We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Honeymoon but More for Families” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Electra Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Electra Palace Resort to your Saves list
Electra Palace Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Trianta Beach, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Blackpool, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Honeymoon but More for Families”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We went here for our Honeymoon and upon arrival we were slightly disappointed with a few things but overall happy with a very nice Hotel and Grounds.
We were disappointed we didn't get an upgrade for our Honeymoon (but you can't win them all I guess!) and were disappointed to find out the WiFi is only on the ground floor, payable and not cheap. Their idea of a fully stocked mini bar is a couple bottles of water, a few soft drinks and ONE small can of beer in a fridge that struggled to keep anything cool.
What is advertised as a Pool Bar is not a bar in the pool but a bar near the pool which, ridiculously, closes at 4pm.
The Beach is very poor - very gravelly and pebbly and only about 5 metres from grass to sea, but the water is pleasant and gets deep fast!

The biggest disappointed was the bed, which was 2 single beds pushed together and with 2 sets of single bedding. This makes it impossible for a loving couple to share a bed properly!

All this being said the Hotel was very clean, the rooms were nice, the grounds well kept and beautiful, the food was absolutely outstanding and irresistible - you will put on weight :) and the Staff were very friendly and helpful and their linguistic skills were awe inspiring - flitting between languages with ease.

The Hotel is not in the best location if you like an evening stroll but sea sport lovers will find what they need a little up the beach.
If you need to venture out there is a range of unguided excursions which are reasonably priced but we recommend walking up to the main road and getting a bus to town for 2.20 euros, then the whole Island is at you disposal - the Water Park at Falaraki is worth a visit.

This is directly under the flight path for All incoming flights but it only really bothered us over Sat/Sun when there was a plane every 20mins (or so it seemed)

All in we had a fantastic 10 days and the Hotel is probably the best in the Area, but would say it is very much a Family Holiday Location more than a Couples Retreat.

Room Tip: Sea View is nice and as the Hotel is on the Windy side of the Island you can stay cool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    279
    93
    53
    28
See reviews for
224
315
7
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at Electra Palace. The hotel is really very classy, the rooms are spacious and very well decorated. Can not hear what the neighbor ... The presence of aircraft did not at all bothered us, it is not so much noise as some say, and then you get used to very quickly. We ate really well, meals are varied and of very good quality. The pool is nice and the beds are readily available ... The super beautiful sea, direct access, by providing against special shoes because the rollers are super sore feet! We did visit the two largest cities on the island with Jet Air, and I recommend it. The old town of Rhodes is beautiful ... In short, we had a memorable Travel Noce .
The reception managers and the whole reception staff were very pleasent and helpfull and immediatly solved any problem in the fastest and most efficient way.
The dinning room manager is very pleasent,smily and welcoming as all the stuff.
The cafeteria,s stuff and managers were very pleasent and provided excellent service.
In one word excellent,it was our second time and defently every time we will be in rodes it,s only Electra Palace.
And finally 12 points......

Room Tip: Higher floors have less a/c unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel was amazing and couldn't do enough for us! My husband and I got married in Rhodes last May and we stayed at Electra Palace for 2 weeks. There were 32 of us in total and everyone thoroughly enjoyed themselves. We were very impressed with the hotel on arrival and transfer was only about 45mins from the airport.
When ourselves and family arrived, some of our rooms were not available - NOT THE HOTELS FAULT, purely Thomas Cook messing things up!! However the hotel made sure that we all got to our rooms asap and upgraded the others that had a standard room to a suite!

The Hotel
The hotel was kept very clean and all furnishing and decoration seemed new. We stayed in a suite which was lovely but had other family members that stayed in standard rooms and they were spacious enough for two and also decorated well.

The Staff
They were very polite and accommodating. We had a few extra request and they couldn't do enough for us. If we had known in advance with wouldn't have bothered with a wedding coordinator as the hotel arranged so much (free of charge). They booked a hair dresser & closed off their Chinese restaurant for us for the wedding meal. We also had canapés in the reception bar on our return from the ceremony. They checked up on us throughout the day and evening and really made us feel special on the day.
The staff would spend time talking to everyone and we knew most of them by name by the end of our stay.

The Food
There was always so much to choose from, the only down side is that you probably will put on some weight. I ended up having 3 courses for breakfast, lunch & dinner most days (not good when you need to fit into a wedding dress!), It was all so nice. Along with their normal selections they always have a theme for the night which works on a two week rota so you don't get the same food twice.
There is also an Italian and chinese restaurant included in the all inclusive & their menu is smaller but all the food was great there too. You have to book though as it's a smaller restaurant, you get table service at both.
The drinks are plentiful...a good selection of cocktails and beers to drink & they were always happy to make a hot chocolate at the end of the night.

The Entertainment
The animation team were fab, they were always there and always happy. They spent time getting to know the children that were with us and would always come over to say hi. Something different on every night, including karaoke, quiz's & competitions to keep you entertained in the evenings.
There is a bar opposite with a pool table that we went to a few times but I referred the hotel as it was cleaner & free!
We hired cars and quad bikes to get around. The car hire company has a table set up in the foyer and quad bike places just down the beach.

