We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely fantastic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Anavadia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Anavadia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Anavadia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Enomenis Europis, Kolimbia, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 30 hotels in Kolimbia
Birkenhead, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

You should always take the reviews on here with a pinch of salt, a lot of the negative comments we had read on here prior to going we actually never witnessed whilst we was there, so here's our honest review.

ROOM
We had room 119 on the first floor it
overlooked the mountains and had a large balcony the bathroom was modern with a huge shower, king size bed and two wardrobes, big mirror above dresser table and a couple of plug sockets dotted around for multiple uses. Unlike other rooms we didn't need to use a card to enter nor to keep the lights and air con on, we had a key and the air con was remote controlled which meant we could (and did) leave it on all day whilst we was out and even though the maid had been and cleaned our room we always returned with the air con still turned on. We had a little fridge in the room too which could hold two big bottles of water our sun tan lotion and a couple of snack bars like chocolate in there which was just all we needed! Our safe was 20 euros for the week, which we kept same lot in there safe, and very easy to use, reception staff came up and helped us set it up! The maid never failed to supply us with fresh bedding and towels and empty our bins who seemed really nice.

FOOD
Me and my partner are quiet picky eaters but we always eat and never went hungry,
Breakfast was the full continental, varied cereals, fruit, juices and fresh bread which could be toasted. This was between 07:30 - 09:30
Lunch was 12:30 - 14:30 there was pasta, sauces, pizza, chips, Greek salads, fruit, burgers, pork, quiche, chicken, there was a different selection everyday they did change the dishes to give more option, with only being a small hotel with a small number of guest you can understand there wasn't a MASSIVE selection, think of the waste! It's a 40 room hotel they cater for that, keep that in mind
Ice cream and biscuits 14:30 - 17:30 fresh biscuits homemade and a selection of ice creams, chocolate,vanilla, strawberry and banana.
Dinner 18:30 - 21:00
Consisted of different meats, huge salad selections, cheese, pasta with sauces, pizzas, chips, barbecued chicken etc always with fresh deserts and jelly/ice cream and of course fruit and bread

POOL BAR
Was open from 10:00-23-00
The local beer was Vap and it was really nice, soft drinks the typical Pepsi, fanta, lemo etc
Didn't try the wine but others seemed to like it, there was of course other options to purchase non local alcohol, such as bottles of strongbow, corona and kopperberg these were only 2 euro a bottle!!!

STAFF
The staff are really friendly, from the reception to the bar to the waitress, no bad comments to make always smiling and happy to help. On our last day we were due to be picked up at 1 to leave for the airport and lunch was kindly brought forward to 12 as there was a lot of people leaving and wouldn't of had time to eat without rushing.

KOLIMBIA - outside the hotel
The local town from this hotel is only a 10-15minute walk way left as you walk out the hotel, which is where me and my partner spent the rest of our holiday of a night. We went to the cocktail bar of T&Ps. Highly recommended here as the cocktails, drinks and service is absolutely fantastic, with the two best bands on the island as entertainment providing rock and roll covers to perfection! Sweet child of mine, an absolute classic and played to justice by the amazing Time Machine! The cocktails are very generous and cost 6 euros but other drinks costing much less, I was more than happy to pay as I love my cocktails and 6euros back at home works out about £4.50 and where I'm from...that's non existent! They're at least £6! Using branded alcohol at generous amounts all made a fuss of with sparklers and fresh fruit slices! Couldn't of asked for more! Tolis and Panos are the owners both working hard 7 days a week, and Silvia and Lucy the barmaids along side them to give the tourists a night/holiday to remember, and that we will! Beautiful people! We will never forget! And if anyone does read this and venture into this bar look out for the TP little wooden train on the shelf behind the main bar, a present from us to them :) the local shops and tourist shops are reasonably priced! Bottles of water of 500ml of 30cent and we bought 2 litre bottles for 50cent to keep in our hotel room fridge! Got really good presents for family back at home with no huge expense at all! Couple of euros here and there! Great value.

OLD RHODES TOWN
On one day we got a 3.50 euro bus into Rhodes which was a half an hour journey straight into the heart of it. What a beautiful place!! We adventured the old castle and into the main shopping in the centre with lots of restaurants to tuck into reasonably priced! Gorgeous scenery, sitting outside having a steak burger in the blissful sun! Perfect! So happy we visited! A definite must for a romantic day out! Would definitely visit back. We knew that Lindos was not far from here which could possibly be a second bus ride linking onto there unfortunately we did not go there but was recommended highly by the hotel staff to visit as it was also magnificent.

OVERALL

To sum up our holiday it was really was worth every pound and more! For a quiet relaxing holiday in the sun you will be booking the right hotel!

