and the pools are drained they should spend attention on the loose tiles as my son cut his foot in the indoor pool and couldnt use a pool for a day. the nurse was very good at cleaning it. over all i would defo go back. it was a fab holiday and all we needed was warmer weather which we would get next time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We went for a week at the end of October, and this happened to be the last week of the hotel's season.
The hotel was brilliant, nice rooms, good food (although the packed lunch was rather disappointing), lovely staff. The area, however, was a bit disappointing - most places were shut down, and you had to venture further afield to find anything but a few shops.
We hired a car from the very helpful rep that was based within the hotel - very easy to do and meant that we saw the majority of the island.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I got married here in September 2012 there were 33 of us and we had the best time ever ! We stayed here for the first week just us and our 2 children 1 and 3 and had a fab time , very geared up for children they loved it . Food is great with lots of choice for all ages and rooms are very modern with comfy beds. We stayed in a swim Up deluxe room which was well worth the extra and had the added benefit of having its own restaurant where the service was outstanding ! We were greeted every meal time with a hand shake and the kids with a high five which they loved ! George was amazing and always had a smile on his face . We were met on our second day by our wedding planner Jade and guest relations manager Carl and they basically just arranged our whole wedding for us just how we wanted it every last detail they were both fantastic . The whole day from start to finish went to plan and we honestly could not of asked for a better day . From walking down the aisle to our amazing BBQ and Greek dancers we had a ball !! Special thanks to Carl Harris the busiest person ever but still couldn't do enough for us. He was with us for the duration of our special day ensuring there were no problems which kept us at ease to enjoy it all the more . Thanks Carl you were great love from the Pembertons .















  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

What can I say! Thankyou so much all at holiday village rhodes. You truly know how to make a stay special.nothing was too much trouble for anyone.everyone was genuinely friendly and made everyone, especially children feel extra special.we stayed for 1 week from 13 th October and were lucky to have hot weather and wall to wall sunshine. Pools were great.lazy river and slides were great fun. Food was fab, lots of choice and super fresh. Show cooking was a great idea too. Greeting/restaurant staff deserve a really big thankyou for going out of their way every mealtime. Plenty of snacks around out of mealtimes too...the wine and beer was really enjoyable and cocktails great. Entertainment staff work hard and are a hit with kids.the kids club was very well run and my daughter was hooked after thinking she would give one a try. High ropes were also a hit and again very well run.
Rooms were lovely and cleaned daily...housekeeping staff also worked hard and did a great job even making sure teddy was arranged just so after making my daughters bed everyday. Resort wasn't huge but we were aware of this before we booked choosing hotel over location. It is 45 mins approx to both Lindos and rhodes town on a cheap local bus. Both made a great trip out, so the location seemed convenient to us.
All in all a big 10 out of 10 all round.we couldn't fault anything. Would definitely recommend..thank you holiday village rhodes! .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our family had a wonderful time during our 7 day break at the holiday village. I believe this is graded a level '5 sun' resort (they have not claimed to be a 5 star so we didn't ever go expecting that) We went Deluxe swim-up and definately felt the 'wow-factor'. The rooms and resort were very clean and we felt well looked after by the very friendly and professional staff who clearly enjoyed and took their job seriously. The room was cleaned daily and we were always very happy with the room when we arrived back from the pool. The restaurant staff at the Cosmopolitan were always so friendly and pampered our 4 year old daughter making meal times a real highlight. The service here was exceptional and we still compare places we have eaten at since to the high standrs the staff at the Cosmopolitan have set. The food was always first class and much better then we had hoped for. The only negative was the wine, particularly the red, that could have been of a higher standard. There were always more than enough sunbeds at all the pools with inflatable pool toys left by previous guests. Our daughter loved the little stars kids club and really enjoyed the 90minute clubs they held - she went to about 1 or 2 a day. The active area was amazing and the lazy river was a great idea. After our meal we went to the kids stage shows which I must admit were very good and fun for everyone. It was a great environment to be apart of. We didn't stray far other than a walk to the local beach. We have already re-booked for next October '13 as it was perfect. We may sacrifice a half day to visit Rhodes next visit.

Room Tip: Deluxe was great for the exclusive restaurant. It also offered a quiet retreat from the busier acti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

we have just returned from holliday village ,not a good place to go in October.We stayed in the exclusive part with a swim up balcony ,the swim up balcony was excellent our nine year old loved it .The water was very very cold so I only went in twice You have your own restaurant in the exclusive area so breakfast and dinner are vey relaxing but the evening meal menu didn*t always suit us ,so we ate in the large buffet restaurant a couple of nights but it was a bit repetative.Our evening really ended at 9pm most nights as the entertainment and bar were very poor,ok for 3-5 year olds and the sports bar was very run down it reminded me of a 70"s youth club .The first choice team tried to put on shows but not my cup of tea.We went to Lindos and Rhodes town bn the service bus both days were excellent.My son did not go to the mega stars kids club as it did not start until 9.30 at night and there wasn"t really much to do between supper and then so we went to our room and then couldn"t be bothered going out after we were there.We had 2 really bad days of rain so had to run to the activity end for something to do as it is an adult only bar at the exclusive end but they should let children into one of the bar areas as you have to go to the activity end for drinks etc or sit in the reception area.The rooms were really comfortable and nice to relax in, the two halves with sliding doors suited us as a family .It would be nice to try the hotel in high season with maybe other entertainnment but it is not value for money at this time. as the main part of the village is very run down and tired.This hotel is not a 5 star, there are
better 5 star hotels out there for less money ,The staff at the relaxing /exclusive part were all very friendly and welcoming they are an assett to the hotel.

Room Tip: If staying in exclusive part ask for rooms beginning with 2 or 3 as they have sun all day ,we had an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Village Rhodes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Village Rhodes

Address: Kolymbia, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Family Hotel in Kolimbia
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kolimbia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Holiday Village Rhodes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Village Rhodes Hotel Kolimbia
Holiday Village Rhodes Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Village Rhodes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.