We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant week in a typically Grecian hotel. Excellent staff and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nathalie Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Nathalie Hotel to your Saves list
Nathalie Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sotiros Street, Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Brilliant week in a typically Grecian hotel. Excellent staff and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2009

Just spent a relaxing week at Hotel Nathalie. very clean rooms, cleaned every day. Good sized balcont overlooking the front, A real sun trap late afternoon/evening, The rooms had a fridge and we were very pleased to find an electric kettle nad cups provided. wardrobe space and hangers were adequate. Air conditioning available at an extra charge (6Euro/day). The pool area was very pleasant where we spent most of our time as the local beach (10 mins away) was very stoney. Pool bar served very tastey snacks and drinks up to 5pm. Breakfast was buffet style and plenty to choose from. ther is a very quaint arbor at the front of the hotel to sit under at any time of day. Perfect for that evening cocktail made by the lovely Magda. All the staff were veryf riendly and extremely helpful. We will definately be returning.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    129
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
236
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

##### A REALISTIC REVIEW #####

The Hotel Nathalie ticked all our boxes. Its 2-star rating is accurate. The facilities are basic but the overriding theme is one of exceptional cleanliness. EVERY morning an army of cleaning staff decended on the hotel.

THE POOL - The pool area is good and if you just want to laze all day and take the occaisonal dip to cool off then you won't be disappointed. The pool isn't massive but it is more than adequate. There are plenty of sun loungers and parasols. There is a poolside snack bar which offers a good variety of food and drink at very reasonable prices. A ham and cheese baguette will set you back 3 euros and a bowl of fries 1.50 euros. The portion size was also good. Also available were salads, wraps, tortillas, watermelon, other desserts and ice-creams to name a few. A large bottle of beer was 2.50 euros and a can of soft drink around 1.20 euro. The snack-bar is run by Pauline who is a darling. She is a credit to the hotel.

FOOD - Other reviews have complained about the breakfast selection. As with everything in this hotel the breakfast is also on the basic side when compared to its 4-star competition. A full english fry-up is not offered. However consider this....... what do you normally eat for breakfast? Personally I just have coffee, cereal and toast. The Nathalie catered perfectly for me and my girlfriend. Every morning there were at least 2 types of cereal, several types of bread, fruit, meats, juices, jams, speads and sweet cakes/busicuits. More than enough. If it isn't enough then you could always grab a bacon roll from the snack-bar.

ACCOMMODATION - the rooms are basic but then what do you need a room for? Showering, sleeping and changing. All 3 boxes ticked and immaculately clean. The air-con is an extra cost paid locally at 6 euro per day. Having read other reviews I fully anticipated this and I would strongly recommend it as if you leave the patio door open the mozzies will feast on you all night!!

LOCATION - a five minute stroll from some nice restaurants. I would recommend the Napoli (Italian), The Coconut and The Blue Palm (both Greek). Ixia is a lateral resort with everything on one road. There is no sea front walk to speak of which was a little dissapointing. A bus into Rhodes Town is 2 euros and the bus-stop is again on the main road 5 minutes walk from the hotel. It runs every 20 minutes or so. Rhodes Town, both the old and new parts, is very nice and defintaely worth a visit. Make sure you take your wallet as its not cheap.

If your looking for a luxury hotel where you are one face amongst hundereds, where you don't mind queing up for breakfast with another 200 guests and which has more facilites than you'll ever use then the Hotel Nathalie is not the place for you.

If you want a small, very friendly, clean hotel, which caters for all your basic needs, is a good base for exploring the island or just relaxing by the pool and offers exceptional value then this is just the place. We could have easily afforded to stay in a larger more expensive hotel and we took a gamble on this place. The gamble paid off. Would we stay again....... DEFINATELY!

Tony & Vicky

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2009

First of...the staff at the Nathalie is great. Friendly and always takes time to answer your questions. The hotel itself is ok, 3 stars in my opinion. Housekeeping is also very good.

So, why am i not satisfied with my stay. When i made the reservation it was important to me that the hotel was in Rhodes City. When i booked at Hotels.com it was stated that the hotel was located in "Rhodes town" - The same information i by the way given on this site. The hotel is located in Ixia, 5-6 kilometeres from Rhodes town. A 8 euro taxi ride from the hotel and i would guess a 45 min - 1 hour walk to the city. When you pay for something you want to get what you paid for. I did not get what i payed for...Therefore a 1 star rating from me.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager21, Hotel Manager at Nathalie Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2010
Extremely unfortunately a major internet booking site using a new GPS system mislocated the hotel on the internet for about 4 weeks last summer. This matter was out of the hotels hands and we made several attempts to correct the situaton as soon as we became aware of it. It took a little while to have it changed. The hotel is in Ixia, a resort near Rhodes Town. We are sorry if it caused any of our guests any inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suffolk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

