We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“brilliant holiday don't listen to bad reviews” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunland Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Sunland Hotel to your Saves list
Sunland Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“brilliant holiday don't listen to bad reviews”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

we just came back from an 11 night holiday. I went with my partner and two children age 2 and 6.
we all had an amazing time!
the sunland is one of 3 hotels on the complex with a small waterpark based in the middle.
all meals are taken at the blue bay which i felt was alot better as the sunland was kept clean tidy and quiet
out of all 3 hotels the sunland although being the smallest for us and some other holiday makers was the best. we stayed in a family room which was very nice with two bedrooms.
the entertainment was very good starting with a mini disco then the adult entertainment.
i would say get to breakfast for 8am lunch at 12.30 and dinner for 6.45 to make sure you dont have to Que. and then get a seat at the entertainment.
if you drive i recommend hiring a car to drive around the island, its very beautiful and quite alot to see and do.
defiantly invest in beach shoes as the pebbles can be a little annoying but the sea is lovely and warm.
i honestly couldn't fault any of the holiday everyone was very friendly and helpful!

Room Tip: request a family room on the end of each corridor 738 being the best for the same price
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    20
    7
    15
See reviews for
34
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

we arrived dinner time checked in no problem . meals were taken at the blue bay hotel food was good , could be a bit much if you dont like pork.pools good at both hotels , beach was not ideal but it was a bit cooler with a nice warm breeze. staff were very good cocktail of the day was a bit rank ie gin or ouzo based but on the whole a lot more enjoyable than i expected from this hotel do not be put off by bad reviews good value for money.if you want to go bowling for a night check out the lucky strike bowling club 3.5 euros a game we had a great night and staff were great also no fee for borrowing the bowling shoes about 5 to 10 minutes away on the main road

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The Sunland sits in beautifully kept gardens, with loads of space, and boasts two fantastic pools. The room was basically furnished, but the furniture was of a good quality, including very comfortable beds. The bathroom is basic, but there were lashings of hot water at all times. The room also boasted air conditioning at no additional charge, as well as a fridge. There was maid service 6 days a week with clean, but not particularly fluffy, towels every day.
Meals were taken at the Blue Bay over the road in one of 2 restaurants, either the main one in the hotel or the one overlooking the beach - a location many upper class restaurants would give their eye teeth for. The only issue was with the breakfasts, where the facilities were badly overstretched, resulting in lack of cups and long queues.
You have the use of multiple pools of varying sizes and liveliness, as well as the beach. Try sitting outside the beach bar after dinner watching the sunset - magical!
There was aircraft noise, but after the first day you don't really notice it.
Overall, a great holiday, with just a few minor grouches - we'd go back tomorrow and we only just got home!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was a last minute for us (4 adults and 17 year old, 16 and 12) we were a bit concerned that there wasn't any positiv remarks about the Sunland hotel, so when we arrived, we were pleastantly surpised> Hotel is very basic, rooms are cleaned regulary and towels and bedding changed. We had a ground floor family room, which was very spacious, the children had thier own room, we had a double bed and thier was another sofa bed in long side the bathroom. The shower had to be held by hand as it would not stay in the backet on the wall, this was probably because the shower was very powerfull. We had air con in both the bedrooms, ours seemed to be a little out of date, but the one in the childrens room was very good and the room was always nice and cool, which was needed as the temp was in the 90's every day!
The pool area was good, two big pools and a small baby pool, we spent our mornings down at the beach as it was a lot cooler, thier was never any problems getting beds. There is a snack bar that serves drinks and ice creams, there isn't any snack during the day, but you can go across the road to The Blue Bay Hotel and get snacks there, not really anything exciting though! you can use all the facilities of the Blue Bay, this is where the entertainment is by the Animation team, usual water polo, keep fit etc. The Blue Bay is very busy, noisy (music piped all day) and after speaking to other guest, you have to be up at 5.30am to get a bed! Sunland is the opposite!
Food at the Sunland was good, having fussy eaterswith us, they found something to eat, be it pasta chips or salad! after the second week the menu was repeated, but if your willing to try what's in front of you, you won't starve. Get your desserts when you get your main meal, this disappear rather quick, but there is always fruit. Drinks are local so don't expect your usual tipple and the soft drinks don't taste the same, the children liked the lemon and lime the best.
the resoirt itself is very quiet, a couple of bars, but alot of closed down ones, which is a shame, but I think the all inclusive has probably added to the Greek Euro crisis and the locals are finding it very hard. The staff at the Sunland we're great, especially Yacob, after speaking to him, we found out that the staff had not been paid by the owner for 3 months! they worked very hard and yet they did not complain!
There is a regular bus service to Rodos (Rhodes Town) about 20 minutes, worth a visit for your holiday fridge magnet! when you get the bus back, buy your ticket first from the kiosk in the drop off point, and its a mad scramble to get back on!
We went to the Aqua Park by coach from the hotel 20 euros each, have visted this park in the past, but this year it was not as busy. They do snacks there, but we made up some rolls from breakfast and just bought drinks.
The Bluebay Hotel looks impressive on arrival at night, but on closer inspection it isn'l kept as clean as the Sunland, toilets we're smelly and messy and the dining area was a bit chaotic. In the evening we went to the Blue Bay for drinks and entertainment, our first night there, we thought you got your drinks at the main bar, but was told by the very rude Coktail Waitress, that we had to use the pool bar, just outside, there was only one barman, but he was very quick and you never had to wait more than 2 mins to get served. The Animation team were good, the usual entertainment, Dads from the audiance dressed up and kids and Mums laughing. We went to the nighclub/disco down stairs once, it was ok, not alot of people in there, but those that were, seemed to have had enough vino!!!
There is a small aqua park between the 2 hotels, as a quest you are allowed one visit, which was enough for us, after that you had to pay 10 euros, small children may like this as there was a pirate ship with fountains and pools etc.