Room Tip: 119 is a big room overlooking the mountains with a clean modern bathroom and air con that could be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    66
    49
    16
    7
See reviews for
39
151
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Co Derry
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

The Anavadia is a lovely small hotel and all the staff are friendly and helpful. However there are a few things which I was not happy with. The shower was small and the door was missing on ours. (My husband would have hit his elbows on it if it had have been there. )The lock /handle on our door was broken when we arrived but it was fixed within an hour of me telling Flora on reception. The food was not great-I was happy with pasta and sauce and salad but some of the meat/chicken left a lot to be desired. In fairness though when I was talking to people who were staying in other hotels on an all inclusive deal the food seemed to be the same everywhere. It is about 15-20 minutes walk to the centre of the town and there is no entertainment in the hotel. For these reasons it is a lovely place to just chill out. There were only a couple of young children there which suited us. As another reviewer has said the garden view is not of a garden. There was no computers working during our stay either. We also had trouble with the water on occasions.
Overall a lovely hotel with spacious rooms and great staff. Don't think I will ever be back but I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Friendly staff, fantastic weather but overall holiday experience let down by a few niggles. This hotel is advertised as 4* but is only 3* at best owing to a lack of facilities and poor quality in some areas.The rooms are classed as a garden view which is not strictly correct as they look out on to fields which is ok but not a garden! On 3 out of 7 days we had no hot water in the evening and was told that all the hotels suffered from the same problem due to lack of water pressure which I do not believe is true! The water was turned off completely for a few hours on our second day so I think they have a problem. The shower cubicle was very small, had a broken door and a makeshift shower curtain to cover the missing sliding door that was not long enough so water sprayed out on to the bathroom floor every time you took a shower. This was not only dangerous as slippery but also rather inconvenient especially as we had to wring out towels put down to mop it up each time it flooded! The food was very repetitive and sometimes not very good quality with tough dry meat and soggy mushy fish. We would have preferred a choice of traditional Greek food rather than mashed potato, frozen/tinned veg and roast meat. One other problem for some was that the Internet computers in the reception area were out of order for 5 out of 7 days which was very inconvenient if you wanted to use them. However not all bad as the hotel was kept clean, was quiet and peaceful with plenty of sunbeds and sunshades which you needed at times as it was very hot. Overall a reasonable hotel let down by a few small problems that could be put right quite easily to make it a great hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Notts, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I stayed here 26June - 03July13 through Olympic Holidays. We found the hotel to be a peaceful and mainly pleasant place to rest and recharge ourselves.
Our room was spacious, cupboards a good size and with hangers, bed was firm but comfortable and the bathroom was also a good size and well equipped although the shower cubicle was smaller than those being made for the 'oversized population' in Western Europe............... Air conditioning was a big plus as Rhodes was very hot during our stay.
The hotel gardens and public areas were clean and tidy and well presented at all times which is a credit to the hardworking staff.
Food was a bit repetitive, but at each sitting there was something for everyone, and we also ate out in the resort which was good value. Drinks were of a good standard and plentiful.
All of the staff at the hotel were of a high standard, especially Flora who was most helpful and informative. The Olympic Rep 'Neil' was also excellent.
Please do not listen to the whingers who expect everything for nothing, we had four whilst we holidaying who made us embarrassed to be English ...........you know who you are ..... you get what you pay for, and this was great value and we hope to return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for one week in late June. Rhodes Island was in the midst of a heat wave, nearly 40 degrees every day, so we were pleased to be able to relax by the smallish but lovely pool. Our room was a good size with everything you would want - plenty of wardrobe space and the balcony has a glass wall so it did not affect the beautiful view. The bed was very comfortable, and the air conditioning very effective. The bathroom had a Jacuzzi bath, although the shower was quiet small. The small gardens surrounding the accommodation area is well maintained and very pretty.
The hotel only has 40 rooms and is located on the outskirts of the town, and the surrounding countryside and mountains are just beautiful. The bar area is a little plain and could do with some additional ‘dressing’ but there are plenty of tables and chairs to sit and enjoy a drink and soak up the view.
The hotel is well maintained and very clean, especially the restaurant area. All the staff were helpful and friendly and very service minded. I suffer from food allergies and was introduced to Anna when we arrived, having emailed the hotel in advance of my difficulties. Anna was so helpful and I was introduced to the Chef and they checked with me every day on the forthcoming menus and even cooked special variations of the menu or alternatives for me. Many other holidays have been spoilt by food allergies, but Anna made sure this did not happen! We should also mention Flora on reception who again was professional, friendly and very helpful. It was my birthday during our stay and my husband booked dinner in a wonderful restaurant Melenos, in Lindos, and Flora emailed them my food allergies in advance.
If you want a peaceful, small and charming hotel with good service and a friendly welcome then look no further!
Again, a special thanks to Anna for looking after us so well!!
We hope to return for a week next year – one small request please provide guests with beach towels!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Well, what can I say about the Anavadia… It could be a really great hotel. It’s got some really lovely members of staff; Anna was really helpful at meal times; she was always happy, and Tony, the bar man in the evenings was really great and very friendly. And I had a really fantastic holiday! Because it's a fairly small hotel, It's really easy to get chatting with people which makes a friendly atmosphere.

