We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel in Ialyssos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence

Save Saved
You added The Residence to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence
3.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   14, Ferenikis Street, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Odense, Denmark
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Ialyssos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Knowing, this was only a 3-star hotel, me and my boyfriend wasn't ekspecting too much of the hotel, but we were happily surprised. The food and drinks were very good. The all-inclusive food, were served at an indoor restarant, and everyday you could chose from both greek and europian food. Great variation :) The cooked us pancakes every morning:) The all inklusive drinks were very good to. ( Johnny in the Poolbar will become your best friend - he is super nice and friendly and makes good drinks - especially the pinacolada. Try to make him make you the pina colada Greek. It is a blue varation of the original pina colada :) )
Some of the hotelguests were very angry during our stay because they felt the standard of their room were to poor. I did not have any complaints though. The room were a bit tired/old, but it was cleaned everyday ( exept sundays- greeks dont work that day) and we had a big 2 bedroom apartment with a nice big balcony and a refrigerator plus a TV. ( only minus is that the bed was really hard)
You have to pay for the safety depositbox and the aircondition. On our first day we could not get the tv to work and there were no light in the livingroom. When we called the reception they sent someone up, when we went to eat dinner and when we came back everything was fixed. I dont think you can ask for more when the price is so cheap and the hotel "only" has 3 star. The service was super great. Both the girls in the reception and the nice souschef at the restaturant were very helpfull.
When we stayed at the Residence( may/june 2012) we stayed in the hotel across the small road from the reception. The main hotel ( where the pool and the reception is) were not used. I think it is because it is being renovated.
If you want to go to another restaurant one of the days then try the "knights of olde restaurant on Ierou Lohou , five minutes from the hotel. It is so romantic and the food is the best i ever tasted i Rhodos:)
As long as you dont expect 5star quality the you will enjoy the residence. But if you want luxury go somewhere else so the rest of us can relax, enjoy our stay, and ofcourse - we wont have to listen to all of your complaints:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    4
    7
    6
See reviews for
15
31
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

We had a delightful holiday at this hotel. The hotel was clean and spacious. Our room, modern and large, with a mini kitchenette and fridge. The maids kept the room clean and tidy, regularly changing the sheets and towels. The all inclusive food was varied and fresh, however if you like deserts, there wasn't a big choice. The staff in the hotel and poolside were so friendly. The poolside was large and clean with a pool bar and plenty of sunbeds and chairs in full sun and shade. Although we didn't need it, there are extra charges for Air-Con and Wi-Fi. We will choose to come back to The Residence next time we visit Rhodes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

Summer vacations at The Residence hotel, what can I say.... excellent choice for me and my girlfriend. Nice big apartment, friendly staff, excellent night life at Absolut bar, lazy hours next to the pool, plenty of greek food :) ...... Nice all inclusive 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

My wife and I spend a week at The Residence Hotel in Rhodes. We had a brilliant relaxing week and we recommend it.
The hotel is set 150 meters from a pebble beach. Top tip - use the Forum Beach area (you don't pay for the sunbeds since belongs to the same company). We spent many lazy hours - just wonderful.
Our apartment had a sea view and the coastline of Turkey and another Greek island.
The staff at reception, the restaurant and bars were so nice, helpful, polite and welcoming,
as well as the entertainment staff (I like Fakir show)!
Food - The buffet restaurant was lovely great choices for all inclusive, hotplates, salad, breads, pastries, cereals, fruit, ice cream and deserts. There is also 2 al' carte restaurants you can book at reception the day before. We only use the Greek Taverna and we highly recommend it.
Absolute bar and Pool bar covers all day with cocktails and great choice of - Vodka, ouzo, brandy, gin, whiskey, sambuca, beer, cocktails, white / red and rose' wine and liqueurs. Cola, lemonade, soda water, juices, water, coffee and tea.
The hotel was spotless and the rooms were cleaned.
Thanks for the excellent vacations... we already book the same hotel for next year :)

Room Tip: Call them or send an email.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Thank you for your response.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011 via mobile

It was perfect.. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, made us feel at home. The rooms were great size and nicely decorated, very clean. There was a great variation of food, and the food itself was lovely. Me and my boyfriend spent a few nights at absolut bar, very nice atmosphere. The animation team was really enthusiastic and they put on some really cool shows a couple of times. I met so many wonderful people there.. We felt at home!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We had great vacations, me and my girlfriend. A modern hotel that plesantly surprize us with very nice staff and excellent services.
Unique experiences at Absolute bar, lazy hours by the pool drinking cocktails, best vacations ever !!!
If I go next year to Rhodes, I will come back to this hotel ..... :)

Room Tip: Sorry no tip ....... ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

I stayed there with my husband in june, and we had an amazing time. The staff was excellent, service was great, our room was lovely and the bar was the liveliest place in the area! Such great atmosphere and we are definitely going to go back!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christos P, Manager at The Residence, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
Thank you for your review !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence

Address: 14, Ferenikis Street, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Specialty lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Residence 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The RESIDENCE, set in two blocks and separated by a small public road, has recently undergone a complete renovation and promises a new experience for the demanding holidaymaker. Set on the green and lush north-west coast of the island (100 meters from the public pebbles and sand beach), 8 km from cosmopolitan Rhodes New town & the historic Old City, 900 m from the lovely city center of Ialysos with various gift shops, bars & nightlife supermarkets & restaurants, 11 km from the airport.ROOM DEFINITION: One bedroom Apartments (2 – 4 persons): the completed renovated and tastefully decorated apartments have a separate double bedroom, combined living-sleeping area including kitchenette with two electric rings, fridge, individually controlled air conditioning, safety deposit box, television set, bathroom, balcony or terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.