We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb family resort in Rhodes” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Beach Holiday Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Ialyssos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sun Beach Holiday Club
Save
You added Sun Beach Holiday Club to your Saves list
PO Box 47, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Ialyssos
Grantham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Superb family resort in Rhodes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Remarkably high standard for Greece. Friendly and helpful staff. Lovely pool and a path straight onto the pebbly beach. Excellent pool bar and relaxed daily activity programme for families. Kids club too. Mini-golf and tennis courts. On-site supermarket that isn't out to rip you off. Good standard of accommodation that will only get better now Diamond International have taken over. Diamond reps are friendly, helpful and not pushy. We were treated like friends. Don't miss Gina's happy hours. She is a bundle of fun and great advice on local attractions and restaurants.
Apartment was spotless and clean towels every day. Bed was a little too firm, but Diamond International beds are on their way! Everything you could need was in the apartment. Air-conditioning was effective. We had a wonderful sea view and a large balcony. Get yourself Platinum Diamond International membership and the Wifi is free too!
Booking again for 2014.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    18
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
12
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat, Oman
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stayed at Sun Beach Holiday Club as an RCI exchange and we enjoyed it very much.

There are no porters to help you to your room and I felt very sorry for a young Mum travelling with a small child who ended up on the wrong side of the hotel quite late at night. Having been told that check-in for her was on the other side, she was just left to find it on her own in the dark with all her luggage to lug along with her and a rather tired little boy. That said, we were given a wonderful room - spacious and with a magnificent sea view.

Every day our room was serviced and we were given clean towels. The little kitchenette was perfect for our needs - except that we had to buy dish washing liquid and a dish cloth. It had a hot plate and small microwave but it was the fridge and kettle that we really wanted. There is a small supermarket between the two sections of the hotel and it is very well priced. A small water there was 25 cents as opposed to 50 cents in most other places (and 3 euros at the Acropolis!!!!). There are many lovely eating and shopping options to choose from and we quickly realised that you can find some good deals on Rhodes. Don't leave all your shopping for Athens - you might be disappointed.

Sun Beach has its own pretty little bit of beach with loungers and sunshades. It is a pebbly beach so you need shoes and we found it a bit windy for swimming but just gorgeous for watching the kite surfers.

We decided to hire a car - easily done! There are many agents from the well known ones like Hertz and Europcar near the airport to delightful family businesses like Intercar in Rhodes Town which is the one we chose. It was at a place called Kariba Travel and we were given an excellent deal for the week. Just make sure you keep your receipt handy as you can be stopped and asked to produce it.

The hired car gave us the freedom to explore everything this beautiful island has to offer from tons of lovely sandy beaches to all the delightful little places up in the mountains. Loungers on the beaches are 4 euros per person. There are lots and lots of restaurants on and near the beaches where you can enjoy some refreshment and get free wifi at the same time.

And that was a downside for us at the hotel. The wifi cost 1 euro per half hour with some other deals if you wanted to buy for a few days. We had big problems getting it to work while at our favourite restaurant at Faliraki Beach, we could enjoy a Frappe at a good price and time on the Internet everyday for free - problem free too! The receptionist at Sun Beach apologised to me when we checked out. Apparently it wasn't just us who battled and eventually the hotel had called a technician in. We would have used the hotel bar and lounge if we had been able to get free wifi there while enjoying a sundowner. Instead we took our business elsewhere.

The hotel is eco-friendly and we liked that. The solar panels double up as shading for the parking area. It is well situated. We went for lovely walks in the evening through the little town and back. All in all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. A lovely resort on an island that is definitely worth seeing.

