We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, shame about the food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Blue Bay Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Blue Bay Beach Hotel
Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 32 hotels in Ialyssos
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Location, shame about the food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

I travelled with wife and 2 children aged 11 & 8 on all inclusive. I will try to break the review down as best as possible:
Rooms- we stayed in the main building and the room was very clean and tidy. Lovely views of the mountains. The only issue with staying here was the "noise". Other residents did not seem to give a damn about others and with kids, they needed the odd early night. The noise went on until around midnight then started again about 0700. Basically it was doors slamming and people shouting.Overall rating for the room was about 3*.
Food - the food was not good. Very little choice in the main restaurant and it was mainly cold. We did not go hungary but the kids lived on either cold pasta or chicken nuggets and chips for the 2 weeks. Overall rating for the food was 2*.
Alcohol - beer was fine but not much selection on spirits. The "rum" run out for 3 days whilst they awaited delivery and the others were locally produced dross.
Drinks - kids drinks were awful, machine often not working and they were flat and watered down. We bought our own bottle of coke/sprite from the shop to mix our spirits with. Overall rating for drinks 2-3*.
Staff - basically, very miserable and always shouting at each other. Staff rating about 2*.
Animation team - very, very basic. They only have about 4 staff and the shows in the evening were the worst I have experienced. They used the audience most nights to make up the numbers and on one particular night, they were so bad people walked away. Rating 1*.
Overall - the hotel is clean and tidy with a choice of 3 pools. The waterfpark is clean and the drinks are included in the price. The staff at the waterpark are worse than miserable. The hotel is right on the beachfront which makes it a great location for a beach holiday. Rhodes town is a 25 minute bus ride away. If it was not for the sunshine then this would have been an awful holiday. Shop around and go for a 4-5* hotel as this is not a 3*, it is more like a 2*+.

Room Tip: Upgrade your room to a 4-5 bedroom to get extra room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    106
    121
    104
    113
    78
See reviews for
281
98
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

this hollday has being one of the best we loved it . geat atmoshere rooms clean everyday staff & the animation very friendly especially helen on the door she made us so wellcome THANK YOU we are planning to come back next year..

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We came for a 4 night's vacation with 4 rooms (adults and 3 kids – 5, 2, 1.5 yrs.)
On check-in we received a room full with ants!
Housekeeping arrived and poison sprayed the room. Only after encysting to move from the room the receptionist changed the room.
When asking for beach towels they always don’t have in the reception and once they have some it costs for some of the guests 2 Euro for towel and 5 Euro for deposit.
Only after negotiation we gave only deposit.
When I saw other guests getting for free and no deposit the receptionist said that based on my nationality I received the yellow band and not over color (all inclusive) and would need to pay those extra charges – also charging for sun beds 3 Euro. (Couldn’t stop thinking on the holocaust).
When they didn’t had towels in the reception they told me that I can take from the room, but later on the housekeeper has decided that because we used the towels for the pool we are to be punished (YES, that's the word she used!) and not to have our room cleaned up.
Only after speaking with the reception we got our room cleaned but with no towels that we needed to ask from reception that of course couldn’t send us and we needed to come down to take.
Rooms - in general are small but were fine, need to improve mattress in parent's bed.
Food – very poor not much of a choice, the presentation of the food is also very unpleasant.
Water Park – great for the kids, of course only if it is included
In general – we really managed to enjoy the vacation but will not come back to this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

I didn't see the reviews until after booking (last minute booking) - dreaded what was in store. I do hope the 'Management' take these reviews seriously!!!!!!
Billy (very talented - works wonders! management need to give him better resources i.e. new games equipment etc) and his hardworking Animation Team - Daniel (lovely young man - any mum would be proud of) Ginger (fun young lady - very popular) Naomi (fun young lady - also popular) some members of the team i can't name but still admired their hard work and team effort - This hard working team - made all the difference to our holiday and my observation -majority of the holiday makers !!!!!!!!
Management take note!!!! - The male receptionist was very professional, efficiently dealt with issues put before him and with a smile!
The two female receptionists (1 x elderly and 1 x younger) leave a lot to be desired, when it comes to customer care - they were both rude with scowled expressions on their faces, the elderly one more so (not a good role model!). The younger one practically argued with me over her incompetence in not reporting an out of order fridge.
Food - below average > temperature poor, presentation needs improvement, variety needs more effort and imagination (I actually lost weight in 1 week) - wondered what the role of the lady manning the restaraunt entrance was??? She never looked very happy as did the restaraunt staff - giving credit where due - tables cleared promptly - they need to be more friendly and pretend at least to enjoy being there?
Maintenance/porters - were extremely helpful and efficient.
Chambermaids - rooms cleaned efficiently, very helpful and friendly!!!
Generally - the hotel needs 1) A good makeover. 2) Management presence. 3) Customer care training for staff and sorry ladies - two new receptionists to replace the two rude females.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This holiday has been the best of all! My family and I loved this hotel, and we are planning to come back for the fourth time next year. The atmosphere is so amazing and the staff are very friendly, and they will do their best to fulfill all of your wishes. Especially thanks to the animation team. They will keep you all busy, if you like being entertained. In the evening time, they will entertain you with new shows every night. Billy is very experienced and loves being around with people. He's also a big part of the weekly Greek night. He make's a fire and nail show, which is very amazing.The hotel should really be happy that they got him, cos he's a legend! Thank you for this lovely and funny holiday.
- If you like to be entertained and like having fun, you should book this hotel. I truly recommend this beautiful hotel!
See you next year!
Chellelouja, Denmark

