We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't listen to the bad reviews.. Fully enjoyed our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Ixian Grand to your Saves list
SENTIDO Ixian Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Newcastle
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Don't listen to the bad reviews.. Fully enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Well this was my first stay in a rated 5* and i can say from staying in average 2-3* hotels in the past on party holidays and then staying at this hotel i can agree with it being a 5*. You won't be disappointed.
I'm not going to lie, me and my partner were a bit worried at reading some of the reviews about the hotel, But i can tell you this now, the hotel is out of this world. We arrived during the middle of the night, and even the first look of it in darkness was beautiful. We had a grand maisonette and it was excellent. It was cleaned everyday by the maids, our private pool was very private and lovely. , Yes you had the problems with leaves in the pool, but what do you expect when there is bushes surrounding the pool! The room had air-con which was a great help as the heat was some times a bit too much.
The food! Well if you are fussy eater like myself, and also a vegetarian, then you have nothing to worry about, as you had a fantastic selection of different foods. I had a plate full every night!
We only visited the main pool area twice during our holiday, but again no fault as it had plenty sun loungers.
Locally you have a few pubs and restaurants just a 10 min walk away. I would recommend My place as it does some lovely cocktails and drinks that you may miss from home!
My only bad point about my stay within the Ixian would be that Men have to wear trouser during the evening meals. We did not know this and nothing is mentioned on the website, which meant we had to go out and buy some pants for him. (which he wore for the rest of the holiday as he loved them ha)
If you have meeting with a rep during your stay, they may try and get you to visit a few places. Lindos, a beautiful place so i would recommend that. However the trip to turkey, take at your own risk. We did and unfortunately we didn't enjoy it as it was more of a bus tour to silly little places like a carpet shop that actually seeing the island itself.
Overall we loved our stay with the Ixian Grand and will most certainly be staying again in the future.

Room Tip: Pay the extra money to have your own Private Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you very much for your flattering review and your time to post it on Trip Advisor. We are really grateful for your kind words. We would only like to mention that the long trousers policy is stated in our website too.

We look forward to welcoming you in our SENTIDO Ixian Grand & Ixian All Suites in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    270
    161
    76
    45
See reviews for
161
446
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our mistake was that we didnt want to pay more money just for sea view so we take GARDEN view.. well if i knew that "garden" means "street" i would rather pay more.. They give us very bad room (maybe 3 stars)..when we asked on reception, they offered us another room which will be available one day before we were leaving.. what a help.. The staff was detached and not happy to help.. Most of their customers are russian.. well its not fault of the hotel but (and im sorry to all russian people, but thats my experience) they are so noisy.. You just try to relax on sunbed and they still yelling at each other and create conflicts with stuff all the time.. And one more thing.. PAID WIFI.. Im sorry .. but 2013 and paid wifi.. Expecially if you go a little further to the city, every restaurant have a free wifi and luxury hotel like this dont? And how u all talk about the BODYnMIND man .. well 95°F and you want me to do aerobic or yoga .. i saw them in the middle of day.. they didnt even go into the shadow ..

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for your time to review our hotel online. We would like to apologize for not having met your expectations. We would like though to add our opinion on the points you mentioned in your rating. First, please be informed that our standard rooms are called "Garden Wing" rooms, located in the annex garden wing building and not Garden View. In all of our brochures and information of Tour Operators, online channels we co-operate with, it is clearly stated that their view includes garden, pool, and street. To continue, please be informed that our WiFi service is totally complimentary. We though provide internet corner for our guests who do not have their own computer or smart phone with them, in really rational prices. Our animation program was really enjoyed from lots of people, with pretty flattering comments, even on Trip Advisor too. To conclude, we would like to mention that it is not politically correct to target people from other countries, and pay no respect to each nationality's diversities.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Ixian Grand is not a 5* hotel for sure. It could be rated as maybe 4*.The staff on Aug 2012 was arrogant and not very caring.
The pool is great combining both sweet water and salty water parts. We were there on an HB basis and both breakfast and dinner were very good. (although you have to pay on beverages, includ. m.water).