The only fault for this hotel is that they work with Thomas Cook (we has so many problems with them throughout our booking & wedding organising).
I can't believe it's not a 5*, best hotel I've ever stayed in. We didn't want to leave & can't wait to go back for our anniversary!

Room Tip: The new building rooms are newly refurbished & more spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We had a great time at the Electra Palace Resort. It's a great hotel with very friendly staff, nicely furnished rooms with a beautiful view on the sea and amazing food. The location of the hotel is perfect, directly by the sea and very close to the airport and other hotspots in Rhodes. I can only recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Been there location is ok near airport , to go to the city you need bus or car , room are great , the food in the dining room is very good and fresh every day.
The wifi cost money and it very expensive .
The evening shows were also great and fun.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Very good hotel. Very well maintained. Good quality furnishings and well kept by friendly staff. Nice pool area with plenty of sunbeds. No need to get up at 5.00 am to reserve them. Hotel is about 5 miles from the airport but we never had our sleep disturbed by aircraft movements. Food was good in the main dining room but the Chinese and Italian restaurants were a little uninspiring.
The beach was mainly pebbles and within about 8 meters you are out of your depth.
On the negative side, entertainment was not up to much, especially for the children. Overall, it was a great holiday. Would definitely go back. P.S. It pays to tip the bar staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We have just returned from a one week break to this hotel. It was an excellent hotel with many amenities and spacious rooms. The staff were very helpful and friendly and worked very hard to maintain a spotlessly clean environment. The hotel,rooms,and gardens were immaculate and constantly being cleaned and gardens well manicured.There was a lot of aircraft noise due to the close proximity of the airport but we did not find it a problem as the advantage of a short transfer from the airport to hotel far outweighed this.The food was good and included in the all inclusive package were meals at the Italian and Chinese restaurants. It did occasionally seem a little dis-organised at times in the main dining room with things like trays of desserts not replenished as quickly as some would have liked, but the staff were very responsive and you only had to ask and your requests were immediately accommodated. Each afternoon around 4.30pm there was an array of cakes, doughnuts and buns with coffee and tea, no excuse to go hungry!
The pool area was very good with many daily activities if you wished to join in. Plenty of sunbeds too around the pool, beach and gardens which bordered the beach. The weather was hot, building to the early 30's degree centigrade but the breeze from the sea was very welcome and made sunbathing more comfortable. The beach is pebbly but we took some sport swim shoes and it was fine. Be warned that it does shelve a little but then shallows again quite quickly but the waves can be quite powerful at times so take care.
There was nightly entertainment for those who wanted or you could sit in the lounge indoor and outdoors and relax over a drink (tea/coffee/beer/cocktail/wine). I was also pleasantly surprised that your beach towels are in your room and you do not have to pay extra for the safe. We were all inclusive and think it was great value for money even if you do not drink alcohol as the weather is so hot you need to drink plenty.
There was a heated indoor pool, spa and gym area which we did not use this time but they looked very good and we have promised ourselves we will at least have a swim and a spa treatment on our next visit.
I have read a review that says it was cool and windy at night but we went early June (12th) and found the evenings were on the whole warm and with a welcoming breeze but were told by the staff that late May and the first few days of June could be cloudy and cooler.
We were only there for a week and so only made one excursion, to Rhodes, because it was really hot,but the old town particularly was lovely and well worth the visit. We fully recommend this resort and plan to return to Rhodes and to the Electra Palace in September 2014 when it will hopefully a little cooler and we will stay for 2 weeks and visit Symi. Lindos and have a trip to Turkey as a minimum.
Will be happy respond to any e-mails if anyone has any specific questions.

Room Tip: We were in the hotel annex which was lovely and very quiet. We were on the 4th floor and had a sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Electra Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Electra Palace Resort

Address: Trianta Beach, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
#3 Family Hotel in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Electra Palace Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Constructed on 1974 and renovated to a high standard in 2006, The Electra Palace Hotel in Rhodes is decorated in Art Deco style and it portrays loyally the sophistication of the Italian flair of the island. The Electra Palace Hotel, situated on the western coast of Rhodes, consists of two buildings, twenty meters away from the sea front and very near the village of Trianta. Three restaurants offer a variety of ambiance, style and choice of theme eating and the three bars of the hotel provide the opportunity of choosing between the sea or pool view. Card table area and TV room with a large screen, Internet Corner, Sports facilities, Basket-Ball, Volley-Ball and Tennis court, swimming pools and shops. All rooms have private balconies overlooking the Aegean, the pool or its magnificent gardens. Except of the standard rooms Junior suites, Family and Executive suites are available to satisfy the most demanding customer. Other children hotel facilities include a playground, a mini club, baby cots, high chairs, children’s menu for lunch and dinner, a juniors club with internet access, RPG games and Nintendo corner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Electra Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Electra Palace Hotel Ialyssos
Hotel Electra Palace
Electra Palace Ialysos
Electra Palace Rhodes
Electra Palace Hotel Rhodes
Electra Palace Resort Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Electra Palace Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.