We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok once we'd complained, but not 5*” 3 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Ixian Grand to your Saves list
SENTIDO Ixian Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 121 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Barnoldswick, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ok once we'd complained, but not 5*”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Arrived on the 22/6/13 for one week. We had booked a grand maisonette with balcony and private pool as there was 3 of us, and we wanted an apartment with two floors. On arrival the lobby and reception looked great, we were taken to a separate check in area and given sparkling wine. We were then shown to our suite which to say the least was a Huge dissappointment. It was tiny, with shabby furniture, a broken sink in the bathroom downstairs, no bathroom door upstairs no balcony and the pool was absolutely disgusting and unusable. It was green with algae, leaves and dirt in it. I made a swift return to reception and informed them under no terms was I staying in the suite. I must say they were very helpful and said we could move rooms but not until the following morning when a 'better one' became available.....begs the question what they were trying to palm us off with???.
We were only B&B but we ate in the restaurant on 2 occasions and both times it was good, well atlest edible. We got moved the following day to a lovely very large suite with a very clean pool and our own decking which had the sun all day. We did complain to reception that there wasn't enough sunbeds around the main pool, to which they told us they had the required amount by law for their guests....?? However they did then turn up with some more. We did ask for an extra one for our suite as there was 3 of us, to which they fobbed us off and ignored our request, so we just took one from the main pool area. The cushions for the sunbeds had seen better days, so had the wooden sunbeds, they had wheels missing etc..
The staff at the top bar were lovely and the private restaurant for suite guests is very nice, the grounds are well looked after, however like others there are parts of this hotel which are in desperate need of repair and TLC.
In general the hotel was acceptable, however not 5*, but if I got a good deal I would return, but only for 1 week, but I would still only go B&B
Yes there are cats and a dog in the grounds but they don't bother you, I am an animal lover so I didn't find them an issue, it's the same in turkey and Spain
The old town is beautiful and mama Sofia's restaurant ( just inside the castle walls) is fantastic
On a whole I think it's pot luck with your rooms, definitely go for a suite, and if its not right, if you complain strongly Enough the staff do listen.

Room Tip: Always book a suite, not a room. Preferably 461-469 or a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guests,

We appreciate the fact that you have spent some of your time to review our hotel on Trip Advisor. Your opinion is always valuable. We take all of your comments in account in order to fix any probable faults. We apologize for not having met your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    270
    161
    76
    45
See reviews for
161
446
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North East
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Returned last night from a week here, (30 June 2013) and my wife said "oh, don't bother writing a review" but that's not fair for other couples like us who believe what they see on a company website and get sucked in!
We do check out Tripadvisor prior to booking holidays and do find the odd few reviews misleading sometimes and i believe we all see things differently but after this week at the Ixian Grand i'd had enough. I'd actually had enough after about 30minutes!
The hotel "looks" great and indeed some aspects of it are; the pool is nice the decor is relatively nice and some of the staff are too but that's about it. We had a Garden room "apparently", which simply wasn't good enough or clean enough and the reception staff weren't prepared to swap our room so we had to make the most of it. From hair, previous guests i assume, to cobwebs, lumpy pillows and scratchy old towels, a wonky bed. Open the curtains and you looked straight at several rooms and balcony's only about 30ft away who also must have had the same opinion as us: we'll have to keep our curtains closed or lose our privacy! Not much of a Garden View!
The food was in our opinion dreadfull. Honestly, i am not a fussy eater at all and i was gutted that the chef's had gone to all the bother to produce such under cooked, over cooked and tasteless food. We mainly ate from the salad buffet and water melon that's all. Mind you, the Russians and Ukrainians seemed to love it and piled up their plates. The situation with wearing long trousers is ridiculess. They are trying to portray a fine dining experience but the food just isn't up to it and letting in women in vest tops and hot pants when men have to wear at least T shirts and long trousers was crazy, quite a few guys complained but got nowhere, so be warned and take a pair just to save the grief.
I won't go on, i'm doing my head in just thinking about it all over again and i was only there 24hrs ago!
We stayed for a week which we considered long enough and ate out at some of the extremely friendly and quite good restaurants / cafe / bars in Ixia itself, only a short stroll from the hotel but worth it. I also recccomend using the local buses, but buy your tickets first from the local convenience shops or the drivers won't let you on, and visit Rhodes Town, in particular the Old Town, inside the castle walls, we nearly missed it but once you're in you'll like it, especially the large beers in the boot shaped glasses!
We'd both reccomend Rhodes, the weather was great and the locals friendly and helpfull but do your homework on the hotel first, obviously better than we did!

