We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem in the heart of town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot hotel

Save Saved
You added Camelot hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Camelot hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 18 | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 118 hotels in Rhodes Town
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Little gem in the heart of town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We loved this little place run by the lovely host Nina. She is an absolute gem who has a great sense of humour and one of the kindest and warmest hosts.

The hotel itself is in the heart of old town. If you want to stay in the old town the location of this hotel could not be better. All the great bars and restaurants and sites are within walking distance. The hotel itself is small and cosy and it is built in a 700 year old building. It feels quite amazing staying in it. You see parts of the old city wall around you.

The room we stayed in was small and basic but we had expected that anyway. The bathroom is tiny but comfortable enough. The rooms are absolutely immaculate.

The breakfast was absolutely amazing. Nina makes fresh stuff everyday. You get an array of sweets either baked by her or freshly bought from the bakery. Then it's all the breads with home made jams. they she makes you lovely savoury stuff like ham and cheese or fetta and tomato. Lots of diff things every day. The menu changed everyday we were there. She also squeezes you fresh orange juice every morning. Our last day there we had to leave early and she got up and fed us at 7 a.m. (when breakfast starts at 8:30 a.m). She refused to let us go without feeding us and it was a big spread. She is such a lovely host.

The WIFI in the rooms was actually very good. We had no issues at all.

The only issue with staying in the old town is that no cars are allowed in. So when we got dropped off to the hotel from the airport we had to walk a bit, dragging our suitcases through the middle of the town, to get to the hotel. However we were told by Nina that we should have called her and she would have told the taxi driver to drop us off just outside the hotel. Most taxi drivers apparently don't like driving in but they can do drop offs. So best to keep that in mind. When she called us a taxi to the airport they picked us up just outside of the hotel, no issues. So keep that in mind.

Room Tip: She has 5 rooms I believe and from what we could tell there is one very large room. So if you want a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    168
    24
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
24
129
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here 4 nights and had a wonderful time. It's in the heart of the old town, but very close to the shore. It was like living in a castle but with all modern comforts. I loved the roof garden with a view over the harbour. Breakfasts were amazing - delicious and huge and cooked just for me. Nina was incredibly kind and helpful and her advice on what to do meant I had a brilliant time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

we had a fantastic two night stay at the camalot a hidden gem in the old town perfect for exploring the history of rhodes,right in the center with all the restaraunts within a few minutes walk,the rooms were very clean and comfortable with excellant air con a must when its 35c at night,our host nina was charming and great fun also providing a great breakfast to kickstart your day come and stay you will love it

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our two night stay at the Camelot Hotel in Rhodes. Nina (our host) was full of personality and extremely hospitable. She was so happy to have us at guests at her hotel, and took the time to show us around while getting to know us. She also personally cooked breakfast for all of her guests! Nina was also 3 for 3 in her restaurant recommendations, so make sure to ask her for her thoughts. She knows what she is talking about. As for the hotel, Camelot has a nice view of Old Town from the roof and is situated right in the middle of all the action. You can easily walk to several good restaurants and bars. The one thing I do want to mention, is that if you have a short visit to Rhodes and are in a hurry to see a lot of things, you just have to let Nina know. Otherwise, you could spend more time than you had anticipated at the hotel. Not a bad thing, but you definitely need some time to get out and explore Rhodes.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

You would be treating yourself if you stayed at the Camelot Classic Hotel as we did for four nights in the middle of July: you will never forget it and more particularly you will never forget Nina for her ever charismatic tenderness and joy regarding your travels and your day. She has lived in Rhodes all her life and the stories she shares about the generations of her fellow Rhodians is a history lesson itself as she shares fascinating and rare insights into the sights of the city. If it weren't for her advice, we would probably not have rented the car to see the acropolis at Lindos or taken that trip to see the Valley of the Butterflies (Tens of thousands of moths actually).
She is a tireless, enthusiastic worker who attends to every detail of her ancient ruins where lived one of the lesser knights of St John and his family, which she has miraculously converted into a five room hotel which is more like a bed and breakfast because of her love of sharing beautiful food at breakfast and tea time. The walls and arches of her compound are made out of beautiful shell powdered bricks, each one unique in shape, size, and colour, some yellow, some tan, some pink, and others terra-cotta. The porous texture and the random patterns of these bricks which were arranged by some master in the 14th Century are mesmerizing in beauty and in form. Nina's decor caresses these World Heritage Designation walls with a grace and simplicity that amplify what was once, for example, the stable for the Knight's three horses where we had our morning breakfast every day. In the interior, sun-filled courtyard, where circular iron-wrought tables provide niches scattered here and there to give shade during different parts of the day, there is a beach-stone floor mosaic which Nina commissioned herself for the archeological society insisted that her renovations include something that complimented whatever original flooring would have been there. Nina has managed to balance a rustic look -there are the archeologically certified cannon balls in the courtyard too- with spotlessly clean rooms that show lovely black-iron sconces scattered throughout, decor that imitates the giant iron sconces throughout the walled-city. The air conditioning worked flawlessly. We particularly enjoyed our time in the late afternoon on different parts of the rooftop, especially the top roof which overlooks the harbour where giant cruise ships, one of them ten stories high the day we were there, deposit the island's tourists for the day. Part of the access to the the rooftop is unfinished as she is awaiting more of those shell-powdered bricks so she can add a couple more rooms to her hotel, perhaps, as she says, in five years' time.
Sure, the rooms and the bathroom can be small but attention to detail and the constant reminder of living in a building that was built 700 years ago when threat of invasion was a constant possibility are humbling. Life was harder back then, but Nina's big heart makes the small spaces all the larger. I would go back to her hotel in a heartbeat and weep as I left, as I did yesterday, because of the life she gave it. Sure there were faceless, spiritless, modern hotels everywhere on the beach but really, isn't that just like home where ugly is excused for convenience? No, we weren't on the beach, but we were in the midst of a heart that had been beating for over 18 hundred years if you go back to the evidence in her hotel left from the great earthquake of 237AD. With historic resonance like that, who would want to live next to a beach? Like everything truly beautiful, there have to be paradoxes and the Camelot Classic Hotel is just that, proving that size is the least important when it comes to space. No we were in the heart of the best preserved walled cities in the world.
Go say "Hi" to Nina for me: you won't regret staying at her hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Camelot for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time there. Nina is very kind and lovely! She prepares a delicious breakfast and gives you many advices about the island, places to visit, how to rent a car, how to arrange a taxi, etc. The hotel is very charming and is located in the heart of the old town, inside the walls. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is small. The hotel has just a few rooms, so book in advance! Enjoy your visit with Nina!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we are traveling we worry about certain things… We worry about the weather, what to pack, where to stay, transportation, money exchange and so many other things. When you book in Camelot, you do not need to worry about many of these matters. Camelot hotel is not just a hotel, it is a charm, it is home far away from, and Nina is an experienced hostess who is willing to do whatever it takes to make her guests comfortable. Nina treats her clients as family members. Though I did not communicate to her my time of arrival, I found Nina waiting for us (we arrived in the early evening). Nina attends to her clients needs, and every morning she prepares lovely breakfasts. We stayed 3 nights in Camelot, on 2 days we had to leave the hotel early, and Nina was there for us with the freshly-squeezed orange juice, the hearty breakfast, and the lovely fresh fruit and the nice treats from the bakery. Nina even packed for us some food for our journey!
The hotel is pure charm. Staying in Camelot made us feel that we are in Greece. It has so much character, so much history, and the remodeling was done painstakingly to keep the history and the charm of Rhodes.
I left and wanting to go back. It is only in Camelot where I would stay if one day I will go back to beautiful Rhodes… Thank you NINA you made our trip so special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Address: Themistokleous 18 | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.