We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“tasty food nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of San Allote

San Allote
Ierou Lochou 29, Ialyssos, Greece
22410 90227
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 65 Restaurants in Ialyssos
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Warrington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“tasty food nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

We had a very nice meal here,I had stifado and my husband had meatballs. The waitress was very friendly and not pushy, wine was good we spent a very enjoyable evening here and would definitely recommend it

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly family atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We read about this Taverna on Trip Advisor and walked past it on our first day and thought we should have a look that evening. It was almost empty when we first arrived there but we looked at the menu outside and Dimitra came over and started talking to us about the menu. We decided to go in and give it a try as she was so helpful in telling us about the food. We could particularly recommend the moussaka and mixed mezzi.
It was a really great decision as we went back every night after that and she would sit down with us and spend time working out what we would like for that evenings meal. Dimitra was a great guide in giving us good advice for the food that her husband Nikos was cooking.
She was also very helpful in looking at the map of the island that we took with us one evening, we hired a car for 3 days and she told us of many places to visit that we would have missed for sure and also wrote her mobile phone number on the map in case we had a problem or needed help!
Dimitra was so helpful as was her husband Nikos and we became friends with them and also met their children on the last evening at the Taverna.
This is a great place to eat and also talk to them, and because of this very friendly atmosphere we had no hesitation in returning each night. I would go there again next time we are in Rhodes for a holiday. Try this Taverna yourself and you decide how good it is, I think you will not be disappointed as many of the people there each night were those that had found it and liked it so much they returned, as we did.
Superb food and a very friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“dimitra"s palace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

brilliant local greek cuisine cooked by dimitra"s husband who ensures all the food is fresh.dimitra has a very outgoing personality and makes you feel very welcome and special

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“very friendly people and most of all great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

After we went here the first time we went back two more times in the four days we had left on our vacation. The food was that good and the service was that friendly.
Dimitra is the friendly hostess of the restaurants who wants everybody to have a good time and is always in for a chat, if you are in to that. And still manages to see that everybody has what they need/want. And the chef knows how to cook, my favourite was the starter called San Allote chicken. Very tasty.
This restaurant will be visited again if we decide to go back to Rhodos.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irelnd
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A little Gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Ialyssos in Rhodes is a resort with plenty of good tavernas and bars but my favourite is San
Allote...a great little taverna run by a lovely couple. Dimitra is out front meeting and greeting and
making everyone feel welcome, while Niko is in the kitchen cooking up a storm. The food is delicious and I really enjoyed everything we ordered. San Allote has a lovely relaxed atmosphere, just what you need to get you in the holiday mood....definitely worth a return visit.

Joy, Dublin

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed San Allote also viewed

 

Been to San Allote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage San Allote, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.