Room Tip: We were first floor above the bar which was a bit noisy some nights but we wouldn't have changed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed in the timeshare apps but are not with diamond. I do not class the actual apartments as 4* only 3 they are clean and comfortable (if you like VERY firm beds) but are very basic in comparison to similar units elsewhere. However they are cleaned every day and fresh linen always available. The private pool area by the beach is very nice. There is little or no information in the units re other facilities like the private pool, facilities for late check outs for night flights etc. I felt as if I was a pest as I kept calling at the club office or reception for basic information. It is only a short walk to bars and restaurants, but do try Mr Greek just off the beach at the other end of the resort (carry on past the fish restaurant about 5 to 10 min stroll) George is a fab host and does 241 cocktails 6 til 8 and good food too. Also Blue Angel is a friendly bar with cheap local beer and a cheery lady host. Greekland is amazingly cheap we were rather dubious but gave it a try and is very good and the entertainment is a good laugh. The taxi is now €14 from the airport but they charge €17 if the hotel calls you one for the return journey. Take ear plugs the air conditioning is very noisy and not very efficient. Take mosquito prevention and treatment, they are a nightmare.
If you arrive late Zobas opposite is good. Get water etc before 11pm as no provisions welcome pack provided here. Complex supermarket expensive many things unpriced but good baked goods if you are up early enough. Won't be changing my holiday club to join diamond, but on the whole it was a good holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

me and my wife have just returned from a one week stay here and wished we booked two weeks. definately be back next year.the rooms were cleaned and bed made plus towels changed every day. excelent view from our ground floor appartment with just 5 meters walk to pool and 30 meters to beach. staff very friendly. 2 minutes walk into town where spoilt for choice of lovely bars and restauraunts, we used two on a regular basis one of which is opposite the hotel entrance called Zorbas place, lovely family run homecooked food.and another at other end of town called blue angel good for cheap cocktails. unfotunately some restaraunts and bars are suffering from the " all inclusive " hotels, as people dont venture too far in evenings. anyway as i was saying... brilliant hotel situated in a lovely area. ps.use the next supermarket along as its cheaper and family that run it are very very friendly.

Room Tip: look for an ocean side room, such lovely views of sea with turkey on horizon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

STOP CHARGING FOR WIFI AND BEACH SUN BEDS
now that is off my chest. The hotel is nice we stayed in a one bed timeshare unit and no issues with the unit. the staff were very helpful and very polite. i think the pool bar shutting at six is missing a business opportunity it is a lovely bar and having a happy hour and then staying open to get guests as they go out for dinner is missing revenue. They make up for that with the high bar prices. Now the resort has recently been bought by diamond and we were invited to the diamond sales pitch. The staff were ok not too pushy but lacked sufficient information about the future of the diamond offering post the initial three years. My questions couldnt be answered in detail and the cost didnt look good value to me as the value wasnt properly explained. There were too many anecdotes of the sales team personal experiences and few facts. overall nice place needs some of the charging sorting out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Having recently returned from a 2 week stay I wanted to say how much we enjoyed our stay. The 4th floor 1 bed apartment, which was cleaned every day, was spotless and had a great view of the sea over the lawn, The room was well equipped and the only problem we had was an unserviceable kettle, which was replaced very quickly. The reception staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient as was Anna in Guest Services who is worth approaching for local information and tours etc. There are various small supermarkets nearby and a larger Carrefour supermarket about a 10 minute walk away. You have a choice of restaurants but we were particularly impressed with the Aspri Avli and had a couple of wonderful dinners in very welcoming, friendly surroundings. The Cake Box is a very popular cafe for delicious coffee and cake and is about a 10 minute walk away. You won't go hungry. We would be happy to stay here again, should we decide to go back to Rhodes in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ipswich
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My family have just returned from a 2 week stay at the Sun Beach Holiday Club, and being our second visit we had high expectations, and were not dissapointed. Since our last visit the accommodation had been updated, and very clean. The cleaners attended everyday and were thorough in their job. Most rooms have a Sea view and you hear it from your balcony against the shore. So nice.
The pool side and beach bar were managed by great staff who went out of their way to please us, and make our stay a good one.
My wife and I had made many comments to each other on how relaxed we were, and in fact the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
We were never bothered, harrased in any way, which was fantastic.
The wifi works throughout he resort at 12€ for 3 hours, however all restaurants do offer free wifi, laundry is 9€ for 5kilo.
Outside their were many shops and restuarants, and we visited several, however would recommend Kostas, great staff, food and kept drawing us back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Beach Holiday Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Beach Holiday Club

Address: PO Box 47, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Beach Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Ialyssos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Ialyssos
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Sun Beach Holiday Club Hotel Ialyssos
Sun Beach Holiday Club Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Beach Holiday Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.