We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel and very convenient.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Angelo Hotel

Michael Angelo Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Rhodes Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Michael Angelo Hotel
Save
You added Michael Angelo Hotel to your Saves list
Perikleous 68 | Eirinis Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel and very convenient.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stay for 4 nights and we over enjoy it. Antoni the owner he is a great guy. Very helpful and very friendly. The room it was spacious with beautiful view. Very easy to get around and park the car right in front of the hotel. Also very well priced. Wifi connection, clean less and breakfast is pretty poor unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    2
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
8
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

We have stayed here twice (2 weeks each time) and yes you do need to have a sense of humour to really enjoy this place. What it lacks in pool etc it more than makes up for with friendly owners (Ma and Jed Clampit) and a simple, relaxed base from which to operate. The lack of a pool means no children (including drunk teenagers) to disturb your sleep at any time of the night or day but the view from the roof terrace (bit of a posh description) and the central location is brilliant. Step out of the door and a few hundred yards to the left past the very friendly locals is the town centre. Words of caution in the square - order a small beer and expect to have a 2 litre bucket arrive at inflated prices! The rooms are always clean and it is recommended that you ask for the Helios room at the top - great views and plenty of air generated by opening windows if you do not want the air con on. Air con works by remote control so if you wake up a bit cold you can turn it off without getting up. Stairs are a bit steep in places and steps are not all the same height. Breakfast is basic but Ma Clampit will always do her best to please. Will we go back? Absolutely, in a couple of years, I miss the family but there is only so much to do on Rhodes.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2010

The "lobby" is somewhat off-putting, but the rooms are nicely decorated. Reasonable value. Decent plumbing, free wifi. Location makes it easy to reach by vehicle (important in old town when you have luggage), five minutes walk to center. Convenience store next door. No breakfast.

Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mids
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2010

I can understand what other reviews are talking about - this isn't a boutique hotel, but then you aren't paying boutique prices. In my opinion, what it is, is a good value pleasant place to stay within a beautiful old citadel. The owners and their family & friends are very friendly & helpful - great to practise my very poor greek on! It's fairly basic, as is common in Greece, but it's clean, tidy and has what you need. The location is spot on - within the old town, but tucked away from the hustle and bustle. Couple of minutes easy walking and you're within that hustle and bustle, so there's no hassle. Lovely mini-market next door run by the friendliest people, so that's worth popping into. We traveled with Thomas Cook and got good day flights, transfers by taxi included and no problems, for a good price. Worth a look at if you want somewhere close to all the fun, in pleasant surroundings, where greek people live, rather than tourists. No pool/frills/bikini babes, so go elsewhere if that's your thing!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2010

The Michaelangelo hotel is an absolutely brilliant place to stay for you who love graphical, simple and traditional/medieval style accommodation. It is not only the fantastic decoration and they great earth colours chosen but it is also the location and the people there who make it excellent. we booked directly with the hotelier and everything was excellent as promised. We knew that there is no reception and some rooms are given to Thomas Cook and we used the \reps service which was brilliant. Definitely to see the rep for good prices and quality trips. the hoteliers where very friendly and any time we were free to use the internet or watch with them any films or satellite tv as a big happy family.
there is no bar or restaurant however there is next door a kiosk and the nearest restaurants are just 100 metres away. people are getting confused in regards to Old town of Rodos and the new town of Rodos. this hotel is placed at the heart of the Old town of rodos and is NOT an uphill road however, when you re walking in Old town it is pebbled covered narrow ways which you need to be careful, and it becomes uphill at some point, but NOT from the main gate to the entrance of the hotel. Taxies and mini buses are entering in old town for Michaelangelo and bringing you to the door step of the hotel. The hotel was stunning and clean. whenever i asked for extra pillows and blankets i always got it straight away. What else you should ask for?

Its great place to stay guys if you know what you re looking for :)

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hants
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2009

When we arrived at the hotel there was nobody to greet us, we walked through the dirty, untidy reception area (which was used as a lounge by the family and friends) and waited there for over 20 mins. Finally we were shown our room, this was nice, clean and airy. However there were no towels or toilet tissue. These things never arrived and I had to go down to the 'lounge' and request them again. At that point there were about 7 locals in the lounge watching the football, smoking and drinking. I did feel intrusive.

However if you want to experience the culture of the city the location is great, it really needs to decide if its a hotel or a home. Please be aware that Taxis are not allowed inside the walled town unless they are carrying luggage and it is up hill to the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2009

We arrived early before our room was ready. The entrance area/breakfast area has a large TV screen and two computer screens and an old sofa. It sort of resembles our sons student room. There is a kitchen/bar which is dirty and we decided not to eat breakfast there. On arrival we used the downstairs toilet. It was filthy filled with dirty washing and fishing rods. The room was large enough although our daughters sofa bed was hard and uncomfortable. The room was clean. shower facilities dated.
The location was fine for the town and restaurants although it is a lot further than 700m to the main beach.
This hotel is used by a large tour operator albeit in their small and local brochure which is why we chose it but if I was returning to Rhodes I'd book The Spot or Elena's from the internet. In fact although we were only there two nights we did contact the Tourist Information who weren't surprised the Michael Angelo was dirty and recommended a move to Elena's which unfortunately was booked.
This may have been a lovely hotel when first redeveloped but now looks like the rooms we stayed in when inter railing in the 1970's - painted orange - which at the prices they charge is not good enough.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Michael Angelo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Michael Angelo Hotel

Address: Perikleous 68 | Eirinis Square, Rhodes Town 85100, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #95 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An 800 year old hotel made from stone in the heart of the old town combining the ancient architect of the knights' time & the comforts of today, with a roof garden that has amazing view of the old town & the port. Enter the microcosm of the old town and feel the thrill. All the rooms have private toilet & bathroom, air condition, sat TV, fridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Michael Angelo Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Angelo Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.