The most important thing about this hotel is to be aware and to pay attention to the type of room you are booking:
1) The "run of the house" rooms located near the main road, a little bit noisy, old and not decorated as the other, they aren't fronting the swimming pool nor the sea. they are more like 3 star hotel rooms.
2) The rooms of the main building, fronting the swimming pool/sea and are quite good and could be rated as 4* hotel rooms.
3) The villas, which have private pools are the best (especially those fronting the sea shore, who can be rated as 5* DLX star).

If you want to swim in the sea, this Resort is one of the few hotels which located as close as can be to the nice sea-shore of Rodus and you don't have to cross a road in order to get into the sea.
Summing it all: if you get good price, don't hesitate to book it - cause the food, the location and the lovely pools making it a good choice for your vacaction.

If you want to rent a car we recommend to try and check also on a "GALAXY rent a car" agency in the main road (you can try to bargain a little bit on the price). for us it was about 20 Euros cheaper for a day, in comparison to the car rental agency located inside the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't take the "run of the house" rooms, only rooms fronting the swimming pools or the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for rating our SENTIDO Ixian Grand online. We are aware of the power we can gain from your comments and thus we pay great attention at. All of our room types are carefully decorated and our rate ranges picture the level of amenities and services provided in each room type. Our hotel has the philosophy of being the luxury that anyone can afford. That is why we have created our standard room type. We regret the fact that the specific room type did not meet your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I have just finished my stop at this hotel, i find this hotel faultless. The room we where given was in the main building situated overlooking the garden wing. The room was spotless, and the decoration was lovely the room was equipped with Jacuzzi, walk in shower, plasma tv, hairdryer, double bed and a sofa bed which was perfect for us. staff at this hotel are all very friendly and happy to help with any problems that may occur when staying at this 5 star establishment (especially Anastasia - Holiday concierge). The facilitates are very clean and well looked after also the food in the restaurant is good with a wide variety of food on offer. i would definitely recommend this hotel to people that want that little more luxury and comfort.

Room Tip: Main Building, sea view or garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are thankful for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back in SENTIDO Ixian Grand and spend together some memorable moments.

If you need any help, we are at your disposal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Calm and warm sea. when in the sea you just don't want to go out of the water. And the fact that it is just in 30 meters from the hotel makes everything so convenient and comfortable. In addition you have a great chance to keep fit taking part in free BODY and MIND program that includes yoga, pilates, body training which helps you be in shape all the time while you are on holiday and after, back training which is especially in demand by people having problems with their back, pleasant aqua classes in precious waters of the pool, ballooning which is really a fun game with a ball. And. of course, lovely coach who is always there to assist and make corrections if your movements are wrong!

Room Tip: sea view, garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property on line on Trip Advisor. We are dedicated to offer tailored vacations to all of our guests, and it is more than pleasant when listening to your kind words. Our animation programs are going to be enriched this year and we hope to welcome you back in SENTIDO Ixian Grand.

If you need our help, please do not hesitate to contact us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Riga, Latvia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Sentido Ixian Grand is not a 5* hotel for sure. It could be rated as 3* or even 2*. The staff is arrogant and not very caring. The overall look of the hotel is not so nice as at the pictures, the building is not new, the rooms does not match to a 5* including the ceiling, which is broken, the shower with rust after which the water is throughout the bathroom, the hairdryer which is old and taped... Also the safe box had a locker which could be closed by the key and was broken.
The beach was very nice though, but the leisure chairs were also broken and not enough for everyone and the shower cabins did not work as well. Also street cats and dogs were walking throughout the hotel and small children were touching them...
During our stay we wanted to go out of the hotel all the time and come back only to sleep. It's a total waste of money for those who expect a good quality...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online.
Further to your comments, we would like to ensure you that each and every comment will be thoroughly investigated. With major renovations taking place at the moment in our hotel, we feel very confident that these negative factors will no longer be existed at the beginning of the upcoming season 2014. We are sorry; we did not meet your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacau, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I went to the Sentido Ixian Grand for a week in June 2013.

