We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Save Saved
You added Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 118 hotels in Rhodes Town
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

returned home 26th sep.had a great holiday ,had a lovely sea view on the fourth floor,rooms cleaned daily,staff friendly,food was fine always something to eat,Rhodes town is a must loads to do,found a great greek taverna Phillips Bar,lovely food,drink and hospitality,hotel is a good 3*,bar staff very friendly,would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for a high floor not overlooking the pool,great sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    154
    66
    26
    10
See reviews for
132
158
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

After reading the reviews about this hotel I wasn't sure what to expect but I kept an open mind. My husband and I have just got back from a 2 week holiday and we were not disappointed. The room was basic but cleaned every day. The food was excellent quality and enough choice to satisfy the fussy eaters. If you do want to eat elsewhere out of the complex, there are plenty of bars to choose from but FBI's is the best if you want to go off recommendation. The staff were very helpful and friendly. After reading a previous review we found that the ipad did fit in the safe. Cocktails were very nice. The animation team were excellent. They did not pressure you into any of the activities throughout the day, but they were fun when you did join in. The night time entertainment was very good. There is no beach just pebbles (but we already knew that) however the views out to sea are amazing. We enjoyed it that much we have already decided to book for next year.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My wife and i plus 2 friends stayed at the Avra beach hotel from the 13/9/2012 for two weeks.
When we booked in we asked for a safe and was told there was one in our room and there was no charge,most other hotels we have to pay
Rooms were spacious with views to the sea,on arrival there was Champers,a bowl of fruit in the room and the fridge was full of various drinks (all free).
The foood was good,varied and cooked well.
The bars were well stocked and we were served very fast.
The Animation were brilliant,not all the shows were to our liking but the live music was fantastic.
The pool was a nice size but we never saw the pool being cleaned unless it was cleaned during the night.
The waiters and waitresses were fantastic in the dining areas,fast,friendly and very smart.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The general feel of the hotel was very good. The animation team were excellent! They did everything right and deserve 5 stars.
Agree breakfast was a bit sparse and the toaster a joke but all the rest of the food and service was of a very high quality with our fussy eating daughters always well fed.
Pool could have done with being bigger but the sea was paradise (even though their was no beach).
Most of the sun beds need replacing and we were disappointed that the advertised gym no longer existed.
Rooms are very basic but very clean and functional.
Felt it overpriced for grade.
We stayed here as a group to attend a wedding so we did not pick the hotel but we did enjoy our stay.
Visit Rhodes Town and Lindos.

Room Tip: No tip as all the rooms require upgrading. Bungalows slightly better presented.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Our 9 day stay in Sept was fist time to Rhodes. Bungalow room adequate and no problems. Food generally good quality even if some of the choices were strange. They must get a new toaster! Also a shortage of spoons was evident. The restaurant staff had an over-enthusiastic approach to their job, if you left your table mid course of just to get a drink it was cleared. Also they didn't appreciate the usual courtesy of letting everyone finish before they grabbed the plates. Several times through and the bread still whiter than white.
We enjoyed the pool and pool bar. Beach disappointing as first part is stoney until you get about 5 yards in then nice sandy bottom. Most invested in shoes to wear to make getting in/out of the sea pain free.
The animation team were excellent, very enthusiastic and doing a good job everyday with various activities.
There is a very busy road outside the hotel and not an awful lot to do/see when taking a walk out. Rhodes town is great and the old town worth at least a day's visit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dudley
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Returned from Avra Beach 22nd Sept.. We had a fab time.. Plenty of choices at meal times.. Staff very helpful and friendly at all times.. Sun loungers are situated pool side if you wanted to hear the music or around the corner by the sea where it was nice and quiet with a lovely sea breeze, never had a problem in finding a sun lounger.. beach bar had a great atmosphere thanks to George :) but there is an understanding that you queue on the one side!.. Rooms cleaned,towels changed and beds made daily.. My reason for not marking it higher is because we were on the ground floor which was also a walkway so we were woke up many times at all hours by inconsiderate noisy people returning at all hours ( not really hotels fault).. The mini market was very reasonable and there are a few shops and restaurants within walking distance, including a lovely bakery and a travel shop where you can book trips cheaply.. There's a bus stop opposite the hotel where buses run into Rhodes Town every 10 mins or share a taxi as it will cost the same.. A visit to Lindos is a must, as is the Old Town of Rhodes by day and night.

Room Tip: Unless you're a really deep sleeper Don't have a ground floor room.. But plus side was the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Firstly this hotel is not geared up for teenagers at all, i came with just my partner if i had bought my teenage children they would have been bored out of their minds! The hotel is not full of children in the two weeks i stayed i would say the most at any one time there were about 20 kids on the resort (but we did come in September so British kids were back at school) and if you didn't want to be around them then all you had to do was get a sunbed away from the pool... easy! The animation team are geared towards the young children but if you do have teenagers go somewhere else. I would agree to not having a room near the pool area due to the entertainment going on until 11.30 and it is loud, myself and my partner asked to be moved and were moved straight away with no problems, we didn't have a view from our balcony but didn't care because we didn't go on holiday to sit on the balcony anyway.

Rooms are clean, maids came every day with fresh towels. The whole resort was kept very clean.

Food - I have been to a few all inclusive resorts all over the world and this comes to pretty much the same standard - Very Good. Freshly prepared everyday large choices obviously after two weeks it gets a bit repetitive but i found this the same every where else i have ever been with all inclusive.

This resort is one of the smallest i have been to and it did lack having a disco or club if you didn't fancy the animation teams entertainment at nights which was a bit naff at times. But they all worked so hard and all were really friendly apart from Arthur who seemed to spend his time telling everyone else what to do or telling them off. Arthur also did the 'Quiz Night' which we didn't enter and found that it was for the best as with his thick French accent we couldn't understand half of what he said anyway.

The music was relaxed for the vast majority of the day and cranked up for 30 mins twice a day when the animation team were doing Aqua Gym.

All in all we had a great holiday, relaxed time, lovely hotel and friendly people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows

Address: Ialysos, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Rhodes Town
#3 Spa Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel bungalow apartments Avra Beach Resort is situated on the beach of Ixia, 6km west of Rhodes town and 7km from Rhodes International Airport. The hotel covers 18.000 square meters of blossom garden and well kept environment. The hotel is closer to the beach than any other hotel in the area (literally on the beach!) and very close to local shops of Ixia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Despegar.com so you can book your Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avra Beach Hotel
Avra Beach Resort All Inclusive
Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avra Beach Resort Hotel - Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.