Room Tip: Go for a Suite or nothing at all! I didn't stay in one but they looked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online. Your opinion is always required. We take your comments under serious consideration, and every required action will be done towards the improvement of our property. We feel sorry we fail in meeting your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great Hotel... We booked to stay in the garden suite, which came with a big double bed, your own personal aircon and a mini balcony(great for relaxing on an evening). The room is basic but you get what you pay for... those who have winged, shouldn't have been so tight and got one of the upgraded rooms.

The entrance/reception was lovely, very modern and inviting.... They have two bars looking over the pool/sea which were wonderful. The breakfast was standard continental with lots of fresh fruit.... Plenty of loungers and a fresh towel every time.

There are some very nice restaurants just a short walk from the hotel, the location is perfect for couples but if you have children or want the party night life then this area isn't for you, as you have to walk to get to most places.

Would highly recommended... This is a 5* hotel but to get the 5* facilities you need to pay the 5* prices.

Room Tip: Rhodes town is easy to get to via the bus 4.40 return or 9 euro each way in a taxi... remember to bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you very much for your valuable review.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our resort. Thank you for helping our future guests to get an idea for our SENTIDO Ixian Grand.

We can not wait to welcome you back and help you enjoy your holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Looking at the website we thought the hotel looked amazing and couldn't wait for our holiday to begin. We are three girls around the age of 20 and booked a suite with a private pool on the top floor.

Due to our age the hotel staff and especially the waiting staff seemed to undermine us; serve us last and disregard our needs. The resort looks very beautiful but our room was dirty and the pool was a disgusting green colour. On our last days they emptied our pool due to technical difficulties ( without notice) which left us without a pool for two days.

The food in general was very basic and disappointing, the pool restaurant was the only good place to eat. The dinner buffet was quite disgusting. We went for breakfast at the private place for the suite guests the food wasn't that great there either and with only a small selection of choices. The breakfast area was open until 11 and when we arrived at 10.30 the staff was annoyed with us and told us to hurry up with our breakfast.

Although advertised there would be free wifi in the rooms, the wifi only worked in the lobby and very poorly. There were several cats and dogs roaming around the hotel grounds.

In conclusion it was a nice hotel but with many faults. The hotel states to be a 5 star hotel but is defiantly more of a 3 star hotel. The hotel holiday concierge was very friendly and helpful. TIP: rent a car and drive to Lindos!

Room Tip: The suites are defiantly worth the money, as the private pools are very continent and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel online on Trip Advisor.
We take your comments under serious concern. We will take any required action to repair the faults. We feel obliged to apologize for not meeting your expectations.

We remain at your disposal for any additional information or help you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel,we had a suite & I must say reading all the negative reviews just before we went I got quite worried ! PLEASE don't be put off, I can only vouch for the suites but our accommodation was lovely,very quiet as adults only in that area and we had a separate restaurant where the food was al la carte and it was superb.The grounds,reception and outside pool area were of a good standard,we used the main restaurant on our last night and the food was good there as well so all in all I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guests,

We can not tell how grateful we are for taking the time to review our hotel online.
Thank you very much for your good review. It will be really helpful for our future guests.

We can not wait to see you back and provide you with the accommodation you deserve.

We remain at your disposal for any help you may need.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

First impressions of this hotel were "wow". Very impressive lobby, very clean and very modern. The "wow" factor continued through out our holiday which I would describe as perfect. We had booked into a private pool suite, and this was exactly what we got. Modern, Spacious, clean rooms and we were welcomed with a bottle of wine, fruit and buns. The room exceeded my expectations and there were no problems with it or the maintenance of it throughout.

Ate out at all three of the hotels restaurants and cannot fault service, staff or taste of food. The suites had a separate restaurant which was a la carte and set in a gorgeous room with amazing views of the sea, and hotel grounds, and the main restaurant provided a buffet and had a good lively atmosphere, with all staff willing and able to help, both were delicious and food was served as should be.

Due to having our own pool we only visited the main pools twice, both times were enjoyable and you shouldn't get too worked up about not getting a bed, as the grounds are gorgeous and landscaped very well and the grass is just as good.

Yes there are cats on the premises, but they do not cause any bother and will not disturb or ruin your time there.

On the morning of our first day we attended the rep meeting, through which we booked three day trips, would highly recommend doing this as the hotel does not offer alot outside relaxation and rest. Take advantage of the boat/coach trips, especially the one to symi, although the boat trip is two hours long, but well worth it. Lindos is definitely one to visit, with a dip in the bay a must. All transfers were smooth and we really enjoyed them. We also went scuba diving with Water Hoppers, another great day, with a very friendly and welcoming crew. Diving was great and worth the 50 Euros each.

My only negative point would be the Thomas Cook rep we were allocated, during the introduction meeting we were told that the rep would be very much on hand to answer any questions etc, this sadly was not the case ( not that she was needed ) but it was also made clear that in order to be seated with those you were travelling with on the flight back home you would have to prebook with the rep and pay, this is not the case, do not get sucked in. You will get seated together if you request at the check in desk on your flight home, for no extra cost. :)

Please do not be put off by the negative reviews, yes there are minor improvements the hotel could make if you are extremely picky and looking for something to complain about.

final note,

Book a suite not a hotel room. We were allowed to use one as a shower room on our last night, due to our flight being at 1am, and as great and as kind as that was, the room was no where near as impressive as the suite we had been in. This was grand as we only showered and changed in it for our flight home. But just a suggestion, if you can afford a private suite with pool, get one :)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear friends,

We could not be more grateful for taking the time to express your impressions of your visit in our hotel. Moreover, thank you for your kind words which will help all of our future guests to realize the atmosphere of our hotel. We would like to inform you that major change, repairs, renovations are taking place in our hotel in order to improve our product and provide an even more complete product.

We look forward to seeing you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

My boyfriend and I have recently returned from a week's stay at this hotel on a half board basis, and would like to reassure anyone who may have concerns.

I was slightly dreading our holiday after reading reviews, one thing I did notice was that the good comments seem to come from the more 'luxurious' rooms, and I was tempted to upgrade before we left. However we stuck with the standard garden wing room and I have to say I was not at all disappointed.

The room was very spacious and nicely decorated, bed was large and very comfy (and was not 2 singles pushed together!) and most importantly CLEAN. Bathroom also exceeded my expectations. We did only have a garden view but we were not disappointed with this, we even had a little glimpse of the sea.

The food in the main restaurant was lovely and fresh, breakfast was as expected too - no idea where the bad comments have come from! Drinks were not too badly overpriced, 3euros for a coke but we only needed a drink with our evening meal. Staff were a little slow with drinks/hot water for tea/coffee, but this is only minor.

Yes there is a lot of cats and dogs wandering the hotel, but they were no bother. The only bad thing was that we witnessed a dog pooing near the sunbeds but I would not write a bad review based solely on this, I am pretty sure the staff must clean the area on a regular basis too (we did not see lumps of dog poo everywhere!)

Another slightly negative point was regarding the sunbeds, we went down to the pool about 9am to "reserve" sunbeds, which were fairly limited even at this time. It would also be better if the sunbeds were not wooden (uncomfy) and did not require mattresses - we had to make do on the wood for a couple of hours whilst we spotted a free mattress.

Despite this the pool area was lovely, hotel could not be any closer to the beach. Yes it was in a flight path but this did not bother us at all, we thought it was more of a convenience to be only 10 mins from the airport. Staff were friendly, few shops/supermarkets/restaurants near by, only 10 mins from Rhodes Town - Reception were able to call a taxi there for us, this cost us 14euros there and 10 euros back.

I really have no idea how people can give this hotel a 1/2 star review, this is definitely a 3 star at the very least for English standards, and I would say it IS 4/5 star for Greek standards.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, General Manager at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our hotel online. We are trully thankful for your kind words.

We look forward to welcome you back and offer you the vacations you have dreamed of.

We remain at your disposal for any additional help you may require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Address: Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#22 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#29 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Das SENTIDO Ixian Grand ist ein erstklassiges Strandhotel an der Westküste der Insel Rhodos direkt am Strand von Ixia. Kürzlich renoviert verfügt das Fünf-Sterne Hotel über 211 luxuriöse Zimmer mit gemütlichen Ambiente. Nur wenige Minuten vom SENTIDO Ixian Grand entfernt befindet sich das UNESCO Weltkulturerbe „Rhodos Altstadt“ und auch Mount Filerimos, der Sie mit einem atemberaubenden Panaromablick verzaubern wird, ist in kürzester Zeit zu erreichen.Genießen Sie Sonnenuntergänge am Strand, die kühle Brise der Westküste und den Komfort dieses erstklassigen Hotels sowie der attraktiven Umgebung. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your SENTIDO Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
SENTIDO Ixian Grand Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Ixian Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.