We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Dionysos!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dionysos Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Dionysos Hotel to your Saves list
Dionysos Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank you Dionysos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

I stayed in the Dionysos Hotel for 1 week with my friend and we both had an amazing time. The Hotel and pool area are immaculately clean and tidy. Hotel room was a bit basic and could really do with a kettle in the room, but as we didn't spend much time in the hotel room the facilities were more than adequate. The room was cleaned daily and we were given fresh towels every morning. We were on the 3rd floor overlooking the gardens and the tennis courts so was very quite. We stayed half board and was very glad we did! There is not much in Ixia itself so if you wanted to eat out you probably would have to travel in to Rhodes town itself, so half board was definitely value for money. The food was amazing!! There are two evening restaurants to choose from and on a half board basis you can choose a 3 course meal from the entire menu and all the food is prepared fresh for you. The staff are generally lovely and very accommodating however we did have a bit of a problem with one of the receptionists Olga. She was very rude not only to us but to other guests on a few occasions. So maybe avoid her if possible. This hotel is in a perfect location to travel around and is only 10 min taxi ride to Rhodes old and new town and 15mins from the airport. As I stayed here from the 6th Oct 2011 the hotel was pretty quiet so there were plenty of sunbeds to go around.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone! A lovely relaxed atmosphere throughout enabled my friend and I to have a wonderful relaxing holiday. Would definitely love to go back to the Dionysos in the future. Definitely worth their 4* rating!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    169
    37
    12
    6
See reviews for
94
216
9
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Standish
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

We have just arrived back from a fantastic weeks holiday staying at this hotel in Ixia. We booked our flights and hotel individually via Ryanair and Hotels4u and managed to get a stunning deal at only £230 per person Bed and Breakfast. Because of the price I wasn`t expecting much from this hotel - it worked out at £10.70 per person for the room and breakfast per day - we knew we couldn`t go camping for this in England!!
The hotel was spotless and the facilities were excellent. Our double room also had a sofa bed in and a fridge! The air con worked well and because of the comments on here I took a small travel kettle with me so I could have an early morning cuppa before breakfast.
The breakfast choice was brilliant - catered for all nationalities and tastes. We had a meal in the restraunt by the pool and this was lovely as well although a bit pricey. The hotel also runs a little supermarket at the bottom of the road so if you don`t want to pay the hotel prices for soft drinks you can just go in there. We recommend trying "Keep it Simple" snack bar/cafe - its a bit of a walk towards Trianda but the Dutch girl Deborah in here really looks after you and the snacks are amazing and reasonably priced.
The swimming pool is fab - our one complaint was that there are way too many sunbeds around the edge of the pools and so it is difficult to get in and out of the pools via the steps etc as these tend to be blocked by sunbathers. If they could just take a few out in the quieter season this would be great.
The staff in the hotel were always helpful and friendly.
We took a trip to the beautiful Symh island and booked this through Manos travel. This place was y favourite place of all - although I would advise you to take the Catamaran as the ferry takes 2 hours!
We are really considering re-visiting this hotel at the same time of year next year. We had 6 days of glorious sunshine in October - 1 day of heavy thunderstorms which was a bit dramatic.
We have stayed in hotels in Australia, Las Vegas and Bali so I would advise you to try this hotel - I would rate it 3-4* - but on the price alone it rates as 5* in my books.

Room Tip: We had a room at the front of the hotel facing the entrance on the third floor - two lifts are avail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very good all round 4 star hotel. Very clean rooms and public areas. Food was good in all the restaurants. Staff very nice and willing to help if needed. Just a little bit of a walk to the main area but thats fine if you dont mind a walk. Lots of restaurants close by to eat at if you want a change. We stayed in the apartment for the first night as the hotel room wasnt ready. Apartment had lots of room with very good A/C. Hotel room was smaller but ticked all the boxes but the A/C wasnt as good at all but it was fine for the time of year.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

We stayed here from 21.09.11 to 28.09.11 and had a fabulous time. The pools are excellent with plenty of sunbeds. I recommend the poolside snack bar for it's excellent chicken souvlaki in pitta bread, great value! Rooms are a good size with a fridge, air conditioning and a nice balcony. They are cleaned every day, the staff always say hello!
The restaurants and bars are very good with night time entertainment. Breakfast also offers a great choice till 10 am. The hotel has it's own shop with everything we needed just by the security guarded entrance.
The hotel is ideally situated off the main Rhodes Town road, the buses are frequent and only 1.60 euros each one way. The bus stops a short walk from the Old Town which is a medieval walled delight with great shops and restaurants.
I would also recommend a trip to Lindos by boat and also the trip to Symi island, both are a great day out.
Overall a fantastic island and a great 4 star hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

I was utterly pleased with this hotel. And may i add , im very picky with standards!
Lovley pool, lovley staff..... very clean rooms.
I must say, the travaller photos on here does not give the hotell any juistice..

and the best part was the FOOD!! Oh my god...
we went out a few night and ate at good resturants in the city, but the best food we ate during
the whole trip was actually at this hotell..

If i ever visit this island again i will MOST DEF, stay at Dionysos!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from 10.9-17.9 of September and overall it was a very good choise with small details away from being a perfect holiday location !
Dionysos is located right behind Rhodos Palace hotel just some 5min walk away from the beach. Getting to the beach would be a lot easier if you wound't have to cross two very busy roads with light that don't always seem to work (but after first 3 days you'll get used to the local traffic perfectly).
The hotel itself is great. There is a security at the gate to make you feel safe, a supermarket and a jewellery shop in it for everything you would like to buy and couple of nice restaurants and bars in case you don't want to go looking for a dining place. The main building has a big bright lobby area which leads to the two other buildings via lovely green garden and close to the amazing pools with animators to avoid getting bored.
Our room was nice and spacious with a small kitchen for preparing breakfasts, good bathroom and a nice view to the pools (that by the way look stunning at night) and to the Aegean sea.
The only bad thing about the room was the door: there was 5-6cm gap between the floor and the door so whenever somebody passed by we ould not only hear their stops and conversations but also SEE their feet! Something that doesn't belong to the 4 start hotel...
Food in the hotel I cannot really rate. We only tried the hotel breakfast once (and were quite pleased with them) but as there is a supermarket close it was easier for us to prepare our morning coffee in our room.

Room Tip: In case you would like to have a room with a sea view then you should choose a room not in the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed recently at this hotel and were very impressed........ We stayed 10 nights at half board....... this was the highlight of our holiday as we ate at both of the hotel's poolside restaurants, which are both Al-a-carte menues, the food was delicious and plenty of it, and quite resonable prices, and we didnt pay that much more than bed and breakfast, altho you would have to search web for good deals on this. The hotel is 4km from Rhodes Town and mainly the majority of restaurants which personally we found to be expensive. One of the delights is their greek kebabs they serve at lunchtimes by the pool at a simply affordable price of 2.40 euros. The pools are salt water pools and lovely and clean and we never needed to go to the beach. The staff are very friendly and the decor exquisite in reception area. we would defintely go back to this hotel, the only critisism I have is that outside the hotel the area of Ixia is quiet, so a visit into Rhodes Town for any kind of nightlife or shopping is recommended.

Room Tip: If you are in the main building you need to be higher to appreciate the seaview as we were on the 1s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Dionysos Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dionysos Hotel

Address: Iliadon St, Rhodes Town 851 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Rhodes Town
#13 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#14 Family Hotel in Rhodes Town
#17 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dionysos Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 281
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Dionysos Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dionysos Hotel Ixia
Dionysos Hotel Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dionysos Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.