As you are only 15 mins from the airport, you do get the planes passing overhead, but after a couple of days you don't notice them and you don't tend to "duck" cause there so low! there not all day long and there are hours between each flight.

There are a lot of Eastern Europeans there, who seemed to keep to themselves, but are very grumpy looking, we met some lovely English people and some great Greek people.

Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable holiday, we were surpised at what we got for our money.

Room Tip: The ground floor rooms at the front of the hotel are cooler during the day
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelo playa dorada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

first of all we had a great holiday sun sand and safe
yep ok its not the best hotel on the island neither is it the worst but when you take into consideration how much youve probably paid for your week or 2 and compare it to the uk with the massive exception of when you wake up in the morning you aint got to worry about the weather your only worry is how burnt am i going to get and that to me is worth more than the sort failings of the sunland
accomodation_2 star at best fairly clean rooms changed bedding daily bathroom more like a wet room just a place to get your head down
food_get there early 6.30-7.00pm and you will be at worst ok depends how fussy you are we arent fussy but i will be honest we did struggle a bit a week you will survive 2 you may encounter problems compare this to a basic meal we had out in rhodes town at 78 euro for 4 drinks 3 pizzas and a carbonara and suddenly the hotel food looks great breaky better but again dont hang around till later they really do clear up once its gone its gone
pool area_not bad at all cleaned at end of day loads of sunbeds pool at the back of hotel quieter and loads of space with lazyriver/whirlpooljacuzzi thing and a big grass area
drinks_lager- unpredictable good some nights awful on others coke_ much the same usual local alcohol _cheap cheerful but not wonderful
aquapark_good for everyone safe clean and well managed free now every day after the 1st sept
sister hotel blue bay_as you may well know comes part of the package all the facilities snacks, drinks, sun loungers, entertainment ,activities ,ice creams beach, wifi, internet and probably more i will be honest without the blue bay we may well have struggled but prior to booking this cheapy we knew what was on offer so it came as no shock to us
price_ where else would you get a flight, drink, food, entertainment and most inportantly sun and lots of it for £1100 for 4 adults if you want better than the sunland/bluebay i suggest you pay more money

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from sunland and had a fantastic week. The hotel is clean and we found the food to be fine. The staff were so friendly and couldnt do enough to help us. The pools were very clean and cleaned everyday. Our room was spacious, and perfect for what we needed. This hotel has had reviews that it really doesnt deserve. If you want 5 star then pay the money. Lastly we used our manners and the locals appreciate this some were very rude to the staff please and thankyou cost nothing. Enjoy this hotel we did and would go back.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Just arrived home from the bluebay / sunland apartments and on the whole enjoyed a fortnight. Taxi is 12 euros from airport. When you arrive take a left between the carpark and the water park and enter the hotel by turning right - dont carry your cases all around the pool like us (there are no signs). The rooms are clean and spacious in the 3 story block & daily fresh towels apart from sundays. Air con works just fine. If you are all inclusive you have a wide choice of places to drink - beach bar, blue bay pool bar, main bar and the sunland pool side bar. The rear pool at sunland is cooler than the main pool and there are plenty of sun beds. The main pool is dirty & ear infections were common.
If you are in the Sunland then you have to eat there and the chef tries his best with the limited range of vegetables and processed meats on offer. The fish is also appauling with a jelly like panga-fish at every meal. Chicken cuts are boney, thigh or leg. Veal is stewed. Its very difficult to enjoy the food apart from breakfast. This hotel is really penny pinching with sickening food.
Head to Billies bar to cheer the kids up at a reasonable price 25E for 4. Zorba's & the chinese on the main road cost about 50E to feed family of 4.
Drinks are strong but very limited at sunland - beer ok, red white wine was sharp, vodka, ouzo, brandy all 40%.Mixers are the squash cola self service.
There are two supermarkets near the hotels and they are pricey. Anactasia is the cheapest local market (ciggies 3.70 a pack 400g golden virginia 69E) & there is a Carefour in Illalysos 3 miles & Kremasti 2 miles. Kremasti is a nice village but illaysos has the nicer sea front.
Car higher is 40E a day and a lap of the island takes about 40E in fuel. I recommend 2 routes - East Coast - Anthony Quinn bay just south of Falaraki (lakido beach), Tsampika Beach, Lindos & Agois Pavlos, Prassonisti on the very south - West Coast - Limani beach lagoon on the S east a secluded cove down from monolithos over the mountains to Kamiros (ancient city & pricey restaurant). Valley of the butterflies nr Theologos is over priced at 5E each. There is also a basic zoo with camel rides up there. The acropolys at Illalysos is also worth a visit entry 3E and a free climb up the cross for breath taking views.
There seemed to be a wide mix of people in Sunland- mainly UK, Netherlands & French, few Russians & Germans
Back to the hotel, I was going to click poor but when I think of the bar & restaurant staff (apart from the pool bar lady in the day) trhe facilities at the main hotel and the water park which was free, then I'd border on a average.

Room Tip: The rooms in the 4 story block with reception have been refurbished & spacious, the block to th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunland Hotel

Address: Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 172
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sunland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunland Apartments Rhodes
Sunland Apartments Hotel Rhodes
Sunland Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunland Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.