We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Beach Resort Complex

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sun Beach Resort Complex to your Saves list
Sun Beach Resort Complex
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Ialyssos Beach, | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 33 Hotels in Ialyssos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Denmark
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Stayed for a week with the family in October 2011 at the Sun Beach. It's an average tourist class hotel, so don’t expect anything more. If you are looking for a great beach then go to the east coast, there is too much wind here and no sand. Also, you got planes flying right over your head and kids screaming 24/7 and the quality of food in the buffet is terrible.
As for the surroundings you can really tell that the money has run out. Has finished buildings and empty sites all around. Not very charming. All restaurants have photos of the food and plastic furniture. Classy…
On the other hand, the rooms were nice and clean and there were activities for the kids. However, the pool was too cold to swim in.

Room Tip: Get a room as far away from the pool as possible and facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, November 7, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are genuinely sorry to note that you did not enjoy your holiday to Rhodes.

Your date of stay in the hotel was at the very end of season and therefore the livelihood of the area was rather limited. We would like to assure you that this would not have been the case should you visited the area a couple of weeks earlier and believe that this would have had a totally different impact in your holiday experience as a whole.

We are also sorry to note your expressed discontent about the children in the resort and the comments made about the beach, however the hotel’s website does clarify that this is a family resort and provides a very detailed description about the beach in this part of the island and feel sad that this has not been realized prior to your arrival.

On the positive side we are happy to note that you enjoyed the facilities and accommodation offered at the resort and would like to take the opportunity and thank you for the comments made.

We very much hope that you will consider visiting Rhodes again in the future.

Kindest Regards,
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    137
    48
    22
    6
See reviews for
157
91
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

Really enjoyed our week although it was the end of the season and very quiet.
Many restaurants and shops had closed down but the weather was still gorgeous.
Our apartment had a seaview which was wonderful but in the shadow of the sun.
It was well equipped with comfortable beds and a daily maid service.
There were two very large swimming pools with plenty of sunbeds and the hotel was right on the beach.
The local area had lots of shops and restaurants to choose from. We hired a car for the day from the hotel which only cost 30 euros and rove right around the island!
The airport is close by so there is aircraft noise but that did not bother us.
Rhodes Old Town is very picturesque and we manged to cycle there!

Room Tip: The sea view is amazing could see all long the Turkish coast. Could watch cruise ships go in and out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 31, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about your recent experience at the Sun Beach Resort Complex.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and very much hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our resort in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

We visited Rhodes this October for a vacation and sports competition and booked the sun beach because of the good reviews.

Once we were able to actually find the place, which is difficult at first because non of the streets in the beach area are actually named we were pleased to find the hotel was large with multiple buildings and quite modern by Greek standards.

Our room was a lttle small as we were 2 guys sharing and asked for a 2 bed room but what you get is the typical european 2 twin beds which are only an inch apart. the room was quite small but very clean and well maintained with a nice bathroom with tub with shower and large granite counter.

The hotel has 2 separte bar and cafe areas as well as 2 separate pools and each side of the road which passes through the resort. There was a large breakfast / dinning room on our side which was away from the beach. Breakfast was pretty good but the same every day, we did not do dinner there.

The beach is OK but you need special shoes to swim as this is a round rock ( stone ) beach which is real hard on the feet without the shoes which are sols in the many Supermarkets close by.

Ther are lots of local cafes and restaurants, the Cake Box is recommended for dessert and coffee, but after a while you notice they all have essentially the same menu right down to the pictures, food quality is OK but not gourmey by any means.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 15, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read that you had a nice stay in our hotel and that you found it to be of better quality than most hotels in the area.

Having said that, we felt rather surprised to note that you experienced some difficulty in finding the Sun Beach as it is very popular and any local could have pointed you to the right direction. Street names are not used that much in some resorts in the island as you correctly noted, however the area and hotel name prove in most cases sufficient to find a hotel.

The Sun Beach features many room types of various sizes, all of which are clearly stated in our website and felt sorry to hear that you found your room to be rather small. Our twin rooms’ size is 23 sq. m. (248 sq. ft.) which is in line with industry standards for this hotel’s category. On a positive note we were very pleased to read that apart from the size you had no other issues with the room and that overall you were very satisfied with your choice.

As far as the beach is concerned, we would like to note that it is sandy and partly pebbly in nature with crystal clear waters and light waves, as most of the beaches in the northwestern part of the island, something that is also stated in the hotel’s website in greater detail.

Thank you once again for bringing your feedback to our attention as well as for your kind comments and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in our resort should you decide to visit Rhodes again in the future.

Best Regards,
Sun Beach Resort
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Very clean and huge reception area with plenty of quality seating.
Television for waiting guests and a waiter service bar.
Very friendly reception staff.
Internet and other facilities within the reception.
Directly on the beach which was brilliant and just a lovely peaceful time with the children if you take them.There is loads for the children to do besides sitting in the sun,with 3 swimming pools,pool tables,animation people and lots more.
There is a poolside restaurant which is also waiter service.
The room was great and we got exactly what was described and there was never anything that was too much trouble for the staff.
Ultimately friendly and helpful.
Absolutely loved it.
I could go on about this place for ages and not have a bad word to say.
It was great with loads to do and friendly locals.
Great food
Great people
BRILLIANT!!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view from above ground floor..........breathtaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Public Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

We highly appreciate the time taken to review our hotel on Tripadvisor and would like to warmly thank you for your comments.

It is very rewarding to read that you have had a nice holiday and that you and your family felt well looked after during your stay with us.

We always try our best to deliver the best possible holiday experience and are delighted to see that this has been acknowledged in your review.

We very much hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back at the Sun Beach Resort Complex in the not so distant future.

Warm Regards,
Sun Beach Resort
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We stayed in room 210. Room was recently renovated and all kitchen utensils were new. Big terrace, comfy beds, flat screen TV with international channels. Linen and towels were changed everyday. Pool area nice and clean and hotel had a lot of family activities. Quiet area on the beach. Lots of restaurants in the area. Easy to reach Rhodes town, 15 minutes by bus. I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Make sure you get a renovated room bc I think only part of complex has been renovated.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, September 8, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Tripadvisor.

We were delighted to read that you were pleasantly surprised with your stay at the Sun Beach Resort Complex and would like to take this opportunity and thank you for you favorable comments.

Most rooms at the Hotel Building of the complex are now renovated and are pleased to announce that from 2012 all superior rooms (guestrooms & studios) will come enhanced with a 26 inches LCD TV screen, CD/DVD player, free WiFi internet access, free coffee & tea facilities, complimentary bathrobe and sleepers and premium toiletries on top of the existing wealth of amenities found in the standard guestrooms.

Having said that, we would also like to explain that sea view studios and apartments on the beachfront part of the complex were renovated in 2005 and are kept in an immaculate condition comprising a really popular option for larger parties that want direct access to the beach.

Once again we would like to thank you for your comments and very much hope to welcome you back in our resort in the not so distant future.

Best Regards,
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrexham
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

We found the Sun Beach a really nice hotel with very friendly staff throughout.Having arrived a day early,due to flights,we stayed a night in another hotel.We informed Sun Beach of this and they managed to get our room ready earlier than normal,which was a great help.
The rooms have been well renovated and are clean and tidy upon arrival.There is ample clothes storage,just the right amount of crockery but limited cooking facilities.We only had a 2 ring hob and a microwave.Maybe a small single oven/grill would have been better as we were self catering.Although the rooms have been renovated it looked as if the sink ,hob,pots,pans and cutlery have not been renewed,they were looking very tired etc.
The beds are rock hard but the pillows too soft and thin.
The gardens are well designed and very well maintained.They lead to the beach area via a small pathway,and past a snack bar.The snack bar serves alcohol and coffee etc aswell as burgers and pizzas or sandwiches.The staff at the snack bar were really friendly and always had time to chat or wind up our son with little magic tricks etc.
There is also an RCI members only pool and bar,which was great.There is a daily BBQ at the pool side,but this wasn't up to much.The pool area is spotless but the pool needed to be cleaned a bit more frequent.
The beach is made of quite rough sand and then pebbles,but this was ok by us.The sea was lovely and warm and easy to swim in.The beach beds cost 3euros each.Annoying, but half the price of Spain in the summer.
The only really annoying part about the hotel was that we had to pay 21euros for the room safe and 6euros for the "provided" beach towels.We feel once you have paid for your room,you should not have to pay for the safe,it wasn't even a deposit but a full fee.Also,to have to pay for "provided" beach towels is wrong,but neither problem spoilt the hotel or holiday.
We also noticed that the food preparation board was not hygienic enough and that the microwave plate had not been cleaned at all.Neither problem was too much bother to solve.
Overall we had a great time at Sun Beach and will definately return.

Room Tip: Sun Beach 1 is by the sea,SB2 across the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor.

We were very happy to read that you had a great time at Sun Beach and that you would definitely return to our resort at some point in the future.

It is always regrettable to note that there have been some minor issues with your stay and would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused and assure you that your comments have been taken into consideration.

Once again thank you for your constructive feedback and very much hope to welcome you again in our resort.

Yours Sincerely,
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

This 4 star hotel is in the Ialysos region of Rhodes. We went there as 2 couples and prior to going, we had many problems with booking. The staff wasn't very helpful solving the issue.
There are many buses going from Rhodes Town to Ialysos region, then it is a 20 minutes’ walk from the bus stop. So if you have a lot of bags, it could be a better idea to take taxi from city centre instead of bus. There are many supermarkets and restaurants around the hotel, so even if you don’t go to some other places, it is possible to spend an evening in this area.
The rooms were really spacious, nice and clean; the balcony had great view and the air-conditioning was working fine. The bathroom was nice, however we had a problem, each time we took shower, there was some water and bubbles coming out from the hole out the bath. Even though we reported this to reception 3 times, it was never fixed. There was no Wi-fi in the rooms, internet was just available in the lobby area. The buffet breakfast was nice, but there was less offered compared to the other 4 start hotels I stayed before.
The hotel announces that it has a beach. When you go to the beach, a guy comes and asks for money. When we asked this to the hotel, they told us that they announced that they have a beach but they didn’t say it was free. We had long discussions with disappointment, and then we decided to leave the beach. The beach probably is not the ideal for the families with the kids, as it is very wavy. However, the hotel has swimming pools, so they can get use of them.
Overall, it is a nice place to stay, but after all the money we paid, considering all the problems we had with the booking, the bathroom not being fixed and being asked for a fee for the beach, I wouldn’t prefer this hotel if I go to Rhodes. I would instead chose a cheaper hotel closer to the city centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harmonyresorts, Guest Relations Manager at Sun Beach Resort Complex, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to bring your feedback to our attention.

We are sorry to hear that you had encountered some difficulties while making a reservation and would like to offer our sincere apology for any inconvenience caused prior to the beginning of your holiday. If you have some spare time we would appreciate if you could send us a private message on Tripadvisor with the reason of your dissatisfaction so as to investigate this issue further.

Despite the bad start described, we were happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in our new renovated superior rooms and that overall you found Sun Beach to be a nice place to stay. Please also note that WiFi, LCD TV, CD / DVD player, coffee and tea maker and branded toiletries will all be offered free of charge in the Superior Guestrooms from 2012.

We have also taken note of your extra comments in regards to the bathroom drains and would like to note that this phenomenon occurs when there is excessive foam involved which however dissolves after 5 to 10 minutes following a bath. Please note that this is not unusual in most households and hotels in Greece and feel sorry if this seemed to you as a fault in the room.
As far as the beach is concerned, we would like to clarify that the hotel does not advertise that the sun loungers and parasols are free of charge in the beach area and feel sorry if this was not realized prior to your arrival. The hotel does offer free sun loungers and umbrellas in the pool area however it is not possible to do the same at the beach since the hotels pays an annual fee for this service to the local municipal of Ialyssos. Having said that, please note that there is no charge when guests use their own towels at the beach area.

Once again thank you for your comments and for choosing to stay at the Sun Beach Resort and very much hope that you would reconsider using our services should your future travel plans call for a trip to Rhodes.

Kindest Regards,
Sun Beach Resort Complex
Customer Services Department
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Beach Resort Complex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Resort Complex

Address: Ialyssos Beach, | PO Box 272, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sun Beach Resort Complex 4*
Number of rooms: 305
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sun beach resort complex is a magnificent 4* hotel located in a prominent position on the beach of Ialyssos, just 8 km away from Rhodes. The resort represents a fun and relaxing holiday environment with an impressive range of accommodation, fine cuisine & bars, leisure & sports facilities, good entertainment for all age groups and a high standard of warm and personal service. The property is suitable for people with walking difficulties & wheelchair users. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sun Beach Resort Complex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Resort Complex Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Hotel Complex
Sun Beach Ialysos
Sun Beach Hotel Rhodes
Sun Beach Resort Complex Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Beach Resort Complex, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.