Got a Superior Double Room Garden View. (the cheapest available through my agency) It was a very clean and spacious room, with a nice confortable bed. Very good air conditioning system that worked when you leave the room (big plus for me). There was a bed for a third person that we did not use. Big closets, enough space for two persons to put their cloths. The view was ok, we could see the hills as we were on the 3rd floor.

The maids did their job very well, changed the sheets and towels every day and were carefull not to disturb and always waited for you to leave the room before entering for the daily cleaning.

As a minus I would put the lighting in the room. Dark mirrors and lighting make it hard for a girl to put on makeup. (but it is a very small minus in my oppinion) Also the rooms could use a painting or two on the walls.

We had halfboard, breakfast and dinner. Consistent, many vegetables, and fruits, traditional baked goods and the usual pizza, pasta, french fries and roast beef. To be honest, we ate only in the hotel, because we considered it to be more safe. We didn't like the restaurants in Ixia or Rhodes town as they had nothing special. Before the trip we checked tripadvisor for restaurant hints but nothing was to our liking.
For lunch you can eat in the hotel a quick salad, a baguette, or a burger.

The hotel has two bars where you can chill and enjoy a good cocktail, but I would recommend going out for drinks and these are my recommendations:
in Ixia: Villa dei Mare, a very nice pool bar with award winning cocktails.
In Rhodes town: Pueblito cocktail bar - stunning cocktails. Really interesting design. To bad most tourists are in search of low end pubs and big pitchers of beer.
My personal favourite: Kalithea Springs - visit the location, go for a swim in the wonderful bay with clear water and drink a cocktail at the bar. My tip: visit it at night as well. Really good atmosphere. Mostly locals from what I could tell.

Hotel pool area- really nice pool - half with salt water and half with fresh water. Clean beach with small rocks. As you enter the sea it is only sand so special slippers are not needed.
A little bit crowded. You have to get up early to put your towel on a good sun chair (all are free of charge, including those by the sea). By the way, you get a towel from the hotel (free of charge) At about 12 people start to leave and you can get a better spot.

All in all, I consider the price/quality ratio at this hotel to be very fair. Maybe there are some dents in the walls here and there, some broken sun-chairs but it is hard to maintain everything like new in a hotel that sees so many people come and go each week.
The best thing, in my opinion, is the atmosphere. Very relaxed. No noise. No entertainment group made out of loud teenagers, no annoying music at the pool area.

Things to do:

Rent a car (Marathon rent a car has an office in the hotel lobby - I rented from them but I think they are expensive, try to shop around)
Visit Lindos - 50 km drive - great views (half day)
Visit Kalithea Springs - my personal favourite
Visit Rhodes Town - during the day to see the architecture and at night for the atmosphere.

You can also go to Rhodes town by bus. Station is at a 5 minute walk but be advised that it gets really crowded.
A supermarket is at a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is what matters. We are thankful for the kind words, which are really helpful for our future guests. All the minor faults you mentioned in your review, are taken into account to improve our hotel for you. Major changes are taking place in our hotel for the upcoming season 2014 and we feel very confident that we would be able to provide each and every guest with the stay they deserve.

We look forward to seeing you again in SENTIDO Ixian Grand. Until then, should you require any additional information, we will be more than happy to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Address: Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das SENTIDO Ixian Grand ist ein erstklassiges Strandhotel an der Westküste der Insel Rhodos direkt am Strand von Ixia. Kürzlich renoviert verfügt das Fünf-Sterne Hotel über 211 luxuriöse Zimmer mit gemütlichen Ambiente. Nur wenige Minuten vom SENTIDO Ixian Grand entfernt befindet sich das UNESCO Weltkulturerbe „Rhodos Altstadt“ und auch Mount Filerimos, der Sie mit einem atemberaubenden Panaromablick verzaubern wird, ist in kürzester Zeit zu erreichen.Genießen Sie Sonnenuntergänge am Strand, die kühle Brise der Westküste und den Komfort dieses erstklassigen Hotels sowie der attraktiven Umgebung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
SENTIDO Ixian Grand Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Ixian Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.