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

I just returned from 8 days vacation in this hotel, I was there with my family (2 kids, 8 & 4 years old), we were on all inclusive book (they call it the VIP guest). In general we enjoyed the vacation but had some very important comments to share and hope that the hotel management will read the following: 1- the receptionists: whenever you call asking for anything, the answer is always very rude, on a hury and always respodning that they will look into your request (the request is like asking for a towel or a bath gel or shampoo). 2- The lady at the recepetion which reflects the hotel image is always talking in an inapropriate way. 3- the main restaurant: the lady receiving the guests at the entrance is a weird one and she had peferences in dealing with people and she has a very dry face and hardly welcoming you, it's so bad to have someone like that at the entrance of the dining place, I was trying to avoid here, hwich should never be teh case anyway. 4- Waitresses and waiters: they are all very nice and hard working people and smiling. 5- Water park: is great if offered free of charge, if you are supposed to pay, this will be unecessary extra cost. 6- Coming from Egypt I can tell you that the beach is awful, the worst that I have seen in my life, water not clean and pebbles everywhere, we hardly spent 5 min the whole vacation. 7- Room service ladies are very much nice but can't speal English but they are really great ones, one issue which is weird, they don't clean the room of Sundays !! because it's their day off, very strange. IN total and apart of the reception & restaurant ladies (who are the main disadvantage of the hotel and can be a reason for someone NOT to repeat the visit), the hotel amenitines are OK, pools are fine, rooms OK and in general it's an average posisbly 4 starts hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south shields
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

On reading previous reviews as like others I was starting to worry about going here....I need not have, we booked with first choice and after the quickest check in (2 mins max) we were given our silver wrist band which is VIP and the key to our room. The room was lovely & clean with a fridge filled with water and pop on arrival, kettle, tea, coffee which we were not expecting. The pool was fab nice and big and like other reviews the sunbeds were taken very early on but we always managed to grab 2 for ourselves few games etc around the pool which we liked to watch and the waterpark over the road was good for a change now & again...we did not have to pay to get in just gave our name and room number and we were ticked off the list then we could come and go as often as we liked.
Food and drink now I do agree a little with some of the other reviews that the food you did not have the best choice but to say it was auwful is just going over the top, you wont starve the food is edible and to be honest we never have to go early or wait in queue's to eat so maybe the past reviews think that 2 people in front of you is a queue!!!! you can either eat in the dining restuarant or in the snack bar by the pool this is where we ate most, the drinks are ok you can help yourself to soft drinks and at dinner time adults can pull there own beer and wine....nice.
The beach is full of stones to take some waterproof shoes which I didn't so it was probably quit funny to watch people like myself hop, skip & jump into the sea lol
Entertainment was good I have seen better although they do work long hrs
The airport is rather close but it is fab watching how low the planes fly over and you hardly hear them during the night and its only for about 4 seconds untill it passes over.

All in all we had a lovely week at the blue bay hotel and would defo go back and recommend to anyone, I honestly think people are just so fussy and like to moan at the slightest thing, so to anyone that is worrying about going please dont, you will have a lovely time :-)

Room Tip: we were on the 3rd floor with a view of the pool a sea view wich was lush which you could see the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blue Bay Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Beach Hotel

Address: Ialyssos Beach, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Bay beach hotel is situated 10Km from the city of Rhodes and 2Km from Ialyssos town on the island’s west coast.The hotel BLUE BAY consists of a main building and bungalows with private or shared pools.BLUE BAY hotel is official cat. ****Main building has 244 units. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Blue Bay Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Rhodes
Blue Bay Hotel Rhodes
Hotel Blue Bay Rhodes
Blue Bay Ialysos
Blue Bay Beach Hotel Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.