We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caravel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caravel to your Saves list
Caravel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Leoforos Irakleidon | Ialyssos, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Nyborg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“nice stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

we stayed at the hotel for the 6. time in a rowe. The staff are wonderful, the owners Nitza and Savvas are very kindly. The restaurant Coconut make very nice food to a fair price. We surely will come back.

Room Tip: room 109 and 209 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    36
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
34
50
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

the hotel is not directly on the mainstreet which makes it more quiet then others in that area.
the real plus of this hotel is the nice and friendly staff. whatever we needed, they took care about it! the apartment was great - really clean and good size.
I recommend this apartment house if you're looking for a good and clean place close to restaurants, shops and the beach. btw- the location is perfect if you like windsurfing

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Hello,

Just spent 10 days on the Isle of Rhodos. It really is a wonderfull island. Please don't just spend all your time in or around your hotel. The island has so many nice things to discover.

We chose Caravel hotel because of its location and because of the roomfacilities. They have rooms with a little kitchenette. So if you want you can make a nice cup of coffee in the morning or even cook your own dinner in the evening. There restaurant has a nice menu with Greek specialities but also little snacks or salads for a quick lunch. When you stay at the hotel you get a 10 procent discount. The restaurant staff is very helpfull. The owners and front desk staff are very nice people too. If you want to rent a car or scooter, ask them they know the right companies and can even get a little discount for you. A scooter is really a musthave to travel around. To do the whole tour of the island I recommend a car. Overall Caravell hotel is a great place to stay and an excellent value for money. Have fun there!!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed for a week in Caravel apartment hotel, in an apartment studio which was really nice: spacious enough, had air conditioning (no extra cost!), and bathroom that was probably just renovated. The kitchenette was basic, but contained all the things we needed. The hotel was located on a side street, so there wasn't any traffic noise.
The hotel was small, so we didn't need to queue for reception and all things were taken care of effectively. We definitely got what we paid for.
The best thing about the hotel was definitely the owners and the friendly staff. They were amazingly helpful and took really good care of us, almost like we were family.

The location was good, there were several restaurants near, and the hotel's restaurant Coconut was really good (try the meze plate!), so no need to go anywhere else if we didn't want to (though it was hard to find the real Greek food in Ixia, since it was a tourist place).
The beach was near, so we spent a lot of time there. It was windy, but the waves were wonderful because of that. It might be a good idea to get "swimming shoes" because of the stones in the waterline (in deeper water there is sand) though.
There was also several supermarkets near the hotel, and the bus drive to Rhodes town took only 15 minutes, and the buses were running 'til late so it was easy to have dinner or spend a day in Rhodes town too.
We would recommend a rental car, which was a convienient way of seeing the island, for example Petaloudes (the Butterfly valley), Lindos and Tsambika beach,

All in all, a nice hotel and superb owners and staff!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2009

We stayed there for 5 days in July 2009, we've chosen this place cause it was not far from the conference which I attended and it was not expensive.
It was ok, but we won't come back and here is why:

- the hugest problem is the beds - these are the hardest beds I've ever slept in my entire life!! and we do travel a lot and stay at all kind of places, from hostels to 4* hotels; and at home we don't sleep on a soft bed either (say 3 on the scale from 0 (hard) to 5 (soft)), but at Caravel beds are super hard, so hard that first 3 nights I couldn't sleep much, then I got a bit adjusted and manage to sleep at least a little bit, the same with my husband...and what kind of vacation is it if you can not have a proper rest???
though I have to underline that even if the rooms are very basic, they are very clean and very tidy;

- the Coconut restaurant is ok, the plates are huge, the food is good, again it is nothing fancy, but you won't find anything different around - all the restaurants around are exactly the same, the same food, the same prices, if you really want to try real Greek food you should go away, for example to Rhodes (the city itself) and get out of the tourists places, then you find really fantastic Greek food.

On the other hand, one of the main positive things there are the owners and the stuff - they are great!!! they make this place special (lots of thanks to them for being very nice and friendly)!!

This place will work for you if you can sleep on very hard beds, if your budget is tight and you are ok on sitting around a tiny swimming pool (cause the beaches on this side of Rhodes are not for swimming, there are lots of stones and the sea is always agitated - good for surfing though).

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south yorks
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2008

We chose the Caravel hotel because it was in a quiet area near to the hospital as our son was taken ill whilst on holiday in Rhodes. It was a serious illness and the owners could not have done more to help us. They were willing to ring for taxis to the hospital and asked each day how things were going. The waiters in the restaurant were also full of concern and we would recommend the food and service to everyone.

  • Liked — friendly owners
  • Disliked — maid service
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2008

Located at Ixia, about 15 minutes by bus from the centre of Rhodos town. We stayed in a very pleasant apartment with a separate bedroom and satisfactory cooking facilities. It was nothing fancy but certainly clean and tidy with plenty of room, and would sleep comfortably a family of four. There are nice outdoor balconies with a view between the buildings, across the main road to the sea. The restaurant in the front of the building run by the same people offered good food, certainly the best of the local restaurants that were open (given it was October). This area survives on European package holidays so it is not a place to go for the authentic Greek experience. The Caravel is good value for money, the service from the owners is great and it is an excellent base to operate from in Rhodes. Hire a car and get out and see the island. An unusual feature of this area is that access to the beach is not so easy as most of the land on the beach side of the main road was built on, wall to wall hotels. We had to walk 500 metres up the road to access the beach.

  • Liked — Spacious, close to public transport, plenty of restaurants & bars
  • Disliked — no negatives
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caravel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravel

Address: Leoforos Irakleidon | Ialyssos, Rhodes Town 851 01, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Caravel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravel Hotel Ixia
Caravel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caravel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.