We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kassandra appartments & lalyssos” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kassandra Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kassandra Apartments to your Saves list
Kassandra Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Rimini 1 | Ialisos City, Ialyssos 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Wimborne Minster, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Kassandra appartments & lalyssos”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband & myself have just come back from 2 weeks at Kassandra apartments, we can honestly say that while yes the rooms were basic they were always clean. All the staff were very friendly.The food in the restaurant was very nice also. We would also like to recommend The blue angel café bar Amelia was so good to me & my husband. We would also like to thank stelios & the guys at the restaurant we ate at most nights although we never saw the name the food was beautiful,everyone was friendly & Stelios helped us with some greek. So thank you to all those at Kassandra,amelia at the blue angel café bar & stelios & friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    47
    24
    19
See reviews for
75
46
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
st helens
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Having decided on a last min hols I wish we had saved our money. We stayed in a two bedroom apartment which was tiny with both the kitchen area and bathroom being absolutely filthy, it wasn't just dirty but had built in grime. The pools/pool areas were over crowded and the second pool looked dirty. There didn't appear to be any consistency in the standard of accommodation as other British families said their accommodation was larger and clean.

The service was also slow but I would say this was due to too many holidaymakers and not enough staff as the staff who were working did not stop.

We love Greece and all our main holidays are in Greece whether mainland or on an island but this is the worst accommodation I have stayed at ever !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The Kassandra offers two pools and great location for buses and the main strand filled with beautiful restaurants which serve amazing food. However I would not return to this particular complex. First of all we were unfortunate to be placed in the old part of the building, which was dated and the air con was poor. Spent most nights too hot to sleep. For most of the holiday we didn't have any hot water, in fact showers were freezing. When we asked the lady at the reception about this, she acted surprised, but we found out from other guests that they also had complained about the cold water. Turns out they didn't switch the boilers on in order to save money, which is against hotel regulations apparently. The main man at the front desk came across rather unpleasant, we nick named him 'Mr Smiler' in irony. The pools are a nice size however there were not enough beds for the amount of guests. Therefore we found a little pool attached to a restaurant and it was very relaxing and friendly.
The Plus parts about this hotel would have to be the maid service. Very friendly women who clean the apartments every day with fresh towels and bed sheets. Could not fault them, they work so hard.
Our holiday to Rhodes was fantastic, however this hotel was not a highlight and only offered a cheap enough place to (try) and sleep. Also good luck if your room is close to the Karaoke.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Returned from the Kassandra this morning having had a good holiday at an apart/hotel complex that is very well located for the resort.

We were given a room (416) in D block directly over the Bar/Taverna. This 1 bedroom apartment was dated but was clean with an excellent maid service for cleaning, providing fresh towells and bed linen and it came equipped with a fridge, 2-ring cooker (not used), tv (not used) and aircon unit located in the kitchen/lounge area. The aircon, as stated in other posts, costs 7 Euros per day but has a non-adjustable temperature of 21C which is plenty for overnight but not quite good enough when returning from the midday heat. My son found the aircon too cold when left on overnight on the lowest power setting in the lounge area and the through-flow to the bedroom wasn't quite good enough. The fixtures and fittings weren't really up to modern standards but as we just used it as a base it was certainly adequate. Our main issues were with the bathroom as we rarely had hot water available after 5:30pm, the plumbing made a horrendous noise at times, the toilet cistern was occassionally on constant refill as the plunger didn't shutoff properly. The staff resolved the cistern issue after night 1 but the fix only lasted 2 days.

The apartments complex are well equipped and our son had a great time meeting the other children. This made for a 'livelier' environment around the pools at times but there was also quite a lot of 'tranquility' too when there weren't as many kids around. The pools could have been cleaner, although the maintenance is done early every morning, but you could still feel sand underfoot in the shallow areas. Some of the plastic sunloungers were showing signs of wear with slats or backrest clips/adjusters being broken. The bar had a couple of coin operated PC gaming machines that allowed a number of minutes for different prices. The pool tables were in reasonable condition and cost 2 Euros per game. Sport was available on the reception area TV although the larger screen picture was unclear. Access to wifi is another payable extra at 3euros per day, 15 per week and 30 for the fortnight.

The staff are very polite and helpful and the restaurant very good value money. Overall, this was a good place to stay to experience the delights of Trianda as long as your expectations of the Greek lifestyle are realistic.

Room Tip: Avoid Block D as it is very noisy until 1-2 am on Karaoke nights. Restaurants Knights of Olde, Plat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Having not been abroad for a number of years we were a little apprehensive, but shouldn't have been. Lovely clean apartments with lovely staff in the taverna attached. Food is freshly cooked in the taverna on order so you wait a while but who needs to rush when you are on holiday! regular bus service in to Rhodes town, but would say go earlier rather than later as bus can get full late morning. Only negative was a boat trip to Symi which was expensive and felt rushed the whole day, you would be better going in to Rhodes town and seeing what's on offer from the harbour. although the trip to Lindos with Sharon was brilliant, giving us loads of information while travelling round the coast. the pools at the hotel are good but can get noisy so we headed for the beach which was shingle but ok for our needs. the east coast has better beaches and we took advantage of hiring a car to visit these. overall a great holiday that didn't cost the earth with great accommodation and friendly people

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We have recently returned from a one week holiday at the Kassandra Apartments. The Apartments are fairly basic but very clean, the cleaner came in daily to change sheets and towels.

The food at the taverna on site was very nice and reasonably priced. We did not bother to cook in our apartments, as we prefer to eat out, lots of restaurants and taverna's nearby and we often walked into Trianda , which was only a 10 minute walk.

The beach is shingle but we purchased some water shoes for 6 euro, so we able to get in and out of the sea easily. The beach is just a five minute walk away.

We would return to these apartments as they are a reasonable price and offer a good base

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We stayed at the Kassandra Apartments last week (15 Aug - 21 Aug 13) and were in room 543 which I can only recommend. We were in the new block and, while the apartment is basic it was spotlessly clean and remained so thanks to our cleaner visiting each morning with fresh towels and clean sheets every couple of days.

We had a lovely balcony and the view from the front door of the apartment was lovely. We arrived very early in the morning and were told by an Olympic rep that Rhodes was experiencing a heatwave with temperatures reaching 47 degrees centigrade. With this in mind we paid 49Euros for air conditioning to last us the duration of our trip (7Euros per day which you can pay daily or in full as you prefer). However, as we were on the top floor we could really have done without it and just left the balcony sliding door open which ensured a cool breeze throughout the apartment.

We cooked in a couple of evenings and the 2 ring plug in cooker was fine for all that we were cooking but if you are into elaborate dishes using more than one hob ring at a time you'll run into difficulties so do bear that in mind. The apartment had a TV but please note, some guests were disappointed that the channels were in Greek and not English although we weren't fussed as we wanted to get out and explore! We also had a fridge/freezer, kettle, wet room style shower, hairdryer and a small table and 3 chairs on the balcony. There were 2 single beds in the main bedroom and a third single bed in the kitchen / living area although it can get hot in here so consider the air con if you have more than 2 ppl sharing!

We ate a couple of nights in Socrates Taverna, the onsite bar and restaurant and the food was delicious and very good value for money. I'd recommend sampling the local delicacies and enjoyed eating the moussaka while my mum thought the stifado was lovely. To give you an idea of the value for money we had a greek salad to share, 2 moussaka and a delicious greek yogurt with honey and nuts to share (the portion is quite big and yummy!) as well as a carafe of wine for just over 25Euros. George who works behind the bar is really lovely and will recommend the perfect dish depending on your preferences. The pitta bread with tzatziki is also lovely (we did do more than eat this holiday, honestly!!)

There are two pools at the hotel with 2 smaller paddling pools as well and plenty of sun loungers although seemingly never enough but we didn't have to wait long for a couple of free ones. The pool at the rear by the lawn is the better of the two and it was very popular with families when we were there. It's a safe place and easy to keep an eye on the children as they play but it can get loud and we found it very hot so headed to the beach instead. To get to the beach turn left out of the main entrance and just walk straight and it will, after a few minutes walk, appear ahead of you.

It's a shingly beach so I'd advise wearing swimming shoes (you can pick these up cheaply from any of the supermarkets) otherwise getting in and out of the water will be tricky and probably a bit painful! You can rent sun loungers for 4Euro per day which we did or you can pick a spot elsewhere although there were times we needed the shelter of the umbrellas around us! If you are into windsurfing or jet skiing you can rent these and take a windsurfing lesson here. The sea is a stunning blue and warm and there is a cooling breeze here as well. Nearby there are lots of cocktail bars and places to eat if you get peckish. We went into a quirky windmill which offers food and drink and houses a private museum inside which is well worth a look if you get a chance. There are lots of pieces of artwork outside and fairy lights - look out for it!

As we were with Olympic holidays we decided to go on a couple of trips while staying in Rhodes. We went to Symi and Lindos, both by boat. I wouldn't recommend the Symi trip as it is very expensive and you spend most of the day on an enormous ferry travelling and, as Symi is so popular, there were literally thousands of people walking about a very small area and you didn't get much time to explore. If you want to go there you can go for much cheaper, about 25Euro rather than the 49Euro we paid.

The boat trip to Lindos was a different kettle of fish entirely and was brilliant. The boat was much smaller and Sharon, our guide, regularly told us about places of interest and their history as we passed them by. There is an on boat bar serving food and drink, the cheapest water you'll get on the trip so stock up! as well as ice creams. At Lindos we spent some time walking about the old town or you can get a 'Lindos taxi' ie. a donkey to take you to the acropolis or old town. However, we just couldn't bring ourselves to do this! The hills are very steep and seeing how heavy some of the people were getting on those poor animals was nothing short of a disgrace.
The small and large beach are very popular - be wary of some of the prices in the shops. You may well see the same items in Rhodes town for half the price. We ate cheaply in Scala restaurant by the boat and were able to swim twice off the boat. All in all a lovely day! I would however say that it is very steep in Lindos so if you have mobility issues this may not be the trip for you. There is a bus trip there which I am told is very good and has a commentary, takes around 2 hours (is air conditioned!) and is parked at the top of the hill at the old town, meaning you will still have to walk up one hill but it's better than walking up 2 or 3!

A few tips we came across you might find useful: Kassandra supermarket is good if you are in a rush for something but both it and Carrefour are the pricier supermarkets. Heading out from the hotel reception turn right, come to the main road and turn left. About 5 minutes down the road is a great bakery with loads of local delights - they do a great brioche style chocolate bread that is amazing as well as rolls, croissants and delicacies from the region baked fresh daily. They are open from about 7.30am, get in early for the best stuff. It's really popular with the locals so stock moves fast! Carry on down this road and you will come to a supermarket called 'Nanou'. This is the supermarket the locals go to and has the best range of food and is best value for money.

As of May this year you have to purchase bus tickets to Rhodes town prior to your journey. The Anixis supermarket sells these by the journey so you can buy these in bulk for 2,20Euro each way and the journey takes about 15 mins although is usually standing room only! Heading out of the hotel on foot turn right at the main road and walk to the traffic lights. Cross over, staying on the same side of the road you've been on and turn right. Follow the road until you get to a big Greek restaurant at a fork in the road. You are in Trianda and taking the road to the left will lead you to good souvenir shops, clothing shops, bars and supermarkets. Shops are open until about 11.

All in all, Kassandra Apartments was perfect for us. We got a cheap last minute deal and couldn't have been more pleased although there were some less satisfied customers there whose rooms appeared to be pretty bad. Some were able to change though and if you go with Olympic you are free to use other Olympic hotels if that is some consolation. The Anixis hotel is popular, all English, quiet pool, cooked breakfasts and English TV. I hope that this review, if a little long, is helpful to you. Take Kassandra for what it is - a place to lay your head and base yourself from on your trip. If you get a chance the Tuesday night Karaoke night is the best as the local Greeks come down and sing Greek songs and dance the night away - you are encouraged to join in and it's great fun! We are looking forward to returning again soon. Enjoy your stay! ;o)

Room Tip: If you go there ask for the rooms from 540 to 546/7 as they appear to be the most modern and are top...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kassandra Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kassandra Apartments

Address: Rimini 1 | Ialisos City, Ialyssos 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Ialyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Ialyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kassandra Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kassandra Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kassandra Apartments Hotel Ialyssos
Kassandra Apartments Rhodes/Ialyssos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kassandra Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.