We had 2 rooms in the NATHALIE for one week and hand on heart couldn't really fault it for the money.The rooms are not big but are adequate and are cleaned daily.All the staff were friendly and helpful,nothing was too much trouble. It is not really suitable for young children ,most of the guests were over 18 with the average age being around 35 i guess. We never had a problem getting sun beds and used them most days. There are a number of good restaurants within 5 mins walk inc Napoli's and a good Chinese a few yards further. Taxi into Rhodes town was 8 euros,bus was 2....too far to walk.All day boat trip to Lindos from Rhodes town was 20 euros and worth doing.Overall a great little Hotel .(air con reccomended 6 euros per day)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

My daughter and I stayed at the Nathalie and it was our first time in Greece. We had a wonderful time and the hotel was neat,clean and was in a great location. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The breakfast was good and I miss having my morning olives. It was a great vacation. We ate in the resturant the second night it opened. The meal was very good and prices were resonable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Really good basic accommodation, great staff, great pool area, small friendly hotel, best for couples. I personally, liked the location, but it will not suit everyone. This is one of the best hotels I've ever visited. There is something indefinable about this hotel, it really is, just great. The breakfast was typically continental, but the greek yoghurt and honey was to die for. The restaurant was about to open, therefore I am unable to comment further on this. The snackbar salads were excellent and prices, poolside and in the bar were very good. The entire Thomson holiday was very good value, indeed, thanks to this hotel and its staff. Kindest regards to them all.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucs UK
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2008

Not having been to Rhodes before, my wife and I decided on 2 weeks in a very reasonably priced B&B hotel booked on the Thomas Cook website, 27 Sep - 8 Oct.
The outstanding qualities of this hotel are (a) its cleanliness - every room cleaned every day and all linen changed, (b) its quietness - it's down a side street in a rather posh residential area, and our room backed onto a tree-lined hill; (c) its handiness for local tavernas and shops, (d) the friendliness of its staff (e) it's only about 3-4 miles to Rhodes Town.
I'm glad to say It has no entertainment whatsoever apart from a nice pool, plus a pool table which no-one used the whole time I was there. It's a 10-15 minute walk up the road to a pebbly beach, passing by quite a few shops and tavernas. The best tavernas we found are the Alexandros - dither outside looking at the menu and the genial, not to say gushing Alexandros will embrace you like long-lost friends and probably offer you a free Irish coffee each if you'll dine :). Nice place and reasonably priced, although in our humble opinions it was eclipsed by the Coconut a few yards up the road, which is priced the same but has considerably better cooking. Dither outside here for a bit and the superb greeter chappie will probably offer you one of his 10% discount cards.
Everywhere we went in Rhodes we were struck by the sheer niceness of everyone who unsuccessfully invited us into their restaurants. We've been to Crete, Poros and Corfu but Rhodes is the only place we've ever seen where the greeters are genuinely unfazed by your regretful shake of the head and almost embarrassingly upbeat and friendly as you pass by, going out of their way to shake your hand and suggest that tomorrow, eh?
If pizza is your thing then there's a very good pizzeria indeed on the corner of the street just down from the hotel, which also serves other meals. For my money, I always look forward to a few pints of Mythos beer (3 euros for a large) in the evening with dinner, and my wife gets herself around the house Rose wines, which come in at about 5 Euros for a small pot. A decent evening's dinner and drinks without going mad will set two of you back around 25 - 35 Euros.
On a practical note, cigarettes are about 2 Euros for 20, and as you can take some 3400 home there's scope for some heavyweight saving! Absinthe is a good buy - seriously over-strength and about 12 Euros a bottle.
In Rhodes town, head up the main drag to the top and turn left down a narrow street lined with shops. About 200 yards down on the right is the Stavros bar, run by a very genial old Stavros who'll do you a nice Greek salad plus a beer and a wine for less than 10 Euros for the two of you. Ideal to chill out for a while after the heat and shopping! Come out and back along the road a bit on the other side is a souvenir shop - have a look at the replica watches. 70 Euros in high season, going down to 50 -55 outside it. I bought a marvellous Breitling chronograph replica for 50, but I'm a bit of clockaholic. Make no mistake - these watches are gorgeous and dead accurate. There are of course plenty of other shops in Rhodes selling these watches, but having looked them over carefully this shop was the best and cheapest.
We didn't bother going over to Marmaris as it worked out at 57 Euros each no matter who you went with (you have to pay about 17 Euros in assorted taxes on top of the actual price, you see), but the local travel agents will fix you up with a day's boat trip to Lindos or Symi at 23 Euros a pop, including coach pick-up and return. We went on both and well worth it we thought. Lindos is great to visit for a few hours but I'd hate to stay there, Symi is extraordinarily pretty and my wife thought if she ever felt in need of serious recuperation of the spirits she'd love to stay there a few days doing nothing much at all, which surprised me because she's the one who drags me off all over the place :)
Finally, there's a bus stop just up the main road from the hotel and buses to Rhodes town are every 20 minutes or so, 2 Euros each way, although at the 'bus station' (actually the side of a street with a kiosk) you have to buy your ticket at the kiosk not on the bus to come back. Figuring out how to get a Rhodes bus to stop where you'd like is something we still hadn't mastered by the time we left. You have been warned! :-)

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nathalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathalie Hotel

Address: 65 Sotiros Street, Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nathalie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Nathalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathalie Hotel Rhodes Town
Nathalie Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathalie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.