We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dionysos Hotel to your Saves list
Dionysos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Bath, England
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great hotel - highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

We have just returned from two weeks here. Excellent hotel! We chose half-board as there are not a lot of restaurants close by, although there are many a 10-minute walk away. Both the on-site restaurants are excellent – Nikos & Alex especially looked after us very well indeed. Hotel has lovely gardens, with a play area for younger children. The main pool uses sea-water which is nice, and there is a small shaded pool too. Our garden-view room was spacious, with a balcony that has the sun in the morning through to lunchtime. Other rooms overlook the pool area. The breakfast choice is huge, catering for everyone’s needs. The beach is about 5 minute’s walk away, but note that there is a busy road to cross to get there. We found better beaches on the east coast of the island though. Buses are cheap and reasonably frequent – a ride into Rhodes town is 1.60 euros. A taxi costs 8 euros.
The best points:
. Friendly staff who want to look after you
. The pool and the surrounding area
. The bar service and evening entertainments
. The on-site mini-supermarket – very useful
. The restaurants and snack bar – highly recommended
. Plenty of wardrobe space with loads of hangers
Points to note:
. The air conditioning is not available until 15th June although a fan was provided for us on request.
. The beds are very firm.
. The room key fob activates electricity in room using a powerful magnet This could seriously effect electronic equipment. The analogue display in my watch was stopped by it!
. There is no indoor pool.
. There is no tea/coffee facility in the room, nor can an Iron be used there.
. Internet use is chargeable.
. Biting bugs are plentiful at this time of the year – take precautions.
Summary
. Despite the points to note we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We strongly recommend it based on our experiences. Half-board worked really well for us and allows you to take your meal at lunchtime or in the evening.

Room Tip: Garden view is quieter than pool view during the day. There are some corner rooms which are nice if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    168
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
92
213
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We enjoyed the service and the food at the grill.

Thank you Nicos & Alex

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vantaa, Finland
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

Stayed in this hotel last August. Our family (me pregnant, 18 month old baby and my husband) have nothing else bad to say about this hotel but its uninvited guest that visited our room one night. We woke up and found a rat eating our babies food! We were shocked and terrified. The hotel gave us a new room and one free lunch (after asking something for all the inconvenience), that's it. So, we weren't pleased the way they handled our situation. I still see nightmares and can't even imagine what if we had woken and found the rat in our babies bed! The way they acted like this wasn't anything special raised the question how many of these uninvited quests do they have?

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skotterud
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The Dionysos hotel in Ixia is one of the best hotels we have stayed in! The service is very good, the location is good, the staff is very helpful and polite.... The only negative would be the service at the poolbar, when we came in as a group of ten wanting to eat at the same table.... The staff was very reluctant to make the correct arrangement for our group. At a later time during that week, we booked the table for ten, and it was no problem. The food was OK, but we all agreed it is overprized and perhaps not as good as it is at some of our favourite spots in Rhodes town!
The bar does need a good lesson in making drinks, as they get everything readymade and very thinned out! We decided it was safer to order things like Smirnoff Ice.... Even the kids didn't like the fruitjuicedrinks they ordered. Shame on the hotel for this!
Breakfast is a totally different story! Fantastic! What a variety of dishes! Everybody found something good every day!
We felt we got very good value for money, even if we did have to travel by bus or taxi to get to Rhodes town. But buses go by every so often, and you enter and descend in the Mandraki harbour. Which also happens to be the place where you get the islands best pitta gyros.... :)
Try the outside grill to the right from where the buses come in....

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Apollo

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We ordered a holiday this summer 1week at this nice hotel,and one week at a hotel in Faliraki. This hotel was clean,with a big beautiful garden. Very good food-try the souviliaki at the beach bar;)veery nice. We stayed here for one week and would like to come back. It was a big pool area,wich was cleaned for houers every evening. Very delicate and beautiful.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the Dionysus. On arrival around 10pm I was very impressed by the large marble lobby area, filled with sofas, chairs and beautiful vases, lamps and lovely decor. The bar is also located at the far end of the lobby where Greek dancers were performing and it all seemed very welcoming and friendly. This impression lasted throughout my whole stay. Everywhere you look in the hotel there are stylish displays of art, vases, etc and they obviously take pride in this.
The hotel was very clean and my room was cleaned daily. Staff were always to be seen around the place cleaning and mopping. My room was large with a balcony overlooking the garden and mini golf area at the back of the hotel. There was a small TV with a couple of English channels. The pool area is very clean, with lots of sunbeds at that time of year. I went there at different times of day and there were always plenty of spare beds.
I stayed half board and the food was excellent. The breakfast buffet was “enhanced American” which was a few hot dishes (a variety of eggs plus one cooked meat/sausage), lots of cold dishes ,fruit, cereals, bread, cakes and pastries, ham, cheese, etc. Evening meals were served in the two poolside restaurants, a la carte. There was plenty of choice on the menu and I managed to have something different most days for two weeks. For the half board option you can choose a starter, main course and dessert. You can also buy lunch in one of the restaurants if you wish, plus there is a pancake/coffee house and a souvlaki bar which I have to highly recommend! For less than 3 euro you get a ham or pork souvlaki , salad and chips all stuffed into a large pitta – totally delicious and very cheap! You can eat this at a nearby table or take it back to your sunbed by the pool. In addition, the hotel supermarket sells sandwiches for about 1.60 so if you are trying to keep costs down or you are going off for the day, you can get a sandwich from there.
I recommend the walk into Rhodes town which takes about 45 minutes to get to the edge of the town then you can walk round the shops or go to the old medieval town, which is amazing. From the hotel, go to the main road by the beach then turn right and walk along the pavement at the side of the beach (or on the beach) for a while and then the pavement disappears and a pedestrian walkway takes you round to the promenade in Rhodes town. If you have had enough by then, the bus stops are all along the promenade, or you can go into the bus station further into the town. The bus driver calls out the nearest hotels at each bus stop on the way back so you know where to get off.
If I had to pick one thing that I was not so keen on it would be that the mattress in my room was very firm, they have notices in the rooms saying that they have specially chosen their mattresses and pillows to be good for your back. You can ask for different pillows but there was no mention of being able to ask for a different mattress! However, this is not a complaint as many hotels in Europe do use firm mattresses.
Overall a very enjoyable holiday, great weather (25 – 29 degrees most days), and lovely hotel - highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed in the Dionysos Hotel for 1 week with my friend and we both had an amazing time. The Hotel and pool area are immaculately clean and tidy. Hotel room was a bit basic and could really do with a kettle in the room, but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel room the facilities were more than adequate. The room was cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels every morning. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens and the tennis courts so was very quite. We stayed half board and was very glad we did! There is not much in Ixia itself so if you wanted to eat out you probably would have to travel in to Rhodes town itself, so half board was definitely value for money. The food was amazing!! There are two evening restaurants to choose from and on a half board basis you can choose a 3 course meal from the entire menu and all the food is prepared fresh for you. The staff are generally lovely and very accommodating however we did have a bit of a problem with one of the receptionists Olga. She was very rude not only to us but to other guests on a few occasions. So maybe avoid her if possible. This hotel is in a perfect location to travel around and is only 10 min taxi ride to Rhodes old and new town and 15mins from the airport. As I stayed here from the 6th Oct 2011 the hotel was pretty quiet so there were plenty of sunbeds to go around.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! A lovely relaxed atmosphere throughout enabled my friend and I to have a wonderful relaxing holiday. Would definitely love to go back to the Dionysos in the future. Definitely worth their 4* rating!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Address: Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#15 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
#18 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Otel, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionysos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.