The only real negative is the food. Breakfast was absolutely fine, with a great cooked and continental option as well as fruit and cereal. Lunch and Tea were poor though. We stayed at the hotel from the 26th June until the 3rd July and the food at dinner was monotonous. Seriously, I doubt there are any pigs left on Rhodes based on the amount of pork that got served! There were chips most nights, as well as pasta and rice, and a Greek style dish.As for the “Greek” salad, it was just big chunks of tomato, cucumber with a few pieces of feta cheese on the top.
My dad could always find something to eat though… saying that however,he can’t actually smell or taste anything!! To be fair though, once you get over the initial disappointment in the first day or so, you just have to laugh it off, and none of us went hungry.

There were some really nice desserts on offer; usually cream based cakes at tea time, but the jelly at lunch was very peculiar, and the snack in between breakfast and lunch was a bit odd as well; I guess you could call in brunch, but one day it was just ham sandwiches.

The hotel itself is really lovely; the pool area is fantastic, as was the bar area. All of the public areas in the hotel were very well maintained and immaculately clean, and the courtyard style for getting to the rooms was beautiful; a bit slippery when you’re in your flip flops, but really pretty! We had two upstairs rooms; 307 & 305, and although there weren't loads of stairs, the lack of a lift might put some people off, but it was fine for us, and I’m sure the hotel staff would be more than happy to transfer you to a downstairs room if necessary.

As for the rooms, they were a great size with a large balcony; and not at all overlooked, and again very clean. We were on the Tsambika mountain side of the hotel, and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The beds were a bit firm, but no way near as bad as some I've experienced in the UK! The bathroom was a great size, but strangely, the shower was very small. But let’s face it, you’re only staying for a week or two, so it wasn't really too much of a problem. The TV in the room was a bit of a running joke; we had 7 channels in total; only three in English however; one of them being CNN, and the other two were Challenge! But then who doesn't love a bit of Bullseye or Catch-Phrase! The in-room fridge was a great addition though!

The hotel was in a lovely location, like I said the view of the Tsambika Mountain was fantastic. It was a short stroll from the main strip in Kolymbia. Only about a 10-15 min walk to the town and the beach. The beaches are stony but the water is very clear and there are plenty of fish to see if you've got a snorkel on. There were a couple of shops a minute or so from the hotel itself, but these did charge slightly higher prices than the ones in town.
Getting around is simple, the bus stop is pretty much right outside the hotel, which was great for getting into Lindos and Rhodes Town.

There were a few moaners when we were there; and yes the food wasn't great, but the four, nasty old farts spoiled their own holiday by searching for things to complain and whinge about; even making a staff member cry, and complaining that a little girl made too much of a splash in the pool; they just made themselves look ridiculous!

All things considered, I wouldn't say the hotel was a 4.5* yet, but it is on its way. If the food was improved, it would definitely make up for the other little niggles, and I would definitely return. And as I said, all the staff were fab, and the All Inclusive drinks at the bar were great!

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the mountain side of the hotel, it's a great view, and you'll get some...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week at this hotel - set out to have a relaxing week away from work and found the perfect hotel in which to achieve this.

Setting was ideal, quiet but enough of an atmosephere to thoroughly enjoy the whole experience - Immaculately clean accomodation, great pool area and the staff where superb and should be commended on their manners and professionalism in the face of extreme adversity.

This brings me to my main point of the review - I would not normally take the time to review a holiday, my viewpoint is generally if I enjoyed the holiday then I would not be particualrly bothered if anyone else booked the same place however, the only low point of this whole holiday was the constant whinging of 4 ridiculous individuals who where there during my entire stay.

The complaints of the 4 geriatric amigo's started off as ridiculous, and very quickly escalated to laughable - well, laughable up to the point where they managed to reduce some members of the hotel staff to tears.

I have never been so embarrassed to be a Brit abroad - I doubt any of them visit this website however, YOU KNOW WHO YOU ARE so please forward me an itineray of your planned holidays over the next few years so I can avoid the embarrassment of ever having to share a poolside with any of you again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Anavadia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Anavadia

Address: Enomenis Europis, Kolimbia, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Kolimbia
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kolimbia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Anavadia 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Hotel Anavadia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Anavadia Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Anavadia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.