We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL IN IXIA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nathalie Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nathalie Hotel to your Saves list
Nathalie Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   65 Sotiros Street, Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“BEST HOTEL IN IXIA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

September 26th - October 10th 2012 This was our first visit to the Nathalie but won’t be our last. We usually book self-catering in Ixia we have previously stayed at Sunny Days which is now closed we did try the Solemar last year but were very disappointed.
This hotel is in a very quiet location down a back street which is is not accessible by bus so if coming from the airport late at night I would advise getting a taxi to the hotel and also on day of departure as you will have to wait by the roadside for a bus pickup taxi cost is €18.
First impression of the hotel was very good communal areas are well furnished and we received a very warm welcome from Maria who was on reception when we arrived.
There are 3 floors with no lifts so ask for a lower floor if you have any mobility problems. We were on the second floor overlooking the pool. The room was basic very clean, rooms were cleaned daily and best of all the bathroom was not flooded every time we had a shower. The air conditioning was extra at €6 a day 42 euros per week which we thought was expensive, it would have preferred if this cost has been included in the overall holiday price, there was also an option to hire a fan for €8 per week. The room was equipped with a fridge kettle and hair dryer a clothes drier would have been handy on the balcony to dry towels and bathing costumes. A safety deposit box in reception can be hired for €10 there is also internet access at a small charge and free Wi-Fi connection.
The breakfast was served from 7.30 – 9.30 and there was a very good choice my only criticism is that I would have preferred a better orange juice.
The pool was lovely very clean with plenty of sunbeds which thankfully no one was allowed to reserve in advance snacks were available poolside at very reasonable prices.
I would strongly recommend this hotel and would like to thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable especially Emma and Maria on reception who were extremely helpful and friendly. Excellent service.
Ixia is not the prettiest part of the island can be very windy good for wind surfers. This is a very good base to explore the island as Rhodes town is nearby 10 minutes in the bus €2.10 and taxis €9,. There is a good local bus service to all parts of the island. A word of caution when crossing the busy main road you need to be quick this could be a problem for anyone with mobility problems or using pushchairs.
Sigma travel nearby offer value for money trips a lot cheaper than the holiday companies alternatively boat trips can be booked directly from the harbour there are daily sailings to Lindos and Symi.and day trips to Marmaris in Turkey.
Rhodesland - Akti is a nearby pool bar by the sea and for the price of a drink you can hire sunbeds for the day very relaxing just press a button by your sunbed for service, the beach is pebbly so if swimming in the sea it is advisable to wear beach shoes.
There are numerous restaurants to choose from my particular favourites are Demitris and the Coconut there are many bars my favourites are My Place, Philips (the oldest tavern in Ixia) both these are across the road from the Hippocampus leading to a back road which is also a pleasant 30 minute walk into Trianda (dark at night will need a torch). There is a lack of entertainment most bars do show sport bars I would also recommend the Luna and Keep it Simple a short walking distance towards the main restaurant /shopping area in Ixia...
Old Rhodes Town is wonderful beware the holiday touts down by the harbour area my advice walk away. Take time to explore the back alleys you won’t be disappointed wear comfortable shoes as the cobbles can be hard on your feet, You will be charged more for a drink in roof bars with panoramic views but it is worth it for the views, try to visit the Starlight Hotel Stavros’s bar he is quite a character. (top of Socrates street turn left down the alley)
We hired a motorbike to tour the island 150 euros for 11 days unleaded petrol €1.83 the driving standards are not good so would not recommend for a novice also wearing a crash helmet is law but not enforced, if involved in an accident insurance would be void if not wearing a helmet.
The Filermous cross is perched on top of the hill looking down over the island, this beautiful spot is a real find not far from Ixia, the view from the cross is quite spectacular as you can climb to the top of the cross. There is a monastery and small church close by.
Antony Quinn Bay – is a gem difficult to get to unless you hire a car or bike. There are 2 bays Antony Quinn and Flaka beach - crystal clear waters very rocky you will need beach shoes costs €4 to hire a deck chairs. These bays are favourites for boat trips which stop to allow swimming. There is a café on site very reasonable prices and toilet facilities. Flaka beach is quieter more suited to adults access to the water is via steps from a rocky small pier not as crowded as Antony Quinn which is more suited for families and has a sandy beach.
Lindos is a must we decided to stay overnight, Emma at the Nathalie arranged accommodation at the Lindos Sun BB and evening meal (air con included ) cost 50 euros this is a lovely hotel our room overlooked the pool and the Aegean sea it is approx.20 minutes’ walk into Lindos. The lindos taxi is the donkey which will take you up to the Acropolis or down to the beach, streets are narrow, steep and cobbled the sea is crystal clear and the beaches sandy can be extremely hot in July and August. At St Paul Bay there is a charming church very popular as a wedding venue for tourists and locals getting married. (Note access to beaches in Lindos will be difficult for anyone with mobility problems).
At the southernmost tip of the island is Prasonisi this is where the Aegean and Caspian Sea meet not a lot there but whilst passing through small villages we called at a local taverna at the crossroads in Kattavia just before reaching Prasonisi they served traditional greek food at reasonable prices the food was delicious. Iit would be very easy to miss seeing this delightful village as you head for the coast road towards the tip of the island to Prasonisi.

Room Tip: no lifts - request first floor if you have mobility problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    128
    21
    5
    6
See reviews for
57
234
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Asnieres-sur-Seine, France
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We have just spend one week in Nathalie Hotel in Ixia, Rhodes, Greece and we were very happy of the service. The hotel wasn't very expensive, they are a nice swimming pool, a room with a big terrace - some have smaller ones. The bar is open every night and they have a very good music. You have free wifi at the bar. The restaurant - greek food - is excellent. The beach is at 10 mn walking.
The only bad point is that ixia is not very lively and you need a car. Or perhaps you can take the bus to move. It's very easy to park near the hotel pershpas in peak season it's harder...).
Rhodes island is not too big and you can easily visit the whole ireland in one week.

Room Tip: We were in room 116
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morlaix, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I'm back from a family week off at Nathalie's hotel. This place is lovely, very cosy.
The restaurant has great food, there's a beautiful patio, a nice and clean swimming-pool. Rooms are simple in a good way ! Every room has a balcony so we can enjoy fresh air at night. Wifi area, breakfast, snacks around the swimming pool, bar, restaurant..
Rhodos city is a fifteen minutes way by car or bus. Beaches are close by walk, so are small souvenirs shop or supermarket

What we will remember is the friendly and warm-welcoming staff ! (Hi and thanks to them by the way, see you Maria) :) Nastia from France.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherstone
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Nathalie is a gem of a 2/3 star hotel. The owners' attention to detail mean that it is very attractive, clean and - as many others have said - with fantastically helpful and friendly staff. The hotel has a lot of comfortable shared spaces to sit in - both inside and outside. There are a variety of options at buffet breakfasts and the lunches and evening meals are good quality and good value: competitive with restaurants and bars in the area. The swimming pool is the cleanest hotel pool I've ever come across - like swimming in bottled water! Our room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate for our needs: very comfortable mattresses. For us, the only things that could be improved were the pillows and the quality of the breakfast coffee although neither were worse than in other hotels we've stayed at - we're always disappointed with hotel coffee. These are very minor gripes though as our overall experience was wonderful.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel and some guests appeared to struggle with the stairs. If you have mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We have just returned from a week in Rhodes at the Nathalie. This was a new experience for us (myself, my wife and her sister) as we have been regular visitors to Malta for the past 8 years or so. Apart from some minor inconveniences, it was excellent.
The holiday company had not told us we would be dropped on a busy main road, with our cases, some 300 yards from the hotel. However, when we reached the hotel, we were welcomed very warmly. The room was compact with a small bathroom, but was very comfortable, with excellent air-conditioning to counter the very hot weather. I do, however, wish Greek plumbing was better (cannot put paper down the loo)! The garden and pool areas were lovely with an excellent snack bar near the pool.
Our experiences of the staff could not have been better and they were all very helpful and friendly. After visiting some of the large family hotels in the area (which would certainly not appwal to us), it was obvious we certainly had made a good choice and I would recommend any couples, travelling without children, to try the Nathalie.
Ixia is nothing more than a "satellite" village on the main road to Rhodes Town, but there was a good variety of restaurants (we particularly liked the Napoli). Overall, it was a lovely holiday.

Room Tip: No lift so unless you are very fit, ask for a lower floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A - Amazing
B - Brilliant
C - Charismatic
D - Delightful
E - Excellent
F - Fantastic
G - Great Value
H - Homely
I - Incredible
J - Joyful
K - Knockout
L - Lovely
M - Marvelous
N - Neat
O - Original
P - Perfect
Q - Quaint
R - Relaxing
S - Super
T - Terrific
U - Universal
V - Vibrant
W - Wonderful
X - Xtra Special
Y - You'll go back again!
Z - zzzzz's

As you can tell this was a wonderful hotel, all the staff couldn't do enough for us. We would 100% recommend this hotel for a holiday.

See you all again.

From Archie & Evelyn from Scotland

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager21, Manager at Nathalie Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
We thank all our guests for the reviews that they take the time to write, they are all very important to us and this one certainly made the staff smile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Just returned from another great stay at the Nathalie hotel and would to say a big thank you to Lisa, Emma and Agnes for making our stay as wonderful as the last !

If you are looking for a small and friendly hotel with a real Greek feel to it and a sincere personal service - then this is the place for you !

The hotel get loads of repeat bookers - we met people who had been 20 times - wow - that says it all really !

Good breakfast, Great snacks at the Pool Bar and the best cocktails !!!

Families - If you are looking for a relaxing family holiday - without the kid's clubs and hype the Nathalie is very welcoming, no kid's facilites but a homely feel and lots of attention from all the staff.

Singles - The hotel is perfect for singles, very safe and a great bar where people meet in the evening.

Can't wait to return !

Room Tip: Pool view get the sun in the evening
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelmanager21, Manager at Nathalie Hotel, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
The hotel is blessed with many repeat guests from whom we do not usually expect a review . This year we have had several repeat guest reviews including this one from a delightful family who several years ago came as guests to get married and like so many, left as friends. We would like to thank all our returning guests for their continued support and for taking the time to write a review and share their opinion of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nathalie Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nathalie Hotel

Address: 65 Sotiros Street, Ixia, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#10 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nathalie Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nathalie Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nathalie Hotel Rhodes Town
Nathalie Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nathalie Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.