We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel at the beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added SENTIDO Ixian Grand to your Saves list
SENTIDO Ixian Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #45 of 123 Hotels in Rhodes Town
Vaasa, Finland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best hotel at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

First time in Rhodes. During our one week trip to this lovely sunny island we did see many bad hotels, but this was not one of them. The stay was absolutley lovely, the hotel had a clean private beach, fresh sunbeds, friendly staff and good hotel rooms with many European TV-channels. Extra plus for the lounge music playing in the restaurants.

Room Tip: Best rooms: grand maisonettes, 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    267
    272
    161
    76
    45
See reviews for
162
449
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a hotel of two halves. Many of the reviews on here, which we read before we booked, have been written by people who stayed in the Suites rooms. These do look very nice, and also have access to a separate restaurant which I guess must be quite good.

For all other guests its a very different experience. The hotel's own website says it was "recently rennovated" - judging by our room, the restaurant, and especially our bathroom, I find that hard to believe.

We stayed in a "Superior room" ie the basic room (260). It was ok - good size, but unusual layout, and the 'view' from our balcony was terrible - over a bit of scrub/wasteland. We hardly sat on the balcony because it was so off putting.

The bathroom was very poor - again large, but fixtures and fittings very basic, no better than a travelodge type UK hotel. The shower head rail was loose in our room so it sprayed all over the room. We reported this to reception who failed to fix it, eventually I did by tightening the screws with my house keys!

Worst of all there were small black ants in our bathroom - again reception didn't do anything. I took to blobbing shampoo on the vanity unit around the sink to kill them - housekeeping didn't clean this up!

We were half board - the breakfast buffet is one of the worst I've experienced in a hotel like this - not much fresh fruit (more tinned) and same with juice, dry croissants/pastrys, no egg station cooking anything to order, etc.

Dinner in the buffet restaurant wasn't much better - generally poor quality food not very well presented. As we were half board we only went for the dinner buffet a few times, we went out more often. One night we did the 'greek night' by the swimming pool - it was free to half board guests. It was ok, but if I'd paid 30 Euros per person I would not have been impressed.

There are not enough sun loungers around the pool, and there are even less mattresses - so on many days if you didn't get out there by 9am you wouldn't have a lounger with a mattress for the day - in a five star hotel?! Not good enough.

The staff were generally ok - polite and tried to help you but there aren't enough staff anywhere really so they are very overworked and it can take ages to get anyone to help you with anything.

For what we paid (approx £650 each half board for 9 nights inc flights via Olympic holidays) this was an ok holiday 3/5. If you stay in the suites I imagine it is a much nicer experience but the price will be nearly double that - it really is a hotel of two halves. Book with caution.

Room Tip: Deluxe room prob worth the extra over superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fethiye
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Rubbish hotel, situated in a very downmarket area. No fitness room, No sauna, No steamroom, private pools dirty, No pay per view movies only 2 channels in English, BBC World and CNN, DVD players in rooms but no DVD library, Mediocre food and during our stay a small bedside lamp was broken and they tried to charge us 390 Euros to replace it. One to be avoided

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Ixian_Grand, Director of Sales at SENTIDO Ixian Grand, responded to this review, June 21, 2011
Dear Neil & Lynne,


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding our hotel on Trip advisor, which somehow have shocked and surprised us.We are very sorry you feel this way about the Ixian Grand which in actual fact has never advertised nor promoted that it features any health or fitness services. It is common knowledge to all our clients and tour operators that the hotel does not provide such facilities therefore our clients are aware of this prior to making reservations.

Reference TV stations and DVD library allow us to kindly inform you that the DVD library is held at the reception with a wide choice of movies all free of charge to our guests. Further there are 5 English speaking channels available being. Sorry if these were not transmitted to your bedroom which may have been caused by loss of the tune channels. We only wish you had mentioned this to us while at the hotel as a re tuning is a simple task requiring just minutes to rectify.

We understand the frustration caused having to pay for the breakage of one of our designer lamps in the bedroom. However as our front office manager had demonstrated to you with documentation, we only looked to recover a part of the actual cost of the lamp and not the full amount. We are obviously not in the business of making money through charging for such damages to our property but we are obliged to the hotels ownership to recover at least a fair part of the costs involved. In your case we merely asked for anything close to the original cost of the item.

We are also surprised that our food was not appreciated. The hotel boasts 3 restaurants offering a variety of dining options. A closer look at the majority of comments on trip advisor clearly demonstrates the high standards our hotel has become accustomed to deliver to its guests.

Assuring you of our best services at all times.
Kostas Pachos
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

This hotel is stunning and the rooms look beautiful. We booked suites and they are gorgeous. The reception staff are very professional as are the bar staff. There are just a few bits I think need sorting.

Firstly, at about 8.30am every morning, the most awful smell (like sewage) came into the room for no apparent reason. Our neighbours had it too.

Secondly, at 8am every morning we were woken up by a loud noise. It sounded like an industrial cleaner.

Thirdly, the pools, both communal and private, are really cold.

Lastly, the same old annoying habit of people reserving sun beds with their towels and then disappearing off for hours. Some people got so fed up, they just took sunbeds anyway. The hotel said there was a shortage because they were waiting for new covers, but they had been saying that all week from what we understand.

The restaurants are confusing too. There is the main restaurant, the one for people that book suites (very small portions) and another which only appears to be open once every couple of weeks, but why I am unsure.

Regardless of all of these negative points, this hotel is very nice and I would recommend it. Definitely go to Rhodes old town it is beautiful.

Room Tip: not all balconies get the afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2011

Room -
We stayed in a deluxe sea view room and requested a jacuzzi tub which we got! The room was lovely, spacious and generally clean although we had to wipe down one of the sides on arrival. However, the cleaners were brilliant - fresh bed sheets and towels daily. Clean beach towels were also provided daily. The mini bar was big but not very cold, our safe didn't work, and one of the jacuzzi jets didn't work. Bathroom was lovely - huge overhead shower. Huge bed, very comfotable. Amazing view of the pool and out to sea!

Pool and facilities-
Amazing pools, lots of comfortable sunbeds, very clean and well looked after by the grounds staff. Pebble beach (same in most of Rhodes), sea was lovely to swim in.
Bars were very nice but expensive, happy hour 5-6pm 20% off, best cocktails we had in Rhodes.

Food-
We went bed and breakfast. Beakfast had a large selection - fruit, cereal, bread, croissants and pastries etc, cheese etc, cooked fulll english, waffles etc. However, the standard was definitely not 5 star and felt like a bit of a scrum past 9 o'clock. Squash juice not fresh, tea and coffee were provided but only one cup per person was offered by the grumpy waiters. The service at breakfast was not in line with the rest of the staff there. Although the lady who greets and seats you was lovely.

We had lunch in the pool restaurant once and it was very nice but expensive. Also ate at the pool bar which offers sandwiches, drinks etc which was ok.

We are very glad we did not go full board however the nearest alternatives were at least five minutes walk away.

Location
The hotel was situated away from the main road and other big hotels which was good. In some of the other hotels you had to cross the extremely busy main road to get to their beach which was a nightmare as there were no crossings.

Other guests
Lots of couples and young families not many young couples.

Overall we would recommend staying at this hotel but it is not a true 5 star which we expected.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

We stayed at the Ixian Grand for two weeks at the end of May. First of all i shall start with the positives!

Food- The food is gorgeous! The is a very wide range and definatly something for everyone. Brekfast was very good. The Dinner is up until 9:30 so you have more than plenty of time to get ready after being by the pool. The food is sectioned out into Italian (Pasta and Pizza) which was different toppingd every night, then there was English (Chips and Grilled Chicken/Pork/Turkey, this changed every night) then there was chinese/oriental section (Stir fried Rice/Noodles/ Sweet and Sour/Bbq Ribs/ Chicken in Soya Sauce) the Main area was more of a mixture of Stews, Pies, Potatoes and veg etc... and there is also a Salad Bar.
Desserts..Im not the only one to say this but they are gorgeous with outstanding presentation and plenty of choice of Cakes, Pastries, Ice Creams, Mousses etc..!

Rooms- (Superior Garden View) The room small and basic but cosy and well equipped with Shampoo, Shower gel, Soap which is soon replaced once finished. The bed was very comfortable (memory foam topper) which made you never want to get out of it!
The shower was also very strong and we were never short of hot water because i know someone on here mentioned it was fairly cold at night during peak times!
There are some robes and slippers (even though we did not get any slippers) available and also towels and beds sheets are changed daily.

Reception- There is free wifi in the lobby but you have to go up and ask for the password. The staff always seemed happy and are very helpful!
There is a area for you to leave your luggage after you have checked out which always comes in handy.

Pool side- Pool is fairly big (unheated)- very cold. There are plenty of beds but you need to get up early to get somewhere. There is a cold jacuzzi at the end of the pool which is somewhat relaxing in the hot weather! Pool toilets were cleaned regularly and also sun lounger cushions were also washed regulary.

Area outside the hotel- There is a big supermarket about 5 minutes away near the petrol station and plenty of small shops were you can purchase souveneirs/water and your average sun lotions etc...
There is a bus stop 5 minutes away again, opposite the petrol station or outside the chinese restaurant depending which way you walk. The one near the petrol station is nearest and the buses are every 15 minutes and every 30 minutes later in the night.

Now on to the Negatives!

Rooms- Only had 3 plug sockets and there wasn't one in the bathroom for razors or electric toothbrush charges. The plug sockets were in very random places. The plug socket was a bit of a reach from the dressing table so often found me stretching to see!
There is NO IRONS! this we found was very annoying because often in 5* hotels you get an Iron or the reception provide you with one but here they don't.
If you don't book a room with a sea view then you are reluctant to getting a nice one! Our view was facing some shabby alotments so if you are fussy with this then i would advise you to try and get a Sea View room as the view over the pool/sea is stunning.

Dining service - Service at times could be very slow at Dinner in the main restaurant and at lunch in the Milonges restaurant.
Waited 40 minutes for someone to collect our bill for drinks at Dinner at this wasn't the only occasion.
Lunchtime was about the same, waited about 15 minutes for someone to come and give us a menu but this can be expected at peak times.

Pool side- Sunloungers- Get up early. All which needs to be said.
They provide you with two cards upon check in for towels which you will take to the pool bar every day for you to collect them and return this we thought was great until we saw that if you loose these and they charge you 20 euros per card even though its a plain simple bit of paper so we didn't take the risk and used our own beach towels.

Pricey- Same as everyones really said. The prices of drinks are extortionate! 3.50 for bottle of water thats about 2 euro cheaper in the supermarket. Glass of coke costs 3.30 so be prepared.

Area- I know this is not really the hotel but i think i speak for many as people like to go outside there hotel and explore the lovely surroundings- here this is not the case.
It is in an absolute dump. The surroundings to the hotel is parched, untidy bits of land or abandoned buildings, cafes, bars.
There is not many places outside the hotel were we felt comfortable eating out. If you walk further up towards Rhodes there are a few more places to eat that are a little better. There are not many bars around the area to have a drink at night so this is very limited.

Overall our experience at the Ixian Grand was very good! The surroundings are definatly 5* but the rooms i would give 4.

Room Tip: Any Room with Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2011

As a short summary - me and my boy-friend just came back from a 5 day holiday there, and had a great time in the hotel and rhodus in general, and recommend visiting with it, but not with a half-board since the food at dinner was miserable. We were looking for a quiet romantic holiday, and that's exactly what we got.

THE GOOD :

- The location : right on the (lovely) beach, and as opposed to most hotels we passed by you don't need to cross a road to get from your room to the sea. The hotel was not on the main road but a few minutes walk from there, also as opposed to most hotels.

- The pool : there were two pools, one with sea water and one with regular pool water, and the whole pool-seabeds-beach area just makes you wanna stay there all day. The sunbeds were free ofcourse, which was great.

- Other misc good stuff : The decor in general was on the minimalistic side which gave out a nice vibe, the staff was very nice, you can play tennis in a nearby hotel for free ( bring your own rackets since the ones provided aren't professional quality ), the morning buffet had plenty of choice, and the bed was comforatable. Also there was no 'activity team' by the pool and no music, which was at least for us a very good thing.

THE BAD :

- the dinner : wasn't good at all - the dishes ranged from reasonable to barely edible, and sometimes even worse. We were disappointed to such an extent that on the last 2 nights of our stay we ate out, it was simply not fun to have a bad dinner even if its included in the price. ( If you walk a few minutes south from the hotel on the road close to the beach, you get to a local cheap fast-food meat place which we HIGHLY recommend and is run by a very cute guy who prides himself for being the only one in the area who doesn't use frozen meat. Find it by a sign on the boardwalk saying 'gyros for 2 euros' ). The dinner problem can be bypassed easily - just dont take the hotel with half-board. Also quite an annoying thing is that there are no drinks offered at dinner, and you're supposed to order over-priced drinks from the waiter, even if its just water. We asked for tap-water from the waiter and he answered with 'not possible'. For the next dinner we brought our own mineral water bottle.

- Some small stuff in the room - it was very dark even with all the lights on, the only english channels on tv were bbc and cnn, and for some reason there is no shower curtain so the bathroom gets flooded with water every time you shower. Also as expected the mini-fridge prices were 5 times was expected price, so dont use it.

That's all - again, as a summary we had lots of fun, and probably would return to the hotel again if we returned to rhodes in the future. Besides the hotel we highly recommend taking a car up the west coast and the mountains by it - there are (relatively) no tourists, its very very beautiful, and some very nice small villages by the sea in which lifes seems to have been kept unchanged for a few hundred years with lovely greek places to eat. Check out a beautiful castle named 'castellos' right on the sea.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to SENTIDO Ixian Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SENTIDO Ixian Grand

Address: Ixia Beach, Rhodes Town 85101, Greece (Formerly Elina Hotel)
Location: Greece > Dodecanese > Rhodes > Rhodes Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Rhodes Town
#25 Luxury Hotel in Rhodes Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Rhodes Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — SENTIDO Ixian Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 280
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SENTIDO Ixian Grand is a premium beach hotel at the west coast of the island Rhodes directly located at the Ixia beach. Moreover, the SENTIDO Ixian Grand has got 211 rooms with a cozy ambience. Just a few minutes away from the hotel is the UNESCO world heritage "the historic center of Rhodes" and the "Mount Flerimos" with an huge panoramic view. Enjoy the sunset at the beach, the attractive surroundings and the premium hotel SENTIDO Ixian Grand. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your SENTIDO Ixian Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ixian Grand Hotel Ixia
Ixian Grand Ixia
SENTIDO Ixian Grand Rhodes, Greece

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage SENTIDO Ixian Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.