We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mesmirizing in beauty and form.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Camelot hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Camelot hotel to your Saves list
Camelot hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Themistokleous 18 | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mesmirizing in beauty and form.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

You would be treating yourself if you stayed at the Camelot Classic Hotel as we did for four nights in the middle of July: you will never forget it and more particularly you will never forget Nina for her ever charismatic tenderness and joy regarding your travels and your day. She has lived in Rhodes all her life and the stories she shares about the generations of her fellow Rhodians is a history lesson itself as she shares fascinating and rare insights into the sights of the city. If it weren't for her advice, we would probably not have rented the car to see the acropolis at Lindos or taken that trip to see the Valley of the Butterflies (Tens of thousands of moths actually).
She is a tireless, enthusiastic worker who attends to every detail of her ancient ruins where lived one of the lesser knights of St John and his family, which she has miraculously converted into a five room hotel which is more like a bed and breakfast because of her love of sharing beautiful food at breakfast and tea time. The walls and arches of her compound are made out of beautiful shell powdered bricks, each one unique in shape, size, and colour, some yellow, some tan, some pink, and others terra-cotta. The porous texture and the random patterns of these bricks which were arranged by some master in the 14th Century are mesmerizing in beauty and in form. Nina's decor caresses these World Heritage Designation walls with a grace and simplicity that amplify what was once, for example, the stable for the Knight's three horses where we had our morning breakfast every day. In the interior, sun-filled courtyard, where circular iron-wrought tables provide niches scattered here and there to give shade during different parts of the day, there is a beach-stone floor mosaic which Nina commissioned herself for the archeological society insisted that her renovations include something that complimented whatever original flooring would have been there. Nina has managed to balance a rustic look -there are the archeologically certified cannon balls in the courtyard too- with spotlessly clean rooms that show lovely black-iron sconces scattered throughout, decor that imitates the giant iron sconces throughout the walled-city. The air conditioning worked flawlessly. We particularly enjoyed our time in the late afternoon on different parts of the rooftop, especially the top roof which overlooks the harbour where giant cruise ships, one of them ten stories high the day we were there, deposit the island's tourists for the day. Part of the access to the the rooftop is unfinished as she is awaiting more of those shell-powdered bricks so she can add a couple more rooms to her hotel, perhaps, as she says, in five years' time.
Sure, the rooms and the bathroom can be small but attention to detail and the constant reminder of living in a building that was built 700 years ago when threat of invasion was a constant possibility are humbling. Life was harder back then, but Nina's big heart makes the small spaces all the larger. I would go back to her hotel in a heartbeat and weep as I left, as I did yesterday, because of the life she gave it. Sure there were faceless, spiritless, modern hotels everywhere on the beach but really, isn't that just like home where ugly is excused for convenience? No, we weren't on the beach, but we were in the midst of a heart that had been beating for over 18 hundred years if you go back to the evidence in her hotel left from the great earthquake of 237AD. With historic resonance like that, who would want to live next to a beach? Like everything truly beautiful, there have to be paradoxes and the Camelot Classic Hotel is just that, proving that size is the least important when it comes to space. No we were in the heart of the best preserved walled cities in the world.
Go say "Hi" to Nina for me: you won't regret staying at her hotel.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    28
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
140
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at Camelot for 3 nights and we had a wonderful time there. Nina is very kind and lovely! She prepares a delicious breakfast and gives you many advices about the island, places to visit, how to rent a car, how to arrange a taxi, etc. The hotel is very charming and is located in the heart of the old town, inside the walls. The rooms are clean and the bathroom is small. The hotel has just a few rooms, so book in advance! Enjoy your visit with Nina!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

When we are traveling we worry about certain things… We worry about the weather, what to pack, where to stay, transportation, money exchange and so many other things. When you book in Camelot, you do not need to worry about many of these matters. Camelot hotel is not just a hotel, it is a charm, it is home far away from, and Nina is an experienced hostess who is willing to do whatever it takes to make her guests comfortable. Nina treats her clients as family members. Though I did not communicate to her my time of arrival, I found Nina waiting for us (we arrived in the early evening). Nina attends to her clients needs, and every morning she prepares lovely breakfasts. We stayed 3 nights in Camelot, on 2 days we had to leave the hotel early, and Nina was there for us with the freshly-squeezed orange juice, the hearty breakfast, and the lovely fresh fruit and the nice treats from the bakery. Nina even packed for us some food for our journey!
The hotel is pure charm. Staying in Camelot made us feel that we are in Greece. It has so much character, so much history, and the remodeling was done painstakingly to keep the history and the charm of Rhodes.
I left and wanting to go back. It is only in Camelot where I would stay if one day I will go back to beautiful Rhodes… Thank you NINA you made our trip so special!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012 via mobile

We (me and my wife) stayed at Camelot in July for 2 nights. This is a small boutique hotel with only 5 rooms. It has a great location, all the historical sites, restaurants, bars and the beach (Eli beach) are within walking distance. The hotel also features a rooftop with a nice view of the surrounding city walls where you can relax with a glass of wine in the evening. But by far the best thing about the Camelot is to get to meet its lovely owner Nina. We felt like we were visiting our greek aunt we didn't know we had. Her recommendations with regard to places to see and eat were very helpful. Breakfast was a true delight, we got to sample her homemade cake and also had a chance to chit chat with the other guests. All in all our stay was very enjoyable, strongly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The day I arrived Camelot was my birthday. The owner, Nina, noticed that and sent us wine to celebrate. It's such a warm place away from home. My wife and I had a great time there, and we recommend Camelot. And thank you, Nina, if you read this. :)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Right in the heart of the old town, this B&B is everything you could ask for. It's clean, cosy, great location, nice breakfasts, helpful staff, and just all around a great experience. It's a little challenging for taxis to get to, but that's what you get with choosing the old city - it's well worth a little hassle. We'll happily go back if we get back to Rhodes again.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have lots of steep stairs, so choose carefully if you're not up for that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

My friend Ana and I had a wonderful time with Nina and her enchanting hotel, hidden in mysterious Rhodes. Her breakfasts were delicious, and the stories she told us about her hotels history fascinating. Thank you Nina ! Luz

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Camelot hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camelot hotel

Address: Themistokleous 18 | Medieval Town, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#8 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Camelot hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated, right inside the Medieval Town in Rhodes, very close to the commercial Harbour, Camelot Hotel is a traditional and classic hotel which besides its unique architectural design and location, is offering a variety of services making your accomodation unforgetable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Camelot hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Camelot Hotel Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes Town
Camelot